J. Crew Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
J. Crew Chief Executive Officer  Jan Singer (no image)
Jan Singer
10 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "For me there aren't really any cons to working here when you need a part time job(in 94 reviews)

  • "At the time I worked there you had on-call shifts, which could be a bit irritating(in 80 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - J Crew Customer Service in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J. Crew full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work, decent pay. Cafeteria.

    Cons

    Sometimes customers are meany poos

    J. Crew2020-05-23
  2. "Good company"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I have been working at J. Crew part-time

    Pros

    Fun coworkers lots of fashion oriented

    Cons

    Downsides where the weekends and holidays especially Black Friday

    J. Crew2020-05-27
  3. "Fun"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J. Crew part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible with hours and some people are nice.

    Cons

    bad management because it was like a tyranny

    Continue reading
    J. Crew2020-05-23
  4. "Great Place!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J. Crew part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very positive environment, if you are looking for a start in the retail world!

    Cons

    Sometimes the customers can be a little snarky!

    J. Crew2020-05-21
  5. "Great part-time job for college student but staff turnover was very high"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at J. Crew part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting, energetic workplace and great co-workers. I liked the products and the discounts were excellent. I was rarely bored. Decent pay.

    Cons

    Corporate always seemed to be a sinking ship, and managers and full-time staff were constantly changing. Retail is exhausting, and I learned how much brick and mortar establishments are suffering in the era of online shopping. As fun as it was to work there, it was also sometimes... sad.

    Continue reading
    J. Crew2020-05-19
  6. "Ok"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Support Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J. Crew part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent Perks (reduced costs on clothes etc)

    Cons

    Hard push for cards felt scummy.

    J. Crew2020-06-01
  7. "Positive"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at J. Crew part-time

    Pros

    Great environment, fun managers, cute clothes

    Cons

    boring on slow days, no commission

    J. Crew2020-05-17
  8. "Learning experience"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Store Associate 

    I worked at J. Crew part-time

    Pros

    Great to learn how to assist others and handle problems

    Cons

    Could be stressful at busy times

    J. Crew2020-05-17
  9. "JCrew Factory"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at J. Crew part-time

    Pros

    Great co-workers, employee discount, and pay

    Cons

    Lack of training (although I was hired in October, so they were prepping for holiday sales)

    J. Crew2020-05-30
  10. "Open-Minded Workplace with Encouraging Management"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate - Stylist 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J. Crew part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good store-level management, healthy communication between associates and management, opportunities for rewards based on good performance.

    Cons

    Low compensation, difficult to get a lot of hours when you're first starting out.

    J. Crew2020-05-15
Found 2600 reviews