UniFirst Reviews | Glassdoor

UniFirst Reviews

Updated January 13, 2019
681 reviews

Filter

Filter

US - All Cities

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
UniFirst President and CEO Steven S. Sintros
Steven S. Sintros
89 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Job can have long hours depending on how fast you're willing to work and is physically laboring" (in 68 reviews)

  • "Ive been in Sales a while and feel that this place is truly impossible to be a successful sales rep" (in 43 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Leap Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LEAP Associate in Wilmington, MA
    Current Employee - LEAP Associate in Wilmington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UniFirst full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Training Program, Great Support from not only location management but also upper management. Just a great place to learn and excel in. Potential growth not only as a company but also an individual! To the future leap candidates, this is the position to start your career from and you will go up the ladder no doubt!

    Cons

    No Cons as of right now

    UniFirst Response

    Jan 14, 2019 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We are dedicated to the LEAP Leadership & Development Program and are happy to learn you are having a positive experience within the organization!


  2. "Sales consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UniFirst full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule with great pay.

    Cons

    Company is very unorganized with very poor training

    Advice to Management

    Have better training

    UniFirst Response

    Jan 14, 2019 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback!

  3. Helpful (3)

    "District Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Service Manager in Sacramento, CA
    Former Employee - District Service Manager in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UniFirst full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    RSR check in, growth potential, benefits,

    Cons

    You can almost call this position "Route Relief Driver". Expectations to cover a route all the time. This isn't a problem, but you are expected to complete all of your management tasks also. You are bombarded with questions as to why you can't get your job done, you say you are on a route, but that isn't an excuse. Hours are 12-13 per day.

    Advice to Management

    Stay away from the "Good Ol Boys Club". Offer help and assistance instead of coming in late and going home early. Your job isn't to just to support sales, but to help service also. Promote a team environment, rather than Service against Sales and vice versa. Lead by example.

    UniFirst Response

    Jan 14, 2019 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We strongly believe in promoting a team-oriented family environment and it always saddens us whenever any UniFirst Team Partners feel that their experience in our... More


  4. "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at UniFirst full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible hours and paid holidays.

    Cons

    Terrible management, management holds folders to make their numbers look better, managers allow others to sell in your territory, shady business practices in general.

    Advice to Management

    Get back to basics and take care of your employees, they will then take care of your business.

    UniFirst Response

    Jan 14, 2019 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We encourage you to take advantage of our open-door policy and address your concerns with management or contact our Corporate Human Resources Department directly.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Frustrations Continually Ignored"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn Heights, OH
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn Heights, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UniFirst full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    1st Class Treatment Traveling To Assist Other Locations

    Cons

    Pay Does Not Equal Time At Work
    Frustrations Continually Ignored
    Kiss Butt To Keep Your Job

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate The Hard Workers...
    Instead of Looking For Reasons To Get Rid of Them
    My Only Negative Experiences Are Based On My Home Location. Which Is Really Unfortunate

    UniFirst Response

    Jan 14, 2019 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. It always disappoints us when one of our Team Partners feels their experience was a less than positive one. We hope you’ve found a better fit for yourself.


  6. "Green Grass"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UniFirst full-time

    Pros

    No need to find greener grass, looks like we have it here! The people here really care.

    Cons

    I could probably find some if I looked hard enough, but nothing much on the surface.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the culture like it is, great place to work, best place yet for me!

    UniFirst Response

    Jan 14, 2019 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We are so happy to learn you enjoy being a part of the UniFirst Family!


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good learning experience for sales reps, not good long term unless you have solid management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Indianapolis, IN
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UniFirst full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    You will learn a lot about professional selling, more than you can learn in a classroom environment. Role play is great, but it’s simply not the real world. You own your schedule and your success. New comp plan they are rolling out for outside sales gives great opportunity make a lot of money. Other reps in the office are fun to work with, support and cheer each other on. You spend a lot of time meeting with people as opposed to riding a desk and doing everything over the phone.

    Cons

    Overall benefits package for sales isn’t great, but they don’t have to have the best plan around because it’s a starter role. The real opportunities for advancement within the company require relocation. In the job description and during the interview process I was told they have a great work life balance and I wouldn’t be working nights or weekends. I thought it sounded a little too good to be true for a sales role but I took the carrot, and I have spent many nights and weekends working. Depending on your manager you will have a lot of consistency or constant flip-flopping of policies.

    Advice to Management

    Embrace technology more, enable your sales team more and once a policy is in place, keep it consistent. With the ever-changing environment of sales, reps need consistency somewhere in their weekly work or they will be in constant metaphorical whiplash.

    UniFirst Response

    Jan 14, 2019 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. It saddens us to learn that you feel your experience with UniFirst has been less than positive. We encourage you to take advantage of our open-door policy and raise your... More

  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Salt Lake City, UT
    Current Employee - Sales in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UniFirst full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great training. Good Management. Lots of support.

    Cons

    Takes lots of hard work and grit to sale in this industry

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    UniFirst Response

    Jan 14, 2019 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! It’s always great to learn that our UniFirst Team Partners are having a positive experience!


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Wilmington, MA
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Wilmington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UniFirst full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexibility, Great Work Environment, Great management and coworkers

    Cons

    None that would prevent working here

    Advice to Management

    Love working here

    UniFirst Response

    Nov 12, 2018 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback and are so glad to hear you enjoy being a part of the UniFirst Family!


  10. "Great learning experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DSS in Cookeville, TN
    Former Employee - DSS in Cookeville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UniFirst (Less than a year)

    Pros

    No walls to hold you. Something different everyday.

    Cons

    Paid as a Supervisor a 40 hour salary, worked a minimum of 58 hours a week for nearly a year.
    No lifts on most trucks, so your lifting a 200 pound buggy by yourself. Usually worked over 60 hours a week.

    Advice to Management

    Lift gates on all trucks, benefits were good. Keep the family business atmosphere. Screen your branch managers better before hiring them.

    UniFirst Response

    Jan 14, 2019 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and will take them into consideration.