CDW Reviews

Updated May 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
CDW CEO Christine Leahy
Christine Leahy
362 Ratings
Pros
  • "a Healthy Work/Life balance is stressed(in 199 reviews)

  • "Great place to learn and start a sales career(in 103 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Base salary for certain positions is less than average(in 103 reviews)

  • "not enough exposure to different Account Managers unless you go looking for it(in 71 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of CDW and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years
      Featured Review

      CDW gets IT!

      Mar 29, 2021 - Partner Services in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture, benefits and the coworkers are unbelievable! Great company to work for! I have recommended positions to many friends and family.

      Cons

      There are some cases where leadership is stagnant and it would benefit for them to get a new perspective and bring in fresh perspective.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Mature and Strong

      May 6, 2021 - Account Executive in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Well oiled machine, focus on results with room for diversity

      Cons

      I have not been here long, and don't see any cons yet

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      CDW Has Heart and Drive

      Apr 29, 2021 - Principal Field Solution Architect 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CDW is Genuine - CDW may have 10k employees but when you get sincere, thoughtful emails from the CEO Chris Leahy, about solidarity standing against AAPI hate, standing up for LGBT rights, acknowledging coworker hardships and effects of COVID. Whether it's standing up for employee rights, recognizing employee contributions, or providing financial rewards, I see that CDW truly cares. CDW Strives to do and be better - CDW is constantly innovating, acquiring companies to broaden and improve their offerings, being introspective about new capabilities, and encouraging employees to achieve goals that further the company's mission.

      Cons

      Hard-working culture - Work/life balance can suffer at the expense of serving its customers Territorial sales reps - Some reps want so badly to provide a customer a solution, due dilligence and measured approach sometimes fall by the wayside

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company culture post military career

      Apr 27, 2021 - Federal Solutions Manager in Huntsville, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture of this company really is amazing. Leaving the military I heard stories of how people missed the comradery they experienced with teams during their career. I am fortunate enough to work with teams that has the same feel of comradery and still solve problems in the Department of Defense environment. Other pros include: - Benefits package from a Fortune 200 company - Promotion for demonstrated performance and potential (I've been in the company less than two years and promoted twice) - Company culture is inclusive and dynamic - My team is not location based (can live anywhere)

      Cons

      Fortune 200 companies tend to have more governance ... i.e. they move slowly to make decisions so are not as responsive as a small business.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Culture Matters

      Apr 27, 2021 - Business Development/Capture Manager in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers matter and it's proven in myriad ways everyday. Hard work is recognized and rewarded. You are NEVER asked to choose between family or work. We are expected to behave ethically in everything we do, and our leaders do the same. You can always raise your hand for new projects, extra assignments, etc. and are encouraged to learn and take on new roles inside CDW. The mix of longtime and recent CDW Coworkers builds on the power of history, connections and new ideas. When you need help, ask. Someone will answer.

      Cons

      CDW can be more risk averse than some of our corporate peers and that can be frustrating; however, their decisions are all based on what's best for Customers, Coworkers, and Shareholders. Always.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Incompetent management and below market value salary

      Apr 8, 2021 - Sales Support in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home and nothing else

      Cons

      Management does not support workers in any manner. They lie, contradict each other, show no appreciation, and give really low raises. Very high turnover and there is currently a mass exodus of long term employees who are tired of not getting promoted, not being appreciated and being given unmanageable workloads. Management seems like a bunch of robots, trained to use the same sound bites. They constantly tell us how every situation can be turned into a positive; they promise change but do not deliver. It’s a highly dysfunctional environment. The Sales team is rude, demanding, impatient and treats sales support very poorly. I am pretty sure CDW pays people to write “good” reviews because I don’t know anyone who is happy working there. Cheap company, silos their employees, poor internal communication and management will lie to your face. It’s amazing how much money they must spend in onboarding as most employees leave within several years due to low raises and getting passed up for promotion. Horrible place to work.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CDW Response

      Manager, Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. We assure you it does not reflect CDW’s values or corporate culture and take any claims not in line with The CDW Way very seriously. We would like to know more details about your situation, so we can look into this further. I encourage you to contact us via one of the following options: a. CDW Ethics and Compliance Office directly by calling (847) 419-6160 b. Ethics Helpline at (877) 723-9929 or c. Coworker Relations, Sr. Manager Keith Arnold at (312) 547-3028

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Hard Work Noticed, Recognized and Appreciated

      Feb 8, 2021 - Cloud Solutions Specialist in Lincolnshire, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      (1) Outstanding Leadership; I can confidently acknowledge that for the first time since my career began, CDW has shown me what true leadership means. Working with the most considerate and best mentor for the first time has made me appreciate my job and company that much more. (2) Many chances offered to learn and growth development- Regular opportunities provided to further learning and gain new knowledge assisting in said growth are provided often. These lessons make you feel more of an asset to the company. (3) Supportive (Coworkers), who feel more like Team Members, are always working together, free to assist in helping resolve issues, and work as a Team should. (4) Excellent training initially and continue to be challenged by being provided new tasks added to our responsibilities. (5) Positive Atmosphere, Coworker Centric Environment and Value recognized often.

      Cons

      Typical office environment that has nothing to do with our jobs and responsibilities, but people acting unprofessionally from time to time. The type of issue that Management can't do much about and will always be a factor in the workplace environment. *Nothing to deter from the happiness of working for the company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Company with Opportunity for Growth

      May 5, 2021 - Brand Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work Life Balance is great, culture is also very good. Some roles come with a lot of perks, too.

      Cons

      Industry specific politics within the Channel can be a downside

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      CDW is place to make a career and build a life.

      May 3, 2021 - Field Account Executive in Sacramento, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CDW has a strong brand they work very hard to cultivate. This shows in how they treat employees and customers.

      Cons

      We are big and behave like a battleship sometimes but this makes us steady and predictable.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great first sales job

      May 2, 2021 - Account Manager in Cherry Hill, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great training program, you learn so much on the job that will prepare anyone for a career in sales. Lots of perks for being in the office and getting to know the partners

      Cons

      Backend departments are mostly in Chicago, glitchy CRM

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,388 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with CDW Job Seekers

    Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Associate Consulting Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    Inside Sales Account Manager
    Learn About the Job
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at CDW? Share Your Experiences

    or