American Express Reviews | Glassdoor

American Express Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6370 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
American Express CEO Stephen J Squeri
Stephen J Squeri
462 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance and extensive office hours(in 244 reviews)

  • "Decentralised processes lead to non availability of complete picture of decision making(in 130 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (72)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    They have fantastic pay for the position you're in, and they teach you interesting and engaging utility of modern technology mixed with legacy fundamentals. I've learned quite a bit while AmEx while getting paid more than fairly - I'd recommend a stretch here to whomever may be reading this!

    Cons

    The Company is huge, and at times it may take more than a little time to get recognized for your abilities and the growth you've had. There's a reason there is a "only way up is out" reputation exists for some enterprise companies...

    Advice to Management

    Do 6-month evaluations with serious consideration for interior promotions before out-side-in hiring. Then hire only at the bottom level (entry). Let tech. decide when/who to promote for tech. because business holds the wallet, but doesn't necessarily know what's best.

    American Express2018-11-26
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Lots of Vacation Time, Bonuses are amazing!

    Cons

    No particular cons. It's a call center- expect to be busy!

    American Express2019-05-23
  3. "Good Employer great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Benefits, good work life balance

    Cons

    Politics, difficult to get promoted in tech,

    Advice to Management

    Promote more people from the inside instead of hiring managers

    American Express2019-05-24
  4. "Great company with huge emphasis on people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compliance Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at American Express full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    It's an all-around solid company. It's the leader in its field, which makes it a relatively stable company to work for. But more importantly, I was blown away by how much they care about their employees. They absolutely put the right amount of effort into ensuring their people are taken care of. There is plenty of opportunity to advance. The only reason I left was because of a career change. Would highly recommend.

    Cons

    Like many large corporations, communication can be difficult and certain institutional practices can become rigid.

    Advice to Management

    Stay flexible and keep up with modern tech trends.

    American Express2019-05-21
  5. "They Really Try"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Amazing work life balance depending on the team/group Senior leadership is active and participated in everything Great exposure to senior leaders They push a collaborative environment with and emphasize on that they have your back

    Cons

    Hard to move internally to another role. This takes time and is all about networking and who you know. Very competitive even when you are going for a lateral role

    Advice to Management

    Put more emphasis on retaining and developing talent.

    American Express2019-05-21
  6. "American Express"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - J2EE Developer in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at American Express full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good work environment, growth opportunities

      Cons

      heavy corporate setting, unstable at times

      American Express2019-05-22
    • "A healthy and positive work Environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Sunrise, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Flexible work hours, great leadership to guide and carve out a great career path for individuals, Gives Engineers freedom to pursue their interests, Along with delivery this company also focuses on its employees and help them in their personal growth.Makes you feel valued.

      Cons

      Working on it. Not worth mentioning

      Advice to Management

      More options for food at the cafeteria..:-)

      American Express2019-05-13
    • "Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Travel Counselor in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at American Express for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Seeing great homes to rent

      Cons

      Attitude of owners at times

      American Express2019-05-13
    • "One of the best employers in Phoenix"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service 
      Recommends
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at American Express full-time

      Pros

      - ability to grow and develop - engages and caring leaders - powerful mission - hands down, best benefits available

      Cons

      - tools and capabilities can be improved, but not a show stopper

      American Express2019-05-13
    • "I am proud to work for Amex"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Team Leader in Sunrise, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at American Express full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      American Express takes care of their employees in so many ways. Aside from the endless benefits, it is truly the best place to work. There are so many career growth opportunities and they invest in their employees. I am so proud to be a Team Leader at American Express which gives me the platform to help others understand the value of the company not only for the members they service but also the value it brings to them...

      Show More

      Cons

      None! I sincerely love my job

      Advice to Management

      I enjoy taking part in townhalls and business updates which enable me to not only understand how the company is performing but also learn what direction we are moving in as well as the role I play in helping the organization grow.

      American Express2019-05-14
    Found 6370 reviews