CommScope Reviews | Glassdoor

CommScope Reviews

Updated September 2, 2017
214 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
CommScope President & CEO Marvin (Eddie) S. Edwards, Jr
Marvin (Eddie) S. Edwards, Jr
79 Ratings

214 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Work/life balance here was excellent (in 9 reviews)

  • They pay and benefits are great, but will not make up for the complete lack of work life balance (in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at CommScope full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great boss, coaching me a lot.

    Cons

    I don't see any cons

    CommScope Response

    Aug 9, 2017 – Content Marketer

    Thank you for your review. CommScope team members are our most valuable assets. We're proud of our work environment where all are welcome to work together and succeed.


  2. "My thoughts on working at CommScope (Formerly Andrew Corporation)."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CommScope full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    They have an awesome compensation package and incentives for top performers. Recognition is 5-Stars!

    Cons

    It's like the ole boy's club in the Chicagoland area. Be ready to fight your way to the top if you are a woman.

    Advice to Management

    Train your management team on how to lead an effective team and recognize the top performers as often as possible. Lift up instead of tearing down.

    CommScope Response

    Sep 5, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your honesty. We are sorry to hear of your experience. At CommScope, our people are our most fundamental resource. Diversity in thought—and action—is not only welcome but encouraged... More

  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CommScope full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, good people.

    Cons

    Smaller facilities get lost in the shuffle.

    CommScope Response

    Aug 2, 2017 – Content Marketer

    We strive to be competitive in our industry and offer the best to our employees, so it's great to hear of your positive experience at CommScope.


  4. "Fun place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CommScope full-time

    Pros

    Global leading in telecommunication. A lot of projects to work on.

    Cons

    Advance internal careers.

    CommScope Response

    Aug 2, 2017 – Content Marketer

    Thank you for your review. We encourage all employees to discuss career growth opportunities with their managers. Growth is important to us at all levels, and your manager is here to help map out any... More


  5. "Commscope is a good commpany"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Coordinator in China, NY
    Current Employee - Human Resources Coordinator in China, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CommScope full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Work in commscope very happy and learn a lot .

    Cons

    Just suggestion. Commpany can add more activty during our work gap.

    CommScope Response

    Aug 2, 2017 – Content Marketer

    Thank you for the positive feedback. At CommScope, you choose to work with a collection of experts, and we appreciate your delight.


  6. "Engineering leadership and opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Engineering
    Current Employee - Vice President Engineering
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CommScope full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    CommScope does a great job with their high potentials making sure they continue their pursuit for higher learning. They provide opportunities to partner with local Universities. These opportunities are invaluable as the best professors are selected to partner with CommScope's high potential team.

    Cons

    None to report at this time.

    CommScope Response

    Aug 2, 2017 – Content Marketer

    We're so happy to hear and couldn't agree more! When you join CommScope, you become part of a team of leaders, and we're honored to have you on board.


  7. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Shakopee, MN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Shakopee, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CommScope full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good market capture, good benefit, strong leadership

    Cons

    Poor HR Leadership, old school on policies

    CommScope Response

    Jul 18, 2017 – Content Marketer

    Thank you for your honest feedback. We aim to foster an environment where each person is heard. Hearing the pros and cons of working at CommScope will help us become better moving forward.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Simplicity Goes Out the Door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CommScope full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Has excellent PR as being innovative and flexible. Some locations provide gyms with personal trainers.

    Cons

    In reality, took simple tasks and made them more complicated in order to stick to "the CommScope way" instead of being open minded to all available solutions. Policies reflect a conservative political environment. Locations are inconsistent with benefits offered to employees.

    Advice to Management

    HR hires many unqualified people based upon a familiar relationship or a piece of paper that indicates the person had knowledge business decades ago. At the same time, they lay off loyal employees when they stick around long enough to earn a higher salary.

    CommScope Response

    Aug 2, 2017 – Content Marketer

    Firstly, we appreciate your review and your honesty. In order to provide a better response, we are wondering if you would be interested in providing more information related to your concern about... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Paranoid about Failure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Richardson, TX
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Richardson, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CommScope full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    * Company is very well managed from a business perspective
    * Revenue reported to be low but many times ended up with a record high
    * Very innovative technology
    * Management not afraid to develop innovative new products
    * Management made mixture of onshore and offshore talent work

    Cons

    * Management had lack of understanding of how quality software is made
    * This lack of understanding lead to unrealistic deadlines
    * No software product management made it impossible to give accurate estimates
    * Only focused on product, and not on employee development

    Advice to Management

    * Manage new products better with clear exit criteria given to engineering
    * Move key RF engineering positions back to the US to ensure the IP is protected
    * Keep innovating!

    CommScope Response

    Jun 13, 2017 – Content Marketer

    Thank you so much for your honest feedback. At CommScope, you choose to work with a collection of experts, and we appreciate your delight. Furthermore, we want you to know that your advice to... More


  10. "good people at local office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at CommScope full-time

    Pros

    good people to work with

    Cons

    can't really think of any serious cons


Showing 214 of 225 reviews
Reset Filters