Highmark Health Reviews

Updated May 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Highmark Health President and CEO David L. Holmberg
David L. Holmberg
292 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pay, life/work balance, work from home options(in 44 reviews)

  • "Decent salary and good benefits(in 42 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes work life balance is hard(in 47 reviews)

  • "Inflexible upper management, unrealistic expectations, workload can be extreme(in 26 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Highmark Health and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Feb 1, 2021 - Data Reporting Analyst in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management cares about your growth and development

      Cons

      Org changes are very frequent

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Highmark Health Response

      Employer Brand

      It makes our day to receive your five-star recommendation of Highmark Health! You're right that offering and supporting employee development is important to us. We appreciate your feedback!

    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good come with the bad

      May 8, 2021 - Senior Consultant in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent compensation and benefits for Pittsburgh

      Cons

      Poor work life balance for months

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Hiring process extensive but worth it. Ashley was a great assistance throughout process

      Apr 27, 2021 - Police Officer in Penn Pitt, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary and job after retirement a Blessing

      Cons

      Nothing to report at this time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Highmark Health Response

      Employer Brand

      Thank you so much for your review of Highmark Health as a current Police Officer! We are glad to hear you are enjoying the compensation and we appreciate your feedback.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Disease Manager

      Apr 30, 2021 - Disease Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home Great manager Good coworkers

      Cons

      Less pay than other nursing positions

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Highmark Health Response

      Employer Brand

      Thank you for your review of Highmark Health as a current Disease Manager! We are glad to hear you enjoy working from home and your coworkers. We appreciate your feedback!

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      Apr 29, 2021 - Data Scientist in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work - life balance Professional development

      Cons

      Constant changes Limited salary increase

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Highmark Health Response

      Employer Brand

      It makes our day to receive your five-star recommendation of Highmark Health! We are so glad to hear you are enjoying the work-life balance and development opportunities. We appreciate your additional feedback!

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Apr 28, 2021 - Risk Analyst in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work/life balance especially during pandemic

      Cons

      Some culture changes have been rough

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Highmark Health Response

      Employer Brand

      It makes our day to receive your five-star recommendation of Highmark Health! We are so glad to hear you are enjoying the work-life balance and we appreciate your feedback.

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Depends on Department

      Mar 1, 2021 - Systems Analyst in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Health Benefits are affordable, Remote Working

      Cons

      Management, Lack of Vertical Mobility within Departments

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Highmark Health Response

      Employer Brand

      Thank you for taking the time to submit your review as a current Systems Analyst! Know that we remain committed to encourage a fulfilling and meaningful career for our employees and appreciate your feedback.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company To Work For

      Apr 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Healthcare benefits - Individual development opportunities

      Cons

      No major cons that stick out

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Highmark Health Response

      Employer Brand

      It makes our day to receive your five-star recommendation of Highmark Health! We are so glad to hear you are enjoying the benefits and development opportunities. We appreciate your feedback!

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Would give 4.5 stars if I could.. it’s about as good as Corporate America can get.

      Mar 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Base salary and annual performance bonuses are very competitive. Health benefits are obviously strong. It’s clear the organization cares about continuing to improve both hard and soft benefits and gauges feedback via surveys. In today’s work culture, any company can get hectic at times but in my career experience I’ve found Highmark has given me the best work-life balance. It’s also been very reassuring that leadership trusts us to work remotely and in fact has praised us for strong performance during such an unprecedented year. I feel very content at Highmark Health and see myself continuing to grow here long-term.

      Cons

      Coming in from the outside, there is a lot to learn about the Highmark Way, so to speak. There can be a lot of history and internal politics involved in daily work. It can take even the fastest of learners awhile to get adjusted and learn the ropes, which can cause anxiety and stress. There are also a lot of personalities. However, once you’re in and you’ve found your way, the sailing becomes a lot smoother. Because the company is so large, it can feel like you’re just a number, especially if you’re an individual contributor and not a leader. Many communications are passed down through leadership first, so it can turn into a game of Telephone and leave employees feeling less-than. It can feel like more specific employee feedback is not being heard at high levels.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Highmark Health Response

      Employer Brand

      Thank you so much for your review of Highmark Health as a current employee! We are glad to hear you are enjoying the compensation, benefits and work-life balance. We appreciate your additional feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve the employee experience.

    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company to Work

      Apr 11, 2021 - ETL Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management is well respected and managers are flexible to work with

      Cons

      Not any through out my journey

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Highmark Health Response

      Employer Brand

      It makes our day to receive your five-star recommendation of Highmark Health as a former ETL Developer! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the leadership. We appreciate your feedback!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 679 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Highmark Health Job Seekers

    Leadership Acceleration Program Associate
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Leadership Acceleration Program
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Highmark Health? Share Your Experiences

    or