Highmark Health Reviews | Glassdoor

Highmark Health Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 515 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Highmark Health CEO David L. Holmberg
David L. Holmberg
220 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home is flexible when you may need to be away from the office(in 38 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance is good - we work hard when it's needed and leave on time when we can(in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • "The work life balance is almost non existent when Highmark Health Solutions took positions from Highmark Inc(in 41 reviews)

  • "No work life balance, unreasonable deadlines(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    Executive Administrative Assistant

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Highmark Health full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Positive environment, acknowledged accomplishments, provided information and tools needed to succeed in your responsibilities. Supported furthering education/knowledge either for current position or to further career. Communication between company divisions was growing.

    Cons

    Responsible for paying for parking.

    Highmark Health Response

    January 25, 2019Account Director

    Thank you so much for your five-star recommendation of Highmark Health! We are so glad that you enjoyed the environment and career growth offered to you during your employment with us. We appreciate your feedback!

  2. Good Company

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Highmark Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growth opportunity Working from home policy

    Cons

    Micromanagement unexperienced management long hours

    Advice to Management

    Mix gender leadership. I'm a female however my leadership all female; its good to balance.

    Highmark Health Response

    February 11, 2019Account Director

    Thank you so much for your five-star recommendation of Highmark Health! We are so glad that you enjoy work-life balance and the growth opportunities! We are working on initiatives to break down silos and make our entire organization more proactive. We appreciate your feedback and ...

    Show More
  3. Large company with good benefits

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Data Reporting Analyst 

    I worked at Highmark Health full-time

    Pros

    This is a large company that still offers full healthcare benefits with reasonable employee cost. Its hard to find an employer, even other insurance company employment that only offers HIGH deductible plans.

    Cons

    Main offices are in downtown Pittsburgh where parking is limited and over priced for commuters that public transit is not an option.

    Highmark Health Response

    February 11, 2019Account Director

    Thank you so much for your review of Highmark Health! We are so glad that you enjoyed the benefits offered to you during your employment with us. We appreciate your feedback!

  4. Helpful (15)

    If you take a job here, keep looking because you are going to want to leave.

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Technology Analyst in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Highmark Health full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    The people are great. The people doing the work are hard working and caring people.

    Cons

    No life/work balance - Management expects employees to VOLUNTEER to do extra work while still doing overtime to keep up with the regular work. The Environment is HIGHLY toxic, and the management is extremely hostile. Any dissention labels the employee as a problem and this will lead to termination. Extremely high turnover rate, which management refuses to take seriously. When questioned, Management responded...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value the people who do the work for you. Remove the president of HMHS. He is running the organization into the ground.

    Highmark Health Response

    January 25, 2019Account Director

    We appreciate your review. Know that we remain committed to encouraging a fulfilling and meaningful career for our employees and will be sure to share this feedback internally.

  5. A company that cares deeply about its customers, employees and business partners.

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Senior Business Leader in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Highmark Health full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Your voice will be heard and you will have a chance to transform healthcare. Everyone, from CEO to frontline, deeply cares about doing what is right for Highmark members.

    Cons

    You have to be comfortable with change and ambiguity.

    Highmark Health Response

    January 14, 2019Account Director

    It makes our day to receive your five-star recommendation of Highmark Health! We are so glad to hear you're enjoying your role within the organization!

  6. Helpful (5)

    Big Brand But Poor Morale

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Applications Developer 
      Doesn't Recommend
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Highmark Health full-time

      Pros

      Work from home flexibility (WFH)

      Cons

      No matter how many years you served the company or what higher or lower positions you were holding, if they decided to send you out, the next moment they treat you like a criminal or with no respect. The next second they will stop you to enter the floor and will collect your access badge, laptop. Even if you have to go inside to get your car keys and hand bag, its a strong nooooooooooooo. The team lead or the available...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Should follow professional ethics and Performance appraisals should be given based on employee's hard work , smart work and dedication, should not be decided based on one person's (Manager) feedback.

      Highmark Health Response

      February 5, 2019Account Director

      We appreciate your feedback. Know that we remain committed to encouraging a fulfilling and meaningful career for our employees. Since we take your concerns to heart, please reach out to your HR manager.

    • Helpful (6)

      Great people at a terrible company

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Highmark Health full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great location, healthy work environment, great people, perfect work/life balance.

      Cons

      Poor corporate policies and hypocritical "values". Great company being ruined by very stupid HR department. Ridiculous allocation of resources to the wrong departments, hiring freezes when demand increases. Firing large swathes of people directly before busy season. Telling people they are going to get a job then pulling the rug out from under them. Empty promises.

      Advice to Management

      HR provides zero value. It's better to eliminate an HR department than it is to eliminate all your best people because of HR.

      Highmark Health Response

      January 14, 2019Account Director

      We appreciate your review and take it seriously. We value all employees and are constantly looking for ways to improve their experience with us. Please contact your manager or HR representative about any concerns you have.

    • Helpful (10)

      Company and employee morale in tatters

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Systems Analyst in Pittsburgh, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Highmark Health full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      There used to be some.

      Cons

      Constant layoffs, constant off-shoring of work, very low employee morale. Work from home just taken away and blame placed on the employees for lack of quality. Process after process that in most cases contradict each other causing a gridlock in the software development process. Claim to be agile but are as far from agile that you can get. The entire company is now run by Indians. It’s their culture or nothing.

      Advice to Management

      Leave

    • Great for people wanting to make change

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager, Pharmacy Services 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Highmark Health for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Good leadership. Collaborative environment

      Cons

      Difficult industry with uncertainty

      Advice to Management

      Improve employee retention by providing more development opportunities

      Highmark Health Response

      January 14, 2019Account Director

      It makes our day to receive your five-star recommendation of Highmark Health! We are so glad to hear you're enjoying the leadership and collaborative environment!

    • Helpful (5)

      Team manager, IT

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Team Member in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Highmark Health for more than 20 years

      Pros

      The operating systems used are very good.

      Cons

      The work life balance is almost non existent when Highmark Health Solutions took positions from Highmark Inc.

      Highmark Health Response

      January 14, 2019Account Director

      We appreciate your feedback. Know that we remain committed to encourage a fulfilling and meaningful career for our employees. Since we take your concerns to heart, please reach out to your HR manager.

    Found 515 reviews