KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

CN

Is this your company?

CN

Add a Review

CN Reviews

Updated May 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
CN Interim President and Chief Executive Officer Jean-Jacques Ruest
Jean-Jacques Ruest
146 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and lots of good people(in 81 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, great teams to work with(in 46 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "work/life balance is non-existent(in 48 reviews)

  • "long hours/demanding environment and stressful(in 44 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of CN and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Electrician

      Feb 18, 2021 - Electrician in Homewood, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s a good company. Good benefits. Good union

      Cons

      Don’t have any cons really

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CN Response

      Thank you for sharing your positive feedback and for your hard work. We pride ourselves on providing our team members with great compensation and benefits. With a 24/7/365 operation CN could not function without our dedicated employees. We thank you for helping move our business and the economy forward.

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Canadian national

      May 14, 2021 - Freight Conductor in Superior, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay great experience great career

      Cons

      Lots of management and lots of rules you can get in trouble for

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company, great pay , improve upper management.

      May 6, 2021 - Conductor in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay Good benefits Great stocks Pretty diverse Effective Communication

      Cons

      No life outside of work

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CN Response

      Thank you for sharing your feedback and your hard work. We pride ourselves on providing our team members with great compensation and beneifts. When we recruit talent to our operations teams, we spend a lot of time going over the working conditions and the realities associated with the railroad operating 24/7/365 days a year, including how being on call can disrupt your family life and important events. With this 24/7/365 operation CN could not function without our dedicated employees. We thank you for helping move our business and the economy forward.

    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Hard Life

      May 12, 2021 - Locomotive Engineer in Superior, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CN will pay you well

      Cons

      Getting forced all over the system is a hard lifestyle

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      $$$

      May 12, 2021 - Locomotive Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Money money money money money

      Cons

      Poor management style, life work balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      A Fair Opinion

      Apr 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay. Great benefits. Good people. Overall good company

      Cons

      New ideas are not always welcome - change is slow within the company. A big disconnect between mgmt and unions.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CN Response

      Thank you for sharing your feedback and for these years of hard work. We pride ourselves on providing our team members with great compensation and benefits. With a 24/7/365 operation CN could not function without our dedicated employees. We thank you for helping move our business and the economy forward. We hope you share your experience during our regular Pulse surveys so we can develop strategies to do better.

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Just Look At Leadership & Where the Jobs Really Are

      Apr 24, 2021 - Systems Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pension, profit-sharing, great retirement if you can make it 30 years.

      Cons

      Cut-throat management ran by the Canadians. US employees viewed/treated as henchmen.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CN Response

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We pride ourselves on providing our team members with great compensation and benefits. We hope that you shared your thoughts with our colleague during your exit interview so we can develop strategies to do better in the future. With a 24/7/365 operation CN could not function without our dedicated employees. We thank you for your hard work and having helped move our business and the economy forward.

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Say goodbye to family life

      Mar 27, 2021 - Freight Conductor in Battle Creek, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, benefits, retirement. Work outdoors

      Cons

      Schedule is erratic to start. No concern for family life

      1 person found this review helpful

      CN Response

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. We pride ourselves on providing our team members with great compensation and benefits. When we recruit talent to our operations teams, we spend a lot of time going over the working conditions and the realities associated with the railroad operating 24/7/365 days a year, including how being on call can disrupt your family life and important events. With this 24/7/365 operation CN could not function without our dedicated employees. We thank you for your hard work and having helped move our business and the economy forward.

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      It's the railroad

      Apr 15, 2021 - Engineering 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      learn a lot, good benefits and pay

      Cons

      demanding, not much for work/life relationship

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CN Response

      Thank you for sharing your feedback and for your hard work. We pride ourselves on providing our team members with great compensation and benefits. When we recruit talent to our teams, we spend a lot of time going over the working conditions and the realities associated with the railroad operating 24/7/365 days a year, including how being on call can disrupt your family life and important events. With this 24/7/365 operation CN could not function without our dedicated employees. We thank you for having helped move our business and the economy forward.

    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Only good thing is the money

      Mar 2, 2021 - Railroad Conductor in Champaign, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pays Good and has good benefits

      Cons

      Company doesn't care about anything that happens in your family. Unless your kid has died they expect you to be on a train and doing your job. You have no other life or other commitments that are more important. If there is they will fire you in a heart beat.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CN Response

      Thank you for sharing your feedback and for your hard work. We pride ourselves on providing our team members with great compensation and benefits. When we recruit talent to our operations teams, we spend a lot of time going over the working conditions and the realities associated with the railroad operating 24/7/365 days a year, including how being on call can disrupt your family life and important events. With this 24/7/365 operation CN could not function without our dedicated employees. We thank you for helping move our business and the economy forward. Please make sure to share your comments during our regular Pulse surveys so we can continue to develop strategies to do better in the future.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 687 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with CN Job Seekers

    Trainmaster
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at CN? Share Your Experiences

    or