Sky Reviews | Glassdoor

Sky Reviews

Updated May 20, 2018
1,150 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Sky CEO Jeremy Darroch
Jeremy Darroch
591 Ratings

1,150 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work life balance can often be chalkenging (in 55 reviews)

  • The very early starts and long hours outdoors in the cold winter (in 42 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Senior producer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Freelancer in Lebanon, TN
    Former Employee - Freelancer in Lebanon, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sky full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    If you give me the honor of joining your team I'll do my best to prove that you made the right choice, i'm gifted with writing and i can lead team of workers also I'm very motivated and would like to be given the opportunity to show my talents and abilities! Also i speak Arabic which is something might be useful.

    Cons

    I love competition as long as it is legal and in the limits of work but I'm afraid this competition transfers into hates!

    Advice to Management

    Choose me because I am the best choice!


  2. "Good Place to Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Sky full-time

    Pros

    Dynamic work environment with fast-paced projects

    Cons

    Dynamic work environment with fast-paced projects :-)

  3. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Sky full-time

    Pros

    Nice office space
    Great canteen, well priced
    Free TV/discounted Internet
    Do not have to take work home with you.

    Cons

    Not great pay.
    Good work life dependent on whether or not your team leader is competent.
    Pressure to close sales + incentive structures means dodgy sales. You are very unlikely to make good commission if you are above board.

    Advice to Management

    Reward staff with time off/cash prizes.
    Stop coming down on agents for not being compliant - it is most likely their Team Lead/Senior Managers putting the pressure on them to reach unrealistic targets.

    Sky Response

    Jan 12, 2018 – Head of Sales operations (Sell Sky)

    Thanks very much for taking the time to review your experience of working here, we really value your feedback as this helps us to improve. We’ve taken onboard similar feedback around pay and... More


  4. "Food Runner/Busser/Server/Food Prep/Dishwasher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I worked at Sky full-time

    Pros

    I received 50 plus hours a week because of different available jobs that were opened for posotions.

    Cons

    You have to wait until everyone leaves before cleaning up at 11 to 12am and the kitchen closed at 9pm. I would be stuck doing only little work until bar closing.

    Advice to Management

    I LOVE working in the food industry. I Make people's day and enjoy working fast paced.


  5. "Inflight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Very ubeat fun room for growth

    Cons

    Poor pay . no benefits .nice employees

    Advice to Management

    None

    Sky Response

    May 5, 2017 – Glassdoor Community Manager

    Hi, thanks for leaving a review. It's great to hear that you've had the opportunity to grow within your role, and we've passed your feedback on benefits on to the business.


  6. "Great people; no pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Great environment and you are always learning how to get better.

    Cons

    NO PAY WHATSOEVER they are sorry

    Advice to Management

    don't lie to employees about pay

    Sky Response

    May 5, 2017 – Glassdoor Community Manager

    Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We've passed your feedback around compensation on to the business.


  7. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    benefits , holidays and involved culture creates a sense of loyalty to the company.

    Cons

    product drives business, everythingevolves and lands very quickly, be prepared for a fast ride.

    Sky Response

    May 5, 2017 – Glassdoor Community Manager

    Hello, thanks for providing us with your feedback. We really value your opinion, and it's great to hear you enjoyed the culture here.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Sky Movies Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern
    Former Employee - Intern
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I was an American working in Osterley for Sky. Sky Movies was probably the most welcoming team of professionals I've ever worked with. They were incredibly accomodating, interesting, friendly, and compassionate. As an intern, they did not treat me like an intern. They were a hardworking group, and I can't think of a better place to work.

    Cons

    None. Best work experience I've ever had.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Sky Response

    May 5, 2017 – Glassdoor Community Manager

    Hello, thank you for leaving a 5* review! We're glad you enjoyed your time as an intern in Sky Movies, we've passed your feedback on to the business.


  9. "Good company, a few issues to work through in terms of pay and promotion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I worked at Sky full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great people - most are innovative, experienced and creative. Get to work at the forefront of a big entertainment, sport and technology company.

    Cons

    The department I was in had lots of employees that had quibbles about pay and promotion. Although not terrible, it was quite bad compensation for work load and responsibilities. Promotion opportunities were poorly communicated and it felt to me and others like management/HR avoid promotions and pay rises as much as possible. This led to discontentment and a disproportionate amount of resignations. Pay/promotion system also very reflective of how pro-active personal managers were; which mine wasn't.

    Advice to Management

    Review pay/promotion system

    Sky Response

    May 5, 2017 – Glassdoor Community Manager

    Hello, thanks for leaving a 4* review. We really value your feedback, and we've passed your advice on promotion opportunities on to the business.


  10. "strategic marketing advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Strategic Marketing Advisor in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Strategic Marketing Advisor in Saint Louis, MO

    I have been working at Sky (More than a year)

    Pros

    This position allows me to work on a variety interesting and challenging projects meeting new people everyday.

    Cons

    I enjoy being in a large company atmosphere

    Sky Response

    May 5, 2017 – Glassdoor Community Manager

    Hi, thanks for leaving your 5* review. It's great to read that you've had the opportunity to get involved in a variety of projects.


Showing 1,150 of 1,217 reviews
Reset Filters