Compass Education Reviews | Glassdoor

Compass Education Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Art Sawyer
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "It's a great part-time gig, and the tutoring work with students is mostly very rewarding(in 5 reviews)

  • "Very quick turnaround on calls or emails to office staff(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "A lot of unpaid driving time to students houses(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "This tutor's perspective? Fantastic company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor in Beverly Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Compass Education part-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Comprehensive training, superlative curriculum, supportive office staff, good pay, good colleagues

    Cons

    L.A. traffic, no mileage compensation, sometimes demanding clientele

    Compass Education2018-12-14
  2. "Great job, but not enough hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Math Tutor in Beverly Hills, CA

    I worked at Compass Education part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tutoring high school students is a wonderful job. It was fulfilling and always exciting.

    Cons

    Compass only assigned me a few students at a time. In a typical week, I would have between two and four tutoring appointments -- each of them 90 minutes long (plus driving time, but that isn't paid, although sometimes they give you a tiny bonus for doing a long drive). So in a typical week I was working between 3 and 6 hours; before finals or a big test it might be as much as 10 hours.

    Compass Education2018-12-04
  3. "Math Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Compass Education part-time

      Pros

      Part time gives me freedom. Also they give you great tools to succeed, and a very clear syllabus to follow for all programs. the full time staff gives you great advice and helps create a successful atmosphere

      Cons

      Not getting compensated for gas

      Advice to Management

      compensate gas

      Compass Education2018-10-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "Better than most"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Tutor 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Compass Education for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Good pay relative to other companies

      Cons

      bad pay relative to what they charge clients

      Advice to Management

      Share the wealth! Also, foster more interactions among tutors.

      Compass Education2018-06-23
    • "Easily the best tutoring place I've ever worked"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Tutor in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Compass Education part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      I've worked as a tutor for four years, and Compass is far and away the best company I've worked for. They care about their tutors and students, and they go out of their way to provide support and opportunities to work in addition to teaching (test proctoring, essay grading, etc.). They also do a great job of pairing you with students and preparing you to work directly with families. Seriously, no other tutoring company...

      Show More

      Cons

      The driving and scheduling can sometimes be frustrating, but it comes with this type of job, and the staff and students more than make up for it

      Advice to Management

      Keep it up!

      Compass Education2018-06-11
    • "Tutor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Tutor 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Compass Education part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Very supportive and knowledgable staff in the office, lots of opportunity to learn more and expand tutoring subjects.

      Cons

      The company is great! It's the nature of the job itself that can get tiresome during busy times like during finals.

      Compass Education2018-06-10
    • "Tutor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Compass Education part-time

        Pros

        Very helpful leadership and training program.

        Cons

        Commutes can be far depending on location

        Compass Education2018-05-30
      • "Tutor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Compass Education part-time

          Pros

          Great materials and steady hours. Nice support from office. Flexibility.

          Cons

          Driving. Sometimes a good distance apart.

          Compass Education2018-03-17
        • "Excellent culture and excellent management"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Compass Education full-time

          Pros

          Great management team, co-workers and culture

          Cons

          None that I can think of

          Compass Education2017-09-27
        • Helpful (1)

          "Great part-time gig"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Compass Education part-time

          Pros

          Management is really nice, supportive, and engaged with both you and your students. Easy company to work for. Then, the same pros you choose tutoring -- flexible schedule, fairly good pay for a part-time job that you don't have to put a lot of thought into.

          Cons

          It gets a bit maddening to drive from house to house to house after a while, and of course you're not reimbursed for travel expenses.

          Compass Education2017-07-19
        Found 48 reviews