Aramark Reviews

Updated May 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Aramark Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer Eric Foss
Eric Foss
1,949 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay long hours and that's it(in 198 reviews)

  • "Pretty good benefits, health insurance coverage(in 191 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours but nothing other than that(in 267 reviews)

  • "High turnover in upper management(in 264 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Aramark and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great Work/Life Balance

      Dec 1, 2020 - Operations Manager in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive Salary and Good Benefits

      Cons

      None. Great leadership team in the NW area.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Aramark Response

      Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts on our competitive salary and benefits. Responses such as yours help us to provide a positive work environment for every employee.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing company

      Mar 26, 2021 - Account Executive in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast driven environment and amazing opportunity to earn a great income.

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent

      May 7, 2021 - Night Custodian in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Depends on the management, administration and work ethic of co-workers. The one I work with is good and helpful. He himself helps out, and doesn't just sit at a computer or attend meetings all day, (like some custodial mgmt. I have seen over the years). Cleaning supplies are adequate, and they switched cleaning products to stuff that actually cleans quite well.

      Cons

      Wages are lower than other custodial outfits. Will be hard to attract employees and have them stay on unless they change up some things, esp. wage. Heavy turnover makes it hard and frustrating for everyone. Doesn't look good on company, either. Makes a vicious cycle.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to Start Your Career and Get Experience

      Mar 8, 2021 - Marketing Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is fair for location, benefits are robust, lots of on the job training. PLENTY of career advancement and movement throughout the many sectors of the company, if you have plans to stay at a company for several years or more.

      Cons

      Backpack positions where you have to be 10 positions in one...ie. Marketing Manager in the Aramark Higher Education sector, you'll be marketing, Communications, advertising, social media, graphic design, finance department, innovation, analytics. If you're used to being on a team or within a company that has separate personnel and or departments for everything, this wouldn't be the best position to have. Gets tiresome and has micromanagement aspects that make you feel like a child being helicoptered at work. Pay doesn't feel worth all of the things they have you doing once your hired and see the actual ask of the position. Also, the atmosphere can feel very "old-timey" corporate. Aramark is not terrible but it's not necessarily a "fun, cool" place to work, compared to many companies out there hiring.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      overall alright

      May 3, 2021 - Busser/Runner in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      obviously every location is going to be different based on management, the type of establishment, etc., but I enjoyed my first ~6 months here. Management was nice, inclusive, and had no problem with training and assisting new workers. Even during rush hour, we felt like a team working together. Great place to work if you're working for under a year in a "transitional" period.

      Cons

      Different establishments will vary, but the workers were constantly mistreated by staff following a switch in management, and everything became much more "cold" in the sense of we lost interpersonal connections with our superiors.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Soul-sucking Corporation, low pay, laid off during school breaks

      May 2, 2021 - Catering Supervisor/FOH Supervisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Well-stocked kitchen, solid co-workers, lots of time off, unpaid though.

      Cons

      Our location was known as a "profit-center" to keep staff mindful of our reason for being there. Micromanagement from the corporation in the preparation and inventory of food items. Every food item offered to students had to be weighed or counted before going out on the buffet and again on return to the kitchen. No vacation until after 12 months, and then just one week. Although there was no shortage of days off as we were laid off over spring break, some of the summer, and Christmas holidays. I made 30% less than I thought I would make in the year. I've kept in touch with several of the chefs who left. High turnover. We all agree it was the most depressing work environment we've ever experienced. And then the time clock! You were not allowed to punch in even one minute early. And any additional minutes you worked over from your scheduled time had to be adjusted by a manager.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Awesome gig job

      May 12, 2021 - Beer Hawker in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great commission and good adaptation to COVID restrictions on MLB

      Cons

      No cons just have to get use to lifting 50 pounds of beer up and down stadium seats once you got that down it’s an awesome job

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Summer Job

      May 13, 2021 - Concessions Supervisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      nice work environment; great atmosphere

      Cons

      long hours; weeks on weeks off

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Just ok

      May 15, 2021 - Human Resources Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Large company, good people to work with, can make good wages depending on the line you’re in.

      Cons

      Low pay for some positions, high turnover

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Love working for the students all around the world

      May 1, 2021 - Cooks Helper in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have had a wonderful experience working for aramark, I have worked for th hem for a total of 13yrs, and love meeting people from all over the world

      Cons

      Havnt had to many negative people, but for the most of it all it's a wonderful experience to work for a big university

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 7,230 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Aramark Job Seekers

    Food Service Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Accelerate to Leadership Program
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Aramark? Share Your Experiences

    or