CN Reviews | Glassdoor

CN Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 448 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
CN CEO Jean-Jacques Ruest
Jean-Jacques Ruest
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, friendly staff, knowlegeable colleagues(in 51 reviews)

  • "There is great pay and benefits(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/Life balance needs adjustment(in 32 reviews)

  • "Long hours are mandatory and little compensation is offered in return(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Conductor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CN for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good place to work, great job

    Cons

    I can't think of anything bad

    CN2018-12-27
  2. "Great pay and that's it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Conductor in Battle Creek, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Money money money and that is it

    Cons

    It will be your entire life They dont care about you in any way. You are a warm body.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people right and worry less about your bonus

    CN2019-07-15
  3. "Good pay bad work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carmen in Fond du Lac, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are decent

    Cons

    No weekends or holidays off

    Advice to Management

    Invest in maintenance, tooling, materials, and personnel

    CN2019-07-08
  4. "CN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CN full-time

    Pros

    High salaries is the only pro.

    Cons

    Lack of management and little time off.

    CN2019-06-20
  5. "Great Company, Above Average in all Regards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Train Control Systems Engineer in Homewood, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Pay, Positive Work Environment, Decent Culture. Management is reasonable and perceptive of input Some departments have better work/life balance than others (Engineering and I&T pretty good)

    Cons

    Organizational issues common with large companies Can be difficult to move within company, all major players in Corporate campus (Montreal) Preferential treatment to French Speakers Some management can be poor, business decisions are slow and laborious due to bureaucracy

    Advice to Management

    Honestly you do a great job, really respect our middle managers. Wish that upper management was more cohesive with working with US based employees on capital improvement projects

    CN2019-05-31
  6. "Local management!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Carman 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Second to non retirement plan and health benefits. THAT'S IT!!!

    Cons

    Lack of work life balance. Local management always wanted to show their subordinate who was boss at all cost! It was a toxic and cutthroat environment. Lots of jobs within the company, but if you weren't in good and a yes man you would never move up. Pay wasn't that great after all the railroad tier 1 and tier 2 taxes and retirement. You needed what we called fire insurance which is basically a type of job insurance that...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Bring in fresh blood, people that aren't already corrupt by the toxic environment that exist and get rid of the buddy buddy system. Hire people that are qualified and the best candidates for the job and not your friend that already has issues with other employees.

    CN2019-05-31
  7. "One of the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Railroad Conductor in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, fair management, variety

    Cons

    I had no negative experiences when I was there, but I also like the extra board lifestyle and variety.

    CN2019-05-09
  8. "Exciting job in a growing field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - IT Analyst in Homewood, IL

      I have been working at CN full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      New technology, great people to work with.

      Cons

      Communication between departments could be better.

      CN2019-03-08
    • "C N railway"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Locomotive Engineer 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at CN full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great paying job that changes your lifestyle

      Cons

      Stressful and time consuming

      Advice to Management

      Learn the employees jobs

      CN2019-02-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "Communist company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Maintainer in Chicago, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at CN full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      The job Pays really well The benefits can be relatively good

      Cons

      The company bombards you with liberal propaganda on a daily basis...and threatens your job if you fail to comply

      Advice to Management

      Stop trying to brain wash your employees. That's the job of CNN

      CN2019-02-01
    Found 448 reviews