BMC Software Reviews | Glassdoor

BMC Software Reviews

Updated August 14, 2018
1,163 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
BMC Software President and CEO Peter Leav
Peter Leav
133 Ratings

1,163 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance can go for a toss, it depends on the function you are involved though" (in 44 reviews)

  • "Middle management not streamlined enough" (in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Best Employer I have ever had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    BMC is a great company to work for. I love the flexibilty in my schedule and being able to work from home when needed. But in general I enjoy the office in Houston and the people, so I tend to work from there 3 days a week atleast. Its a beautiful facility. Bright, modern and full of amenities. Plus we have some gret activites on site for BMC Cares that help make the culture great while giving back to our community. Because we are a global company, I love being able to talk and work with folks from around the world, but also this helps me to flex my schedule when needed.

    Cons

    None! Fun place to work!

    BMC Software Response

    Jul 31, 2018 – Employee Experience Coordinator

    WOW! What a great review of BMC! We are so proud to hear that you are enjoying your #BMCLife! Thank you for these wonderful words and for taking the time to share your thoughts today.


  2. "Good Momentum building on Strong Heritage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales
    Current Employee - Sales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great term customer relationships and recebt investment in R&D set BMC up for a great future.

    Cons

    We sometimes have to overcome past impressions of BMC as a "mainframe only" company, but that's easy to do once we share our Multicloud Management perspective.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in our technology and our people. BMC is at the forefront of multicloud management.

    BMC Software Response

    Jul 31, 2018 – Employee Experience Coordinator

    Your 5-Star review of BMC today is greatly appreciated. We are so pleased to hear that you are enjoying your time and experience at BMC. Thanks again for your kind words. We also greatly... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "BMC declining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grunt Worker
    Former Employee - Grunt Worker
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    If you are located in California compensation is relatively good because of the competition to find talented people.

    If your home country is India, Mexico, China or Ukraine then there is lots of growth opportunity available for you. BMC loves to invest in these countries because they pay lower wages - the flip side is constant turnover as individuals leave for better paying jobs.

    Numerous people work from home. Termination package is very generous.

    Cons

    It used to be an annual March/April reorg (hint hint firing), now it is also happening October/November. Several years back BMC was bought out to rebuild itself out of the public eye, investors are now keen on getting their ROI hence the twice annual reorgs.

    Sales and SEs are flying out the door for better opportunities. Competitors are chomping at BMC customer base.

    Products are buggy with only recent intention (CEO mandate) to fix them, not uncommon to have defects opened for years.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, because it has to be a winning strategy.


  4. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time

    Pros

    Great company. Fast paced.

    Cons

    Working through acquisition can always be challenging.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Former marketing employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time

    Pros

    Competitive salary, flexibility to work remote, and benefits.

    Cons

    Due to the hierarchical structure, the decision making process in general was painfully slow therefore did not feel empowered as an employee. Lots of operational inefficiencies between the cross functional teams. Promotions to manager position without leadership training results in bad people managers. Career growth opportunities are limited. Frequent layoffs and budget cuts go hand in hand adding to the operational inefficiencies across the board.

    Advice to Management

    Help your people, not your investors.

    BMC Software Response

    Jul 31, 2018 – Employee Experience Coordinator

    We wanted to thank you for taking the time to complete a review today and are disappointed to hear that we did not meet all your needs as a employer. However, we do thank you for your comments and... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Sr. Digital Services Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Digital Service Specialist in Wesley Chapel, FL
    Current Employee - Senior Digital Service Specialist in Wesley Chapel, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Mostly work from Home, not a lot of micro management.

    Cons

    Poor pay, no raises, wish they rewarded loyalty.

    Advice to Management

    Reward employee loyalty, give pay increases.

    BMC Software Response

    Jul 31, 2018 – Employee Experience Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review today. Thank you for your comments and feedback today.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "HR is an absolute Joke and IT is run based on the whims of unqualified managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good work life balance
    Staff camaraderie is quite pleasant

    Cons

    Never ever bring up issues to HR, they are there to screw you and will actually set you on the path to layoff or termination.

    They will defend bad behavior in managers to protect the company and could not care less how it affected you. Yes, you get some disingenuous statements but they do not mean what they tell you.

    The company just felt lost and the staff, in general, just appeared defeated.

    The company feels like they spend more time engineering their finances and not their products.

    Their benefit costs are very high and the overall benefits have been getting stingier over the last five years.

  8. "Senior Product Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at BMC Software full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, innovation, good location at Sunnyvale CA. Friendly working environment.

    Cons

    Cubic space was small.

    BMC Software Response

    Jul 13, 2018 – Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thank you for completing a review today and we are so pleased to see that enjoyed your time at BMC. Your comments regarding our culture, innovation and environment are appreciated. Thank you again... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits, flexible work schedule for some departments

    Cons

    no clear picture on how to move up, when you ask HR for the next level job requirements they can't provide it. If you look at other job openings you have no way of knowing if the job is a move up or the same pay level and again when you try to find out HR is no assistance.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to realize that all departments work together, it only benefits the company when you have a thorough understanding of how other departments interlink to the next. If you want your employees to better themselves then it should be clearly visible what is expected for the next level, or other openings.

    BMC Software Response

    Jul 31, 2018 – Employee Experience Coordinator

    First, we wanted to thank you for completing a review today. While we are pleased to see that you would recommend BMC as a employer, we did want to acknowledge your concerns regarding career... More


  10. "Customer Success Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plano, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good Company to work for

    Cons

    2018 focus was supposed to be on how to make it easier to work with BMC however things have not changed according to Surveys and customer feedback

    Advice to Management

    VP and above need to listen to the folks at the bottom of the food chain a little more for feedback

    BMC Software Response

    Jul 13, 2018 – Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thank you for comments and for taking the time to complete a review today. Your recommendations and feedback will be shared so that we can continue to meet the needs of all of our employees and... More


Showing 1,163 of 1,211 reviews
Reset Filters