CommScope Reviews

Updated May 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
CommScope President, Chief Executive Officer Chuck Treadway
Chuck Treadway
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours and good work life balance(in 33 reviews)

  • "Great Work Environment and Coworkers(in 29 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management does not listen to the employee's advise(in 12 reviews)

  • "Many young professionals are looking to climb the ladder, not work under a manager with old-school methods who hasn't changed anything in 30 years(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of CommScope and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      GAM

      Apr 23, 2021 - Global Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, opportunity, leadership and great morale

      Cons

      Changes, acquisition, restructuring, siloed business units

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Great company, good opportunities, steady performance

      Mar 22, 2021 - VP-Sales in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very reputable position in the market, well respected by customers and feared by competitors. Long track record of always delivering a solution when other vendors have abandoned some product lines. Better-than-others capacity to deliver high-volumes with aggressive timelines, especially for large-scale project. Excellent opportunity to cross-sell and build long-lasting relationships in the market.

      Cons

      CommScope has taken a risk-averse market approach preferring a solid financial outcome above being a true industry innovator. Being the #2 in technology development / introduction has saved the company a lot of money (and risk) but has lost the competitive edge of defining the path of technology evolution. The company is in many many telecom segments (5G, wired, wireless, cabling, fiber, consumer devices, IP networks, software, pro-services, ...) and it is difficult to build an all-encompassing market strategy, so there are a lot of isolated product-specific strategies ("silo effect"). Besides, some "old" technologies are still very profitable so there is no urgency to speed up development of more affordable technology.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      CommScope Response

      Global Head of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate when former employees speak up about their experiences at CommScope. We take your feedback to heart as it's important to us to listen and learn from others experiences. Thank you.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Solid Company

      Apr 29, 2021 - Analyst, Sales Operations in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people, interesting work, great 401K

      Cons

      Advancement is slower than I would have liked.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Just a number

      Apr 26, 2021 - QA Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Average pay and benefits, nice working environment, good people

      Cons

      No opportunities for advancement, you are seen as a statistic or number, not as an individual contributor. Excellent yearly reviews mean nothing when it comes to layoffs.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      DON'T

      Apr 5, 2021 - Systems Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      there's very little to cheer about

      Cons

      30% annual attrition rate, no one left to create new products or fix buggy code. They implemented a structured sales comp plan designed to NOT pay out or incent and wonder why the sales and SE's are leaving (everyone's looking). They decelerate you all the way up to 100%, in fact you can make 75% of your monthly number and only get a small fraction of your commision. They hold money for up to 14 months etc... they have a milage program designed not to reimburse you for milage...... anything to save a buck and stick it to the employees and pay for their company jets, yes they are THAT kind of company.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      CommScope Response

      Global Head of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your frustration with the pay/benefits at CommScope. As a global leader, we aim to be competitive and offer the best compensation to our employees. We take this feedback seriously and will share with the sales compensation team. If you want to provide us with additional information and context around your situation, we are happy to listen further. Please send an email to TalentAcquisition@commscope.com with your name, location and a description of the issue. Once again, thank you for your honest feedback. We look forward to continuing the conversation at your convenience.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company to work for

      Apr 16, 2021 - DC Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Care about the people its a people Company

      Cons

      People don't really care about the Company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company

      Apr 15, 2021 - Vice President Sales in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong market presence and leadership team

      Cons

      Becoming a little too political

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Professional, high-integrity work environment

      Feb 8, 2021 - R&D Manager in Richardson, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Professional, respectful colleagues and managers. Real commitment to integrity... non just a buzzword. Competitive pay and benefits. Company is large and diverse enough that there is always some business in some region that is growing.

      Cons

      CommScope is good enough to engineers and engineering managers that voluntary departures are rare. While this is great for stable, productive teams, it can limit advancement opportunities if you are stuck in a business that is flat. It can be even worse if you are stuck in a declining business because headcount cost reductions to balance revenue declines can only be achieved involuntarily.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      None

      Apr 29, 2021 - Technical Support Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      An average company to work, not much growth

      Cons

      so many changes in leadership

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      only if you're young with little experience

      Apr 20, 2021 - Paralegal 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      decent salary for the position

      Cons

      terrible benefits; focus on young with limited experience; discriminates against older/long tenured employees; antiquated work rules; poor electronic tools; takes too long to make decisions, if they make a decision at all

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CommScope Response

      Global Head of Talent Acquisition

      CommScope is committed to being an excellent place to work by listening to feedback from various channels. While this review regarding our compensation, benefits and work environment concerns us, we appreciate your bringing this to our attention as we strive to continuously improve our work experience for all employees. At CommScope, our people are our most valuable resource. Our goal is to provide a positive environment for our employees so that they can bring their authentic, best self to work.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 590 Reviews

    Popular Careers with CommScope Job Seekers

    Director, Quality
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at CommScope? Share Your Experiences

    or