Banner Health Reviews | Glassdoor

Banner Health Reviews

Updated December 17, 2017
1,018 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Banner Health President and CEO Peter S. Fine
Peter S. Fine
445 Ratings

1,018 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Good benefits, safe place to practice (in 56 reviews)

  • Great Benefits and awesome pay (in 47 reviews)

Cons
  • A lot of priorities make it challenging to focus on providing excellent patient care (in 39 reviews)

  • Upper Management / administration (in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Psychiatric RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Psychiatric RN in Scottsdale, AZ
    Current Employee - Psychiatric RN in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Banner Health part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Most units have seasoned RN that provide a stabilized environment. Helping the most vulnerable population is rewarding.

    Cons

    Change, change, change! the model of today's healthcare.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to stay available.

    Banner Health Response

    Nov 23, 2017 – Sourcing Strategist

    It’s great to hear about your experience as an employee at Banner Health. We appreciate your feedback and feel privileged to have you as an employee for 5 years! We will be sure to share your review... More


  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Mesa, AZ
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Mesa, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Banner Health full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Very organized.
    Encourages collaboration.
    Always changing but to ensure the best possible outcomes.

    Cons

    Staffing is pretty good but occasionally we go through periods of being short staffed which makes things difficuly. Benefits are good but expensive.

    Banner Health Response

    Dec 12, 2017 – Sourcing Strategist

    We appreciate your taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you are part of the Banner Health team!

  3. "Child Life Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Banner Health part-time

    Pros

    Great Team, collaborative Supportive Supervisors

    Cons

    None really. Can be heartbreaking working with sick children, but is part of the job.

    Banner Health Response

    Dec 9, 2017 – Sourcing Strategist

    Thank you for being part of the team at Banner Health. We appreciate your feedback. So glad to hear your great experience!


  4. "New employee at Banner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN- Psych in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - RN- Psych in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Banner Health full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Working for a big hospital with lots of resources. The coworkers for the most part seem nice. Good staffing ratios

    Cons

    It’s mostly the same cons as working anywhere else in healthcare. It can be stressful at times due to the nature of the field.

    Banner Health Response

    Dec 7, 2017 – Sourcing Strategist

    Welcome to the Banner Health Team!! Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Phlebotomist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I worked at Banner Health full-time

    Pros

    Coworkers were like family, learned a lot, exposed to a variety of units and patients, opportunity to be a part of traumas and codes, managers were very understanding and accommodating to my school schedule

    Cons

    Pay was not very competitive, cafeteria food was eh

    Advice to Management

    Take into consideration your employee's opinions before completely changing the way things are done. You might find there are better ways to accomplish issues.

    Banner Health Response

    Dec 4, 2017 – Sourcing Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your time at Banner Health. I will be sure to share your feedback with the leadership team.


  6. "The glass is half empty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ultrasonographer in Sun City West, AZ
    Current Employee - Ultrasonographer in Sun City West, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Banner Health full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, control of schedule

    Cons

    Micro managing, retaliation, low pay

    Advice to Management

    Advocate for your employees


  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Mesa, ID
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Mesa, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Banner Health full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good benefits, safe place to practice.

    Cons

    Can be overwhelmed with patient load.

    Advice to Management

    Engage in active communication more often.

    Banner Health Response

    Dec 4, 2017 – Sourcing Strategist

    We appreciate your taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you are part of the Banner Health team! We will be sure to share your review with the appropriate leadership team.

  8. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Banner Health part-time

    Pros

    Flexibility and a variety of Hospital to work

    Cons

    Hours are not guarenteed. Would like more shifts near home.

    Advice to Management

    none

    Banner Health Response

    Nov 30, 2017 – Sourcing Strategist

    We appreciate your taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you are part of the Banner Health team!


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager
    Current Employee - Manager
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Coworkers are amazing but completely overworked. Excellent manager. Staff truly cares about the patients despite the reductions.

    Cons

    Administration and significant human resource changes over the past two years. The red tape to get things accomplished is increasing. Computer systems often going down and needing to reboot.. decreasing productivity. Afraid to speak for fear of getting in trouble or having more added to your plate.

    Advice to Management

    Reducing staff and expecting better patient care and hoping to increase staff morale is crazy. Making changes from the behaviors to values is not going to change things. We should always be patient - focused and not 'obsessed'. Managers and staff weary.

    Banner Health Response

    Dec 13, 2017 – Sourcing Strategist

    At Banner Health, we take all feedback very seriously. We would like to know more about what’s behind your review. Please email us at employment@bannerhealth.com to discuss your concerns.


  10. "CNA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CNA
    Former Employee - CNA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Banner Health full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great management and considered employees requests and suggestions

    Cons

    Did not see anything negative about the company

    Banner Health Response

    Nov 30, 2017 – Sourcing Strategist

    We are happy to hear this feedback about your time at Banner Health. Thank you for your review.


Showing 1,018 of 1,051 reviews
Reset Filters