Waters Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Waters President and Chief Executive Officer Udit Batra
Udit Batra
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work life balance, decent benefits(in 32 reviews)

  • "Very good benefits and a very laid back place to work(in 27 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "In recent years we have seen a lack of priorities from the top down, poor work/life balance(in 12 reviews)

  • "Upper management was very inconsistent(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Waters and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great people to work with. Company is very diverse. The company is always growing.

      Apr 21, 2021 - Financial Analyst II in Milford, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They care about employee safety. Good compensation, work from home a few days a week.

      Cons

      Don't know of any at this time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The best job of my life.

      Mar 16, 2021 - Chemist Technician in Golden, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At Waters/ERA I came to work every day knowing that my expertise was valued, my hard work mattered, and that I was an essential part of a true team. I've never had a better department manager than Kevin Thompson, nor have I ever worked for a better production/lab supervisor than Amy Ferreira. You know that feeling you get when the people you work with have your back and you have theirs, and you just work side-by-side pleasantly until the day is over faster than you expected? I feel lucky to have been a part of such a great group of people, doing work that challenged me and where I was encouraged to grow by being trusted with important projects. I never felt stressed or micromanaged, and I felt that I could come to my coworkers and managers for support, advice, or just to have a beer after work and laugh.

      Cons

      I only have one con: that it was just too far away from my home and my kids' school, and I wasn't able to move closer, which has nothing to do with Waters/ERA. With COVID, and my kids home from school, I just couldn't make it work. I hope they take me back after this pandemic is over!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      The painful demise of a former giant

      Apr 15, 2021 - Field Service Technician in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company has the capability to deliver industry leading technology to customers.

      Cons

      Under both CEO's of the past 5 years the company has added lot's of VP's and Senior Directors with minimal experience in the industry or their jobs. The company culture has changed from focusing on customer success to everyone in for themselves first, company and customer success second. In the most recent performance management cycle the blame for the bad results of the past five years was pushed down to the employee level, without any accountability by management for a lack leadership and coherent strategy execution. There is no doubt that significant change is required, but leadership seems to be incapable of leading productive change, pushing the organization into chaos and then blaming the employees.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Very good company

      May 4, 2021 - Field Service Specialist II in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, opportunity to travel, challenging work

      Cons

      Training is a little hurried at times

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Room for improvement

      Apr 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Milford, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great colleagues, good variety of projects to work on, above average pay

      Cons

      Work/life balance is non-existent for most employees as Waters does not properly invest in people. Some processes are extremely outdated and cumbersome, making it more difficult to do your job efficiently. They were still using Lotus Notes until Summer 2019. Many mid to senior level managers have zero emotional intelligence, and there are some instances of fear-based management. Luckily I did not experience this directly, but have witnessed it. There is an “always-on” mentality that goes along with the lack of work/life balance. You will often receive requests at all hours of the night just to fulfill a promise someone has made to upper management which may or may not be a priority. Shocking lack of diversity within the company, however I believe this will improve moving forward with the new CEO.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Future Direction?

      May 7, 2021 - Engineer in Milford, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and talented people.

      Cons

      Upper management not in tune with industry needs and too many VPs that provide little or no value added to the business.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Stable and Flexible

      Apr 28, 2021 - Senior Director in Milford, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great technology focus; great co-workers; dedicated leadership team; family focus

      Cons

      Location; lean organization; high workload

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Apr 27, 2021 - Administrative Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work/life balance is very reasonable

      Cons

      Harder to advance to higher role

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work if not motivated by money

      Feb 17, 2021 - Senior Product Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance Coworkers Fun teams and social

      Cons

      Salary not competitive WFH has been tough (no effort by company to be empathetic to those employees, all activity is around scientists and senior managers returning to work) Science and engineering dominated marketing Too many middle managers fighting for their careers and not enabling their direct reports. Nobody is actually empowered/willing to make a decision

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Waters Response

      Senior Director, Global Talent Acquisition

      Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We’re sorry to hear about some of your negative experiences at Water; we respect your perspective and know that perception is reality. We do feel strongly that what you’ve articulated does not represent the environment that many of our employees work within. We do have a balanced mix of tenured & new leaders, who are committed to driving growth at Waters. We have work to do in some areas and will continue to focus on improving so others don’t share your experience in the future. Best, Ryan M

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company

      May 5, 2021 - Engineering Manager in Milford, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Technology expertise and market understanding

      Cons

      Need too much profit. Under invest in potential ideas

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 524 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Waters Job Seekers

    Field Service Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Senior Field Service Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    Ms Field Applications Specialist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Waters? Share Your Experiences

    or