WD Partners Reviews | Glassdoor

WD Partners Reviews

Updated Jul 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Chris Doerschlag
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great teams, great people with a comfortable office culture(in 8 reviews)

  • "Nice/although always changing work environment (building)(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Ownership and upper management vision do not align causing frequent change and lack of direction(in 6 reviews)

  • "Implementation of a Project Management by non- architectural or engineering professionals(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WD Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent culture and people. Loved working there but needed something else

    Cons

    nothing really except no career progression

    WD Partners2018-04-23
  2. "Good People - Too many yes’ w/o the resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Dublin, OH

    I worked at WD Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great teams, great people with a comfortable office culture.

    Cons

    More work is taken on or agreed to than there are resources for which lead to an incredible amount of persistent overtime. There is a lot of what appears to be say yes now and figure it out later.

    Advice to Management

    Check in with the teams managing and developing the product more often. See where resources are more critical to maintain a better balance with less burn out.

    WD Partners2019-02-26
  3. "no career advancement, CEO misses big picture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WD Partners full-time

    Pros

    Several Senior people to learn from in this ORG. Flex work Fridays is the main benefit of working here. Good PTO.

    Cons

    First, Bad insurance. Second the CEO takes 5-10 Mill a year all while paying his employees as little as possible and blabbing on about irrelevant things at his quarterly meetings. You will work lots of overtime and the managers will feel little to no remorse for asking this of you. There is a reason they typically hire people from out of town. This company is full of type "A" personalities that will use and abuse you...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire better people so the entire crew doesn't have to work so much overtime. This is the reason everybody has been leaving in droves to go to Larson because they do not have to work 60 hours a week there.

    WD Partners2019-03-01
  4. "Mechanical Engineering Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at WD Partners full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great people, steady flow of work

      Cons

      Smaller retail projects become repetitive

      WD Partners2018-07-27
    • "Worst Top management ever seen"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, OH

        I have been working at WD Partners full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Work environment is good and office ambience is nice.

        Cons

        Top management is worst doesn't knows anything technically. No compensation for extra hours n working days. None of the employee are more experienced.

        Advice to Management

        Leave your Ego at home.

        WD Partners2018-07-02
      • "Project Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at WD Partners full-time

        Pros

        Directors are all great. They look out for their teams and try to work with each employees needs and capabilities.

        Cons

        This place is choas. In an effort to keep costs low the office is understaffed and hires/fires people routinely. Employees are moved between projects on a daily basis. Deadlines are missed and mistakes are made. I it demoralizing to be a part of a failing team.

        Advice to Management

        Tone it down on the ERP and listen to project teams. Towards the end of my time I was spending about an hour a day calling every director who would take my call begging for an EE to work on projects which each a month behind. I was told the daily pleading was "part of my job." You'll find those hours billed to my projects.

        WD Partners2018-05-13
      • "manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at WD Partners full-time

        Pros

        nice people and work environment

        Cons

        senior leadership and direction are lacking

        WD Partners2018-05-09
      • "The people are the best and the work is creative and challenging."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Creative Director in Dublin, OH
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at WD Partners full-time

        Pros

        The people are the best thing. We spend more time with each other than our families and the work family here Rocks! The benefits are very good and the typical workday provides a great work/life balance. We give back to our community in many different ways and the company not only encourages it but provides many opportunities to do so. The opportunity for learning is outstanding. There is some kind of Lunch-n-Learn...

        Show More

        Cons

        The communication could be better. Many times someone will get a promotion and people don’t know about it until you read it on the monthly newsletter. This makes no sense because people should be celebrated. Some directors are afraid to provide constructive criticism of my work. The only way we’re going to get better is to be open and honest with each other.

        Advice to Management

        Promote open and honest conversation with employees. The communication between executive level and workers needs to improve.

        WD Partners2018-04-01
      • "Good place to grow and learn for a few years"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at WD Partners full-time

        Pros

        Casual dress code, half day Friday, plenty of independence (projects are not micro managed), collaborative architectural team.

        Cons

        Lack of performance reviews, stagnate salary, MEP teams not willing to help architectural team, very tight budgets that lead to poor quality drawings (all drawings are expected to be completed by associates in Mumbai).

        Advice to Management

        Employees need to be rewarded for individual successes not team successes. The effort put in is never rewarded.

        WD Partners2017-12-27
      • Helpful (2)

        "No for you if you want a career"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at WD Partners full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Good people at the ground level. Nice/although always changing work environment (building). Ok benefits.

        Cons

        This is not a company you want to join if you want a career. If you are looking for something short term to get a couple years of experience, then it might be ok. There is no consistency or planning. Everything is done on a whim or on the emotions of an unstable leadership. The “leadership” does not communicate very well, if at all, and when they do, they talk out of both sides of their mouth. There is no transparency...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Ignoring a problem will not make it go away. If you keep repeating the same mistakes you will never become the company you promise people it can be.

        WD Partners2017-10-30
      Found 67 reviews