SoundCloud Reviews

Updated Apr 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
SoundCloud CEO Kerry Trainor
Kerry Trainor
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Open culture, cool tech stack, Friday demos, beers on Fridays, free lunch twice a week, great work culture, easy to show off your skills(in 8 reviews)

  • "freedom, lots of autonomy, great culture and people(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Too many unexperienced people working in middle/upper management(in 4 reviews)

  • "nothing really but salaries very berlin style(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Working Environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SoundCloud full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance, Cool People, Good Pay

    Cons

    Not that I can think of

    SoundCloud2020-04-27
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Best Onboarding Experience to Date"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Workplace Manager 
    Recommends

    I have been working at SoundCloud full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Soundcloud provides you everything you need to do your job successfully. You are supported from the top down. You can bring topics/ideas to the table and will be heard. You're voice matters. You work with an amazing group of individuals. Not to mention Lunch is provided 2x a week :)

    Cons

    Meeting schedule can be a bit hectic with timezones from Ber to NY to LA.

    SoundCloud2019-09-25
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SoundCloud full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great work culture that emphasizes work-life balance, cultural diversity, and recognition for top performance - The product is awesome and employees are super passionate about it - Engineering has solid technical talent and all the teams have passionate, caring, and intelligent people that act as great co-workers - New management has a clear strategic direction and is extremely transparent

    Cons

    - The 2017 layoffs negatively affected work culture and workspace, but it's rebounded to a normal place again - Salary and compensation is market average, company is willing to pay more for C-level executives than recruiting top, new talent (a strategy I disagree with)

    Continue reading
    SoundCloud2018-07-03
  4. "Generally, pretty much like you have heard"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SoundCloud full-time

    Pros

    Globally known company; people like the legacy

    Cons

    Management, lack of clarity, out of touch with the users/creators

    Continue reading
    SoundCloud2018-07-16
  5. "It is a fair company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SoundCloud full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Promotion opportunities than my previous company.

    Cons

    Stressful and making me feel bad

    SoundCloud2018-07-12
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Great culture, Shaky business"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SoundCloud full-time

    Pros

    Cool product, smart people, and a great culture.

    Cons

    Not profitable, just laid of 40% of the staff, and they do not have a clear path forward.

    SoundCloud2017-07-20
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great People and Hard Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SoundCloud full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the most caring, funny and hard working people I've met Open culture that welcomes criticism A lot of hard work can allow you to make your mark and an impact Balanced structure for training and support

    Cons

    Salary Offices located all over the world that are co-dependent means slow communication High employee churn

    Continue reading
    SoundCloud2016-12-01
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Started out cool, got worse and worse. Needs work"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SoundCloud full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great vacation days, parental leave, and health + dental insurance - Health and wellness budget - Learning and development budget - Fun product - Nice office - Many people devoted to making the product and company better

    Cons

    - Toxic people in high positions who manage not to get fired - Diversity & inclusion was said to be a priority but no one has time for it - People complain about issues but no one fixes them - Understaffed, hence the previous two points - Stressful because it's the music business - Technical career advancement is fairly impossible unless you are willing to move to Berlin - Management proficiency varies heavily because training is scarce - Some very incompetent people managed to get hired somehow - NYC office environment was very bro-y and competitive - Salary could be better for the amount and quality of work expected

    Continue reading
    SoundCloud2016-09-25
  9. "Great brand but lacks resources"

    3.0
     

    I have been working at SoundCloud

    Pros

    Great product and awesome international vibe from being Berlin based

    Cons

    Lack of tech resources makes project realization tough

    Continue reading
    SoundCloud2016-09-29
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Such an amazing company filled with international talent"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Community Support Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SoundCloud for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company and culture to be a part of. Talent was amazing and people appreciated the SoundCloud vision for the company and community.

    Cons

    I personally don't have any because this was an amazing experience in my career

    SoundCloud2016-03-07
Found 81 reviews