Infinity Ward Reviews

Updated Jul 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
47%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Infinity Ward Studio Head Dave Stohl  (no image)
Dave Stohl
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Best company I ever worked for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Visual Effects Artist in Woodland Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Infinity Ward full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic environment, highly competitive salary and benefits. Incredibly talented and passionate group of people in the industry! Amazing project to work on with some of the minds that invented the most popular franchise in the entertainment history: Call of Duty! Fun work place with lots of amenities, parties and outdoor activities organization. Great technology to work with and ability to contribute to. Incredible sense of 'family' within everybody in the company from developers to high management. It's a company that believe in actions and not in mere words and talents will always be rewarded anytime it deserve. Great sense of justice and everybody share a strong vision and knowledge.

    Cons

    Long hours are needed during the last period but no surprise when you are working for such a big and well know franchise!

    Continue reading
    Infinity Ward2014-07-11
  2. "Level Specialist"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Infinity Ward

    Pros

    Full breakfast/snack kitchen, free coffee, free delivered lunch daily

    Cons

    Echochamber at times, self gratification, certain departments use sexist language at times.

    Infinity Ward2018-11-10
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Awesome people terrible "culture""

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in Encino, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Infinity Ward full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fair pay, very competent co-workers, good company perks

    Cons

    Stress, Crunch, Incompetent studio leadership, Poor project planning, Sociopath studio leadership, no actual studio identity as studio heads constantly rotate through Activision executives and high senior level turnover.

    Continue reading
    Infinity Ward2018-11-18
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Disappointing..."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Infinity Ward full-time

    Pros

    Free lunch (dinner also if you work late).

    Cons

    -VERY low pay -Poor leadership -Slow Advancement -No one that is a part of leadership cares about you as an individual or your career path. -Cliquey -HR department lacking coordination, sympathy, and initiative

    Continue reading
    Infinity Ward2018-08-09
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Horrible HR"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Infinity Ward full-time

    Pros

    Salary, daily great free lunch (and dinner when working overtime, which is pretty much all the time but varies from department to department, and bonus.

    Cons

    Don't look to HR for any kind of help. Longest hours I've experienced. Large company so some leads better qualified than others. Culture that rewards dishonesty, bullying and more.

    Continue reading
    Infinity Ward2017-11-23

    Infinity Ward Response

    July 3, 2018Sr. Manager, Talent Attraction

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We are committed to listening to our employees and have created several channels for them to share their concerns but unfortunately, we weren’t able to capture yours. When an issue is reported, we take immediate action. We’re sharing your feedback with our leadership to look for further ways we can open a dialogue with valued employees. Our goal is to provide a fun and dynamic workplace at Infinity Ward, thank you for helping enhance our employee experience. We wish you the best in your career moving forward.

  6. Helpful (6)

    "Dysfunctional Leadership, Long Hours, Low Pay"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Infinity Ward full-time

    Pros

    *Nice facilities with big kitchens and a gym onsite. *Free lunches, dinners and snacks. *Lots of free swag and frequent parties/events.

    Cons

    *12+ hour days everyday for months on end. *Directors and leads that fight publicly amongst each other. *Lack of a clear vision for the project *Call of Duty is uninspiring to work on.

    Continue reading
    Infinity Ward2017-08-03
  7. "Friendly people, fun perks, long hours, slow advancement."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Artist in Woodland Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Infinity Ward full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most coworkers are super friendly and helpful. You'll make friends and learn a lot as long as you don't actively try to avoid people. There are plenty of sub-communities around playing board, card, video, and rec room games at lunch and doing things on the weekends like extreme sports, regular sports, karaoke, bar-hopping, etc. Catered lunches, lots of swag, fun (and fairly frequent) parties. Then there's the standard stuff like decent health insurance and vacation.

    Cons

    Pay raises are minimal, my rent increases at a much faster rate! Get a good wage going in; they won't do a proper cost-of-living adjustment unless you fight like hell and/or threaten to leave. Crunch isn't fun. Last project we had 12+ hr days every day for about half a year (felt like eternity) and some departments did it for much longer. Even normal days you're at work for 9+ hours because someone decided we need to 'make up' that lunch hour now. Most people don't even take an hour for lunch. What happened to the 9 to 5? RIP Dolly Parton.

    Continue reading
    Infinity Ward2017-06-29
  8. "Long hours, fun environment for some. Management needs work."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technical Artist in Woodland Hills, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Infinity Ward

    Pros

    Lots of perks, especially for gamers, and great environment for FPS game development with people who know their stuff. Decent health benefits.

    Cons

    Poor work-life balance. Mistakes from higher ups affect everyone negatively. Friction between leads. Located in the crappiest part of the Valley.

    Infinity Ward2017-06-27
  9. "IW great company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Infinity Ward part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome high skilled coworkers. Interesting projects

    Cons

    Not a clear management structure.

    Infinity Ward2015-09-04
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Never move up the ranks!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Artist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Infinity Ward full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The perks are great, you get free food everyday. So if that is more important to you then actually working for a company that you can possibly have room for advancement then great.

    Cons

    The management at this company is a joke. They pass you and ignore you and look down at you like your a piece of trash. They forget that without you they wouldn't have their ridiculous salary for doing nothing. I've seen the same 4 people move up and around this company but yet if you do good work and aren't part of a select few, you will not go anywhere. You aren't even acknowledged when you do a continuous fantastic job compared to those who are moving up. The pay scales are all over the place. I've been a senior for about 6 yrs but then you have newer people with less experience and less shipped AAA titles that are buying million dollar houses and super cars. Meanwhile, just chug away at your desk with your head down. Great morale boost.

    Continue reading
    Infinity Ward2015-09-23
Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews