OfficeMax Reviews | Glassdoor

OfficeMax Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1955 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
OfficeMax CEO Gerry Smith
Gerry Smith
59 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Difference in work methods with Officemax vs Office Depot employees(in 113 reviews)

  • "Current merger with Office Depot has been rough(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Still in a learning process."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Engagement Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OfficeMax full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very friendly and fun to work for.

    Cons

    Being able to lift some of the furniture and being a sales rep.

    Advice to Management

    Management just needs to be knowledgeable and dedicated.

    OfficeMax2019-03-25
  2. "Nice staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Print Consultant in Matteson, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OfficeMax part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice staff to work with

    Cons

    Pay rate not high enough and raises are small amounts

    OfficeMax2019-04-09
  3. "Great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Associate 

      I worked at OfficeMax part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I worked with my friends, had great supervisors, and the position was a regular cashiering job. Easy to talk with customers, flexible hours, etc.

      Cons

      It was required to work on Black Friday.

      OfficeMax2019-04-02
    • "Fair"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Sales Associate 

        I worked at OfficeMax part-time

        Pros

        Understood all parts of store

        Cons

        Needs updating on floor and system

        OfficeMax2019-03-31
      • "good part-time job in college"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Copy and Print Associate 

          I worked at OfficeMax part-time

          Pros

          I worked in the print center part time while going to school full time. It was interesting work and fulfilling when customers were happy. I learned valuable office skills and gained lots of patience with my customer service . Coworkers were nice as was management.

          Cons

          Customers who come to print center can have tight goals and specific projects in mind, and it became stressful to deal with those who were unnecessarily rude or who wouldn't listen when explaining company policy. Prices were also a common complaint.

          OfficeMax2019-03-29
        • "Automy"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Business Development Manager 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at OfficeMax full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          You work from home office

          Cons

          compensation program could be better

          OfficeMax2019-03-11
        • "Great company-good people"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Lead Driver 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at OfficeMax full-time for more than 19 years

          Pros

          Good company that cared about it’s workers.

          Cons

          The director at my location was a micromanager. But they closed our location so she is no longer there.

          Advice to Management

          Listen when lower lever workers start calling the hotline about the managers.

          OfficeMax2019-02-28
        • "good job"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Warehouse Specialist 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at OfficeMax full-time (Less than a year)

          Pros

          pto's benefits friendly work atmosphere

          Cons

          none they seem to be doing a good job

          Advice to Management

          keep up the good work

          OfficeMax2019-02-28
        • "Good First Job"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Sales Associate 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at OfficeMax part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          People Flexible hours Ability to interact with customers on a daily basis

          Cons

          Wage, minimum wage to start with and then goes up from there.

          OfficeMax2019-02-20
        • "Meh"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Copy and Print Associate in Akron, OH
            Negative Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I worked at OfficeMax part-time for more than 3 years

            Pros

            Regular raises, competitive for retail

            Cons

            Squeezing staff for payroll constantly, not hiring and training replacements when people quit, seems like the company is about to go out of business

            OfficeMax2019-03-04
          Found 1955 reviews