MarketSource Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
45%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
MarketSource President Rick Haviland (no image)
Rick Haviland
682 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Part-time only positions from what I recall, unless you are higher up(in 94 reviews)

  • "More part time opportunities than full time opportunities(in 68 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Family"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDR 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MarketSource full-time

    Pros

    Open to new ideas and growing

    Cons

    None at all. Everything has been perfect

    MarketSource2020-05-14
  2. "Great experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Phone Representative in Dumfries, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MarketSource part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Commission and hourly based and you get experience working without supervision

    Cons

    Due to shortage of workers you’ll be by yourself the whole shift. And the hourly pay is a bit low

    Continue reading
    MarketSource2020-05-28
  3. "Great Culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MarketSource full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Leadership, Team Work and Community

    Cons

    Benefits are on the light side

    Continue reading
    MarketSource2020-05-26
  4. "Neither particularly good nor bad"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Target Tech 

    I have been working at MarketSource part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy, laid-back, relatively flexible, good work-life balance, not overwhelmingly demanding.

    Cons

    Negligible commission, unrealistic/unreasonable expectations (sometimes).

    MarketSource2020-05-22
  5. "Target Tech - great for personal growth if your under 21- not much room to advance"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Target Tech Representative- Cusomer Assistance, Tech, and Sales in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at MarketSource part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They were FANTASTIC when I put in what was not 2 week notice but a one week notice. told me I was always welcome back and wished me great luck. also, while there I was impressed with the combination of the material from home and what you learned hands on - I have had difficulties with this, and the technology, the service providers, the new phones (I was never an iphone person) and more was so much but I learned exponentially more in less time than I have at more customer service centric positions where i have had my primary experience

    Cons

    well, you arent a target employee as a targettech rep, there can be a strange schism between the two. everyone in my local target in the store at electronics and target tech were almost all in there first job and i felt a little separated at 31. I had to learn to not expect them to always act as mature as others whom have had more than 1 employer and more responsibilities. tho, our manager whom resided in kc was GREAT at getting things like gossip or drama ended STAT when he came to visit he even kept concerns very seriously and took additional time to communicate very effective

    Continue reading
    MarketSource2020-05-19
  6. "Decent"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MarketSource full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some decent money can be made. Selling is easy.

    Cons

    The customers can be pretty rude. They're taking away Verizon postpaid options. You're left with At&t. Lower probability to sell Postpaids now.

    MarketSource2020-05-15
  7. "It could've been worse?"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mobile Expert 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MarketSource part-time

    Pros

    Independent, you're usually left to your own devices. Over the time I worked there I only saw my boss a handful of times. It is incredibly laid back work, or at least it used to be.

    Cons

    You're often times required to do some unethical things, like take photos of customers without their knowledge or consent, even if the staff there tell you not to. Had a subpar response to the epidemic and continually asked break social distancing policies to make sales and employees were berated or let go if unwilling.

    MarketSource2020-05-27
  8. "High volume of work for low pay"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Operations Associate in Alpharetta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MarketSource full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company open to new professionals, great entry level position, helps cultivate and build new skills

    Cons

    Inexperienced management, department higher ups have trouble creating and maintaining an inclusive and respectful work culture

    Continue reading
    MarketSource2020-05-25
  9. "Management is horrible and you will not be properly trained"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MarketSource part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - You get to help guests out and make their day when you can help get what they want and sometimes even need. - There is a decent chance that you will have the option to be promoted if there is opening and you want that position.

    Cons

    - Long hours of work for very little pay (commission doesn't even makeup to an hourly Target Team Member) - Terrible District Managers who are rude and are constantly talking behind everyone's back. - Training is terrible and left up to Team Leads who aren't even trained to train - You sometimes are just standing there all day with no guests coming in - Guests are always angry at the phone carriers and they show that with you.

    Continue reading
    MarketSource2020-05-19
  10. "Fair and honest"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Account Executive Manager in High Point, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MarketSource full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Straightforward leadership and commitment to fairness. Company rule is open and honest communication.

    Cons

    Not always to top pay. Compensated by work life benefits.

    MarketSource2020-05-01
Found 1836 reviews