UniFirst Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
UniFirst President and CEO Steven S. Sintros
Steven S. Sintros
172 Ratings
Pros
  • "Awesome people great company to work for and off on weekends(in 65 reviews)

  • "Great training, support, and pay plan(in 63 reviews)

Cons
  • "Tough work that will require long hours at times(in 77 reviews)

  • "As a Sales Rep, you need to put in the work in your first year to set up the rest of your career(in 47 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A Great Company to Learn and Grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Nashua, NH
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at UniFirst full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Competitive pay, and if you put in the time and effort, commissions are great. - Training process is thorough and provides every tool you need to do the job well, as well as other jobs in or out of the same field. - Great place to build personal and professional relationships - Management is working just as hard as you are, day-in and day-out - Provides abundant options for career mobility within the company - Out of the "office" 2-3 days a week offers a lot of freedom and ability to test yourself as a individual professional

    Cons

    - If you cannot make cold calls a minimum of 2 days per week, this is not for you - Must be a self-starter and motivated individual. This position really tests how willing you are to do well and find financial success

    Continue reading

    UniFirst Response

    May 19, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for submitting a review. We're glad to hear that you enjoy working with us, the feeling is mutual!

  2. "Awesome Place To Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Longview, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UniFirst full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Commited Management Driven Focused On Moral Plenty of Oppurtunity

    Cons

    None, maybe just hopefully getting a new sales office.

    Continue reading

    UniFirst Response

    August 10, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for submitting a review! We're glad to hear that you enjoy working with us, the feeling is mutual.


  3. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Service Supervisor in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UniFirst full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, lots of potential, great benefits, holidays off.

    Cons

    Physical work, no other issues

    UniFirst Response

    August 6, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you so much for your continued dedication and commitment to UniFirst. Our Team Partners (also known as our UniFirst Family) are our most valuable asset, and we appreciate your hard work.

  4. "Great Culture, Work Hard, Play hard!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Newburgh, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UniFirst full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Each location is like it's own little business, all decisions can be made at that level Highly flexible work environment Each employee is given the tools to succeed, and everyone is willing to help each other out, even from states away Fantastic state of the art technology, from video conferencing to CRM systems, Unifirst stays ahead of the curve on the majority of its systems TRAINING IS THE BEST IN THE SALES WORLD You will not get a better training program anywhere, in any sales position, from any other company. Period. Tremendous growth potential - a brand new sales rep can be a manager within 1-2 years, and be promoted again into another management role depending on their desired path, either with service, sales or operations. Truly limitless opportunities

    Cons

    Management claims "they don't want to micromanage, but..." Sales Manager's compensation is highly dependent on tenure of sales reps, quota is the same regardless if reps are brand new or have been with the company for a year, although still attainable with the right reps working for you

    Continue reading

    UniFirst Response

    August 6, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We're so happy to hear that you enjoy working with us, and we are very appreciative of your hard work and contributions to UniFirst.

  5. COVID-19

    "Great Family Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Route Service Manager in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UniFirst full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    UniFirst has been a fantastic company to work for 12 years now. I particularly like the family atmosphere and sales and service culture at our Louisville location. We have grown exponentially since day one with no end in sight. We have been adding employees, customers and routes consistently. Even Covid hasn't slowed us down! I also like that the compensation (paycheck) equals directly how much you put in and the work/life balance is second to none

    Cons

    Not a lot of negatives here. Some days are a grind if a truck breaks down or you get to deal with customers that are shutdown during a pandemic.

    UniFirst Response

    August 10, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Hi, thank you for your feedback. We're so happy to hear that you enjoy working with us, and we are very appreciative of your hard work and contributions to UniFirst.

  6. "Great place to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UniFirst full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training they provide is very thorough. They have a long term and a short term game plan for you. They are very willing to work with you. They are always trying to help you become better. They push you and try to find ways to help you accomplish greatness.

    Cons

    I really enjoy who I work with and where I work. No cons here

    UniFirst Response

    August 4, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you so much for your continued dedication and commitment to UniFirst. Our Team Partners (also known as our UniFirst Family) are our most valuable asset, and we appreciate your hard work.

  7. COVID-19

    "Great, Compassionate Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RSR Route Sales Representative in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UniFirst full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Love the company! Great culture and people. They really take time to invest in you. Benefits and perks also incredible!!

    Cons

    No cons at the moment.

    Continue reading

    UniFirst Response

    August 3, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Hi, thank you for your feedback. We're so happy to hear that you enjoy working with us, and we are very appreciative of your hard work and contributions to UniFirst.

  8. "Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - District Service Manager, Route Service Manager in Portland, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UniFirst full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with great people. Weekends and most major Holidays off.

    Cons

    60+ hour work weeks. Vacation time slow to accrue 2 weeks max until 5 - 7 years down the road you will accrue a 3rd week. Turnover. Not much room for growth after this position.

    UniFirst Response

    August 3, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Hi there, thank you for submitting a review. We're glad to hear that you enjoy working with us, the feeling is mutual!

  9. "Alright company"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jackson, MI

    I worked at UniFirst full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible easy work to do

    Cons

    Not room for advancement, poor management

  10. "Inconsistent work times"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Service Supervisor in New Kensington, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UniFirst full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay Job security thru pandemic

    Cons

    Erratic start times, normal start time was 8 but started as early as 3am and everywhere in between. Paid for an 8 hour day but most days working longer without compensation. Trucks poorly maintained and garage staff difficult to work with. Poor training, hours of videos that don't set you up to do the job. Have to learn the ins in outs as you go, could be much better.

    Continue reading
Found 850 reviews