PPD Reviews

Updated May 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
PPD Chairman and CEO David Simmons
David Simmons
741 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work/ life balance is great at PPD(in 151 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, good life/work balance and nice environment(in 112 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No room for creativity, bad work life balance(in 122 reviews)

  • "Goals are graded after upper management gets a curve; most are only raised to keep up with inflation(in 38 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of PPD and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      Work/Life Balance and a company that cares!

      Jan 13, 2021 - Clinical Research Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In my experience, PPD has been great at promoting work/life balance, even as I'm in a traveling position. It can be stressful at times, as with any job when you have deadlines for tasks, but I have never felt overwhelmed with work at this company. I have always felt very valued as an employee. I've given my all, but been recognized for it also, which is very important to me. In 5 years at the company, I've been promoted 3 times (soon to be 4), and I have always felt very supported and like my line manager cheers me on. I also live in an area where hurricane Florence really impacted us a few years back. The way PPD supported us during that time is was a testament to me about how much they really care about us, and I really appreciated all the ways they tried to help us during that time. I couldn't ask for a better company!

      Cons

      As with any job, busy times can be stressful, but I have never felt like I wasn't supported, and my managers have always tried to make sure I had everything I needed and wasn't feeling overwhelmed.

      4 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Quality workplace

      Apr 18, 2021 - Assistant Scientist in Madison, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Room for advancement, great training program

      Cons

      Base pay, hourly pay vs yearly

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Relaxed CRO

      Apr 25, 2021 - Associate Scientist in Richmond, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work day flies by, requirements of the analysts are nothing major, good amount of break time and typically never require OT hours

      Cons

      If you want to really get on the inside of what is going on, or what the experiments are actually doing, it's in your own hands. They pay you to work and get the assays done, not to learn or "research" per say. Which is not bad if you could care less, but if you are curious you might feel limited at roles that are not R&D; additionally, pay was respectively low across the field, however they will hire you when others won't

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great for Career Development but big corporation mindset

      Mar 26, 2021 - Remote Site Monitor (RSM) II in Tulsa, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company does a great job at encouraging career development. Compensation is great/competitive. Not afraid to implement new things to better any processes and produce quality work. It's nice to see a company be more tech savy than most medical companies but still have some room to grow.

      Cons

      They operate like a big corporation. Wasting time and money due to not being able to pay attention to details. Big disconnect with multiple filing systems right now. It doesn't really make any sense to file anything within PPD systems that are already onsite. Verifying everything onsite during monitoring visits should suffice or even remote for regulatory items, etc. What is the point in filing things with a 3rd party if they have already been verified onsite? They could save a lot of wasted money and time. This is just one example.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Strong Game Changing Culture + Flexibility & Trust

      Apr 5, 2021 - Director-HR in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic managers and leadership that trust you to do your job and give you autonomy. I feel connected to the strong purpose of improving health and helping to deliver life changing therapies. We truly work together to change the game by bending the time cost curve of drug development. Awesome group of smart and hard working people that come together as ONE PPD!

      Cons

      Health Benefits in the US could be stronger but I've seen improvements in the past few years

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Friendly Environment

      May 6, 2021 - Assistant Scientist in Middleton, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great workplace atmosphere Many learning opportunities In-depth training provided Flexible hours

      Cons

      Lower than average salaries for the field

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to Learn

      Feb 22, 2021 - Research Assistant in Middleton, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      PPD is an incredible environment that fosters personal career development and offers training and exposure to the inner workings of the pharmaceutical industry. Coworkers are nice and there is a sense of community. Procedural and simple 9-5 job if you are attentive.

      Cons

      High turnover rate, I had 3 managers during a 9 month stint with the company. FDA compliance is the goal of all work done so small errors are a big deal and things escalate quickly. While education exists for career growth that does not necessarily translate to you being the right person for the job. There are thousands of people in the laboratory environment and they are looking for the best person for the job at the lowest price. Compensation is low and overtime will need to be approved.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company to work for

      Apr 28, 2021 - Scientist in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for with plenty of growth opportunities and fair compensation for a CRO. Good benefits as well.

      Cons

      Large company so can feel lost in the shuffle. Compensation is less competitive than pharma overall.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Ok job

      Apr 24, 2021 - Associate Group Leader in Richmond, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Appreciated environment, great pay, great benefits

      Cons

      No work life balance Too much work for AGL’s Lack of proper training

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great opportunity for those in medical field.

      Apr 30, 2021 - Medical Information Specialist in Wilmington, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very supportive management and team members.

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,945 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with PPD Job Seekers

    Clinical Research Associate
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at PPD? Share Your Experiences

    or