Banner Health Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Banner Health President and CEO Peter S. Fine
Peter S. Fine
846 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly atmosphere good benefits Good compensation(in 87 reviews)

  • "Great benefits in learning advancement(in 73 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "A rather large disconnect from upper management to staff(in 55 reviews)

  • "Lab management shows no support for employees and has a hands-off, uninformed approach to patient care(in 51 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Banner Health and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Love working here

      Oct 27, 2020 - Phlebotomist in Fort Collins, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Of course it depends on the department you are working for, but the lab and phlebotomy tech department has been so welcoming, flexible, and friendly. Part time and full-time receive benefits, there’s so many different incentives to perform well other than your own personal drive to be a part of the healthcare community.

      Cons

      You must be proficient in task management and busy work. Depending on the department you work for you must be able to maneuver through high stress situations as well.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Banner Health Response

      Sourcing Strategist

      Thank you for the feedback on your experience. We strive to provide the best possible work environment for our employees, so this review made our day!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fantastic Company

      May 7, 2021 - Executive Director, Internal Audit Chief Audit Executive in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture - consistently shows they care about team members Innovation - constantly striving to offer integrated healthcare Progressive - settles for nothing less than great

      Cons

      Remote Worker - struggling with concept like many employers

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      May 4, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Tucson, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I started in the Emergency Department as a new graduate and had a wonderful experience working here. The management was extremely supportive and cared about their employees. We were very busy and had all types of patients, but I always felt I had the support and the staff I needed for help. It is a teaching facility and the residents I worked with were all extremely pleasant with the nursing staff. The interdisciplinary dynamic amongst all roles was cooperative and supportive.

      Cons

      The only con I would have about this job was the pay rate, but I also understand the low pay rate, as it was average for all staff RN positions in the state as well as being a new graduate, I understood I started at the lowest rate.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Banner Health Response

      Sourcing Strategist

      We are happy to hear this feedback about your time at Banner Health. Thank you for your review.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Banner Alzheimer’s Institute

      May 3, 2021 - Phlebotomy Coordinator in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Clinical Trials department at Banner Alzheimer’s Institute is a very positive, fun work family. You work independently in the lab mostly doing specimen processing and inventory management. The hours are somewhat flexible and Monday through Friday with no weekends or holidays. There is no daily supervision of phlebotomists. You would just train coworkers interested in learning to draw blood or process specimens. The Clinical trials director will help you achieve your professional goals starting on your first day of work. Management is very open to feedback and asks for it on a regular basis.

      Cons

      Typical hospital raises and bonuses

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Banner Health Response

      Sourcing Strategist

      We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Thank you for being a Banner Health team member. We will be sure to share your review with the appropriate leadership team.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Company appreciates employees

      Apr 27, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Casa Grande, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Does frequent evaluations on staff and managers. They keep staff informed in all parts of the business. I feel part of a team.

      Cons

      We frequently aquire overtime due to providers. I work in family practice, look into 4/10 hour shifts.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Banner Health Response

      Sourcing Strategist

      Thank you for your years of service at Banner Health. We appreciate your feedback. So glad to hear your great experience!

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Poor management, Poor Training, Lots of turn over

      Feb 26, 2021 - Imaging Service Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My paychecks still clear the bank

      Cons

      I have worked for this organization for several years now. I thought as time went on the issues would start to fall away and I would finally hit a groove. Not the case. The turn over of personnel has been horrific. We’ve lost almost half of our experienced engineers in just the past year. When that happens your manager will just dump that guys workload on the people left and expect the same amount of work to be completed. The training has been mediocre at best. As a imaging engineer you would expect to be trained on the systems you work on. Well not at Banner. You are expected to work on everything with little to no training oh and you’re on call and expected to work on the weekends when needed. Banner has now implemented a SOP so that IF they decide to send you to training you will be forced to sign a contract that states you will stay for 2 years or else you will be responsible for paying back the cost of training. Which could possible run 10k-30k or more depending on the modality. Where is the incentive to take on more work???

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Banner Health Response

      Sourcing Strategist

      It is disappointing to hear this. We take all feedback seriously and would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please email us at employment@bannerhealth.com to discuss.

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Administration needs improvement

      May 5, 2021 - Labor and Delivery RN in Glendale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing coworkers, direct patient care, highly rewarding area of nursing, yearly raises, three days a week, support from management (at times).

      Cons

      Support only comes when patient safety is being compromised (not nursing safety), yearly review process puts more work on the staff than management (aka prove you deserve a raise by filling out a paper), and workload is getting heavier and heavier.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Banner Health Response

      Sourcing Strategist

      Thank you for being a Banner Health team member. We appreciate the feedback and are always looking for areas to improve. We will pass this feedback on to our leadership team.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Rn

      May 5, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great start to nursing career

      Cons

      none to mention at this time

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Banner Health Response

      Sourcing Strategist

      We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Thank you for being a Banner Health team member.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      PCA

      May 4, 2021 - Patient Care Assistant (PCA) in Sun City, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Banner Health Response

      Sourcing Strategist

      We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Thank you for being a Banner Health team member.

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Love this job, but it needs more staff.

      Apr 11, 2021 - Registered Nurse, BSN in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been working here since August of 2020 and I have loved almost every moment of it. Everyday I get to see or learn something new. The staff is super friendly and the pay is pretty decent.

      Cons

      The worst part about working here is when they do call outs and understaff our unit. My unit is constantly down a nurse so every other nurse is having to care for more patients.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Banner Health Response

      Sourcing Strategist

      Thank you for your years of service at Banner Health. We appreciate your feedback. So glad to hear your great experience!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,058 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Banner Health Job Seekers

    New Grad RN
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Banner Health? Share Your Experiences

    or