KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

J. Crew

Is this your company?

J. Crew

Add a Review

J. Crew Reviews

Updated Jul 4, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3,539 of over 3,634 reviews

3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
J. Crew CEO Libby Wadle
Libby Wadle
141 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "workers were all great people to work with and made working on the sales floor fun and easy.(in 242 reviews)
  • "clothing discount and flexible hours(in 140 reviews)
  • "Managers were great and social.(in 140 reviews)
  • "Benefits are great for full time and of course the discount is an added plus.(in 136 reviews)
  • "Great team and coworkers.(in 105 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of J. Crew and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great place to work

    Mar 18, 2022 - Stylist in King of Prussia, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great discount and excellent management team

    Cons

    Lack of hours. Not enough

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Work Culture & Benefits

    Jun 3, 2022 - Stylist in Torrance, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked with J.Crew for a total of 5 years now as my side job. At my particular store, we have a really positive culture that has been cultivated through teamwork, camaraderie, and great leadership. My store director, managers, and colleagues are the best team that I've worked ever with. They are down-to-earth, kind, and supportive. I have learned so much at this job, from knowledge about fashion and the industry, how to provide quality customer service, and collaboration with colleagues and customers. Employees also receive incentives such as 401(k), great discounts to J.Crew, J.Crew Factory, and Madewell, and contests to earn free items. I also admire how J.Crew is always trying its best to improve and live up to its corporate responsibility such as using eco-friendly materials and its charitable proceeds like their winter coat drive and Garment For Goods. They also appear to be inclusive (Diversity, LGBTQIA) in their marketing efforts. With all that said, I love working at J.Crew because they always make me feel welcome and supported!

    Cons

    I haven't experienced any cons that have negatively influenced my perception of this job.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great work environment

    Jul 3, 2022 - Sales Associate in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    J.Crew was a great place to work for a beginner retail job. I had a few great managers who really cared about their employees and the store itself.

    Cons

    Pay was not great and raises were tiny.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Nice place to work

    Jul 4, 2022 - Sales Support Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work. Nice team and good work environment.

    Cons

    No cons to speak of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    One of My Favorite Places To Work

    Jun 15, 2022 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Loved learning about what goes into the process and quality of the clothing • Enployee perks that sometimes came with steep discounts and/or free clothing or shoes • First dibs on new inventory

    Cons

    The culture is really what you make it, so I don’t really have any cons as my team had a pretty good culture and the store was well managed.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Retail

    Jun 28, 2022 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great managers, collaborative, supportive, good company values

    Cons

    Can’t move up, not many full time roles with good benefits

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    Jun 29, 2022 - Marketing Coordinator in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company, great team, great office

    Cons

    Low pay compared to similar brands

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Hourly

    Jun 26, 2022 - Retail Sales Associate in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly, fun, great discount, and easy.

    Cons

    Need comfortable shoes, selling credit cards, and sloppy customers.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Chill job, horrible hours

    Jul 4, 2022 - Seasonal Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of good people and nice managers

    Cons

    Awful hours with no consistent schedule

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    flexibility

    Jun 23, 2022 - Retail Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    flexible schedule, great people amazing discount

    Cons

    not enough hours, hard to be full time

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,539 Reviews

J. Crew Reviews FAQs

J. Crew has an overall rating of 3.9 out of 5, based on over 3,634 reviews left anonymously by employees. 71% of employees would recommend working at J. Crew to a friend and 53% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, J. Crew employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at J. Crew. This rating has improved by 4% over the last 12 months.

71% of J. Crew employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated J. Crew 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.8 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at J. Crew to be workplace, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be culture, career development, management.

Popular Careers with J. Crew Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at J. Crew? Share Your Experiences

or

J. Crew Photos

+ Add Photo
J. Crew photo of: .
J. Crew photo of: Corporate Office
J. Crew photo of: Corporate Office
J. Crew photo of: Home Office
J. Crew photo of: Distribution Center
J. Crew photo of: .
J. Crew photo of: .
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Madewell, Inc.
See all affiliated companies