MetLife Reviews | Glassdoor

MetLife Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3381 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
MetLife CEO Michel Khalaf
Michel Khalaf
46 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not very flexible for work life balance(in 100 reviews)

  • "Health insurance not the best, upper management changes over last few years has cause an decrease in moral and trust(in 73 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (12)

    "Senior Accounts Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I have been working at MetLife full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working Environment Other Benefits Learning Opportunities Good Management Explore Yourself

    Cons

    As far as I know there are no cons

    MetLife2019-01-08
  2. "Excellent culture & benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Learning & Development Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at MetLife full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the best benefits in the job market!

    Cons

    Many departments are in constant flux, and reorganizations are very common.

    MetLife2019-06-27
  3. "Changing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MetLife full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company provides all the resources needed to perform your job.

    Cons

    The company seems to be more concerned with the short term than in the past.

    MetLife2019-08-21
  4. "MetLife Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Busineess Analyst in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MetLife full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great People, good benefits, good work life balance

    Cons

    Became very political, rating system became a game

    Advice to Management

    Lose the rating system

    MetLife2019-08-20
  5. "Great Opportunity To Develop Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in Warwick, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MetLife full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I had a great recruiting and Interview process. Everything was explained and laid out in an expeditious manner. I feel strongly about the company and how they work with applicants during the onboarding process. My recruiter was very supportive and encouraging and my interview with the hiring manager was a positive experience. I feel great about starting a new career opportunity with the company due to their endurance...

    Show More

    Cons

    None so far but I am a new employee and need time to assess their work environment and culture.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to evolve with programs to help not only the public but to develop career opportunities to develop and advance your employees in order to grow with the company.

    MetLife2019-08-15
  6. "Good company overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Specialist 

    I worked at MetLife full-time

    Pros

    Longevity opportunity is available is wanted

    Cons

    Slow to change some long standing processes.

    MetLife2019-08-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoyed my tenure with MetLife, sad to leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MetLife full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very well paying, great benefits, amazing talent, free coffee ;)

    Cons

    Restructuring and moving jobs has caused low morale for the employees staying on.

    MetLife2019-08-08
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Specialist in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MetLife full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Overall I have had a wonderful experience working for MetLife. I have been given great opportunities because people believed in the work I can do. I have always enjoyed the teams I have worked with. Nothing is ever perfect but I have enjoyed working here over the last 6 years.

    Cons

    Lack of communication with upper management. Departments not communicating with each other effectively to give the customer the best experience possible.

    Advice to Management

    Learn your departments product so that you can best assist them with questions and concerns. My unit leader provides us with her daily calendar, which is helpful to know when she will be available for questions or concerns.

    MetLife2019-08-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "MetLife served me well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MetLife full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    MetLife has provided me with continuous training throughout my career and have paid for certifications on a yearly basis to help me achieve excellent and/or above and beyond rated performance reviews. I started in the 80s and 90s and lived through decades of technical enhancements and MetLife has encouraged and supported and yes paid for my training to bring me up to college graduates yet also providing me with the experience...

    Show More

    Cons

    My only con is for layoffs that have occurred every 5-7 years. I do not blame them, its generally a business decision based on politics. Still, they have always offered excellent severance packages and have taken care of their employees like me with the utmost of respect and ease.

    Advice to Management

    Management members have been nothing but positive for me. There have been times where I needed improvement but they handled it positively and I came out a winner. I have noticed lately due to the turn over, that this management structure has had some lapses.

    MetLife2019-08-04
  10. "ONE MetLife"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Escalations Team Lead 

    I worked at MetLife full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Wonderful benefits and side perks.

    Cons

    Its all who you know to move up in the company.

    MetLife2019-08-03
Found 3381 reviews