Discover Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Discover CEO Roger Hochschild
Roger Hochschild
410 Ratings
Pros
  • "good work-life balance given the salary(in 287 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and company culture(in 268 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Hard to have a work life balance(in 57 reviews)

  • "Very political and not diverse in upper management(in 40 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Discover and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years
      Featured Review

      A company that cares!

      Jan 19, 2021 - Senior Manager IT in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked for Discover for 20+ years. They have an excellent culture, and stick to the motto "Do the right thing". Throughout my tenure they have shown time and time again how they care for their employees. I would highly recommend working for this company.

      Cons

      Financial services company that services credit cards and loans

      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Innovation Friendly

      May 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work hours, inclusive culture.

      Cons

      Did not find any. No cons for me....

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Job

      Apr 26, 2021 - Customer Service Associate in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Honestly really nice happy employees. They go out of their way to help you and give you tools to help. They have so many activities and programs designed to help yyou with your mental health and stable you life outside of work. So many chance to win extra money and good pay.

      Cons

      Benefits could use a little work for sure you would think such a big company would have amazing benifits but they are okay. Dental is the worst you may as well not have any. The training could be a little more flexible and my trainer acted like a nice person but he wasn’t and it did come out. I’m glad he didn’t have the authority to fire me . I had some issues with the technology that wasn’t my fault and he still managaged to make me feel like I was blowing it. And lost patience with me when I got scared my first time on phones , I didn’t feel like I was given the proper tools for my first time , but I got there and it’s better now.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      May 6, 2021 - Cyber Security Engineer in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Value work, feel like i'm making an impact on the org

      Cons

      Disconnect between what engineers want to do vs what higher ups are making us do. Salary is lower than other Financial Services companies. WL/B is tough in covid, especially being apart of BT.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      10 years at company with no appreciation

      Feb 12, 2021 - Project Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent benefits. Work life balance was respected

      Cons

      Leadership was terrible. Everyone is out for themselves climbing the corporate ladder. People constantly took credit for my work. They make it seem like they care about their people but anytime you ask for something like a flexible work arrangement which is in the policy it gets rejected. My bonus was frequently cut due to others not fulfilling goals even if I exceeded mine. Management changes so often that you constantly have to build a new relationship and prove yourself. The people that are promoted are typically the “yes m’am” people. They just agree with everything leadership tells them with little innovation or individual thought. Interviewing internally was terrible. Very often no one would ever get back to you or give any feedback. The company really has gotten mush worse in the last few years. Many talented people are leaving and finding that Discover is no longet the great place it once was. There are pockets of good leadership and good departments but with the rotations you never know who you’ll get next. The worst thing would be that leadership would make major decisions without consulting with the front line employees or getting any feedback and make bad decisions. You just end up feeling like you don’t matter, the decision is out of your hands anyways. Also, you can do a hundred things right, and not hear about it since your leadership takes all credit for you but you make one mistake and you will see it in a review or PIP without any discussions. This place has become such a terrible dump. Run

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work but not accommodating to work life balance

      May 4, 2021 - Senior Collection Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, Paid Time Off, Good Group of Employees and Managers

      Cons

      Although been efficient with working at home for over a year now, isn't offering me a long time continuation of working from home in another state I am moving to.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company, Hard job

      May 6, 2021 - Customer Service Supervisor III in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company pays great and the people are amazing. If you really stick to it you can move up quick

      Cons

      It can be hard on the phones all day.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      As corporations go, this one is quite good.

      Apr 24, 2021 - Director of Engineering in Riverwoods, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Responsible company, concerned about customer satisfaction, strives to do the right thing for the customer.

      Cons

      Politics. Some in leadership are just out for themselves. They don't cooperate with others. They just want to make their own numbers (or look like they did).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Save your mental health

      Apr 26, 2021 - Account Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nothing other than the benefits

      Cons

      Everything about this company is drastically affecting people's mental health they do not care about your physical or mental health they do not care about your well being your personal life they do not give you stats that you can actually measure and obtain and the management as far as coaches team leaders direct managers all are horrible what they do they do not train properly And it takes a huge hit on you that your not trained properly they don't give you proper tools to do your job it make sure that your protected on what you are doing and then punish you for not having correct tools

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      It's okay

      May 7, 2021 - Human Resources Manager in Deerfield, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many great employees who are dedicated to excellence.

      Cons

      Very political, a lot of backstabbing and taking credit for your work. If you're liked, you'll advance. If you go against the grain, you will be managed out of the business or decide to seek employment elsewhere.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,443 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Discover Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Discover? Share Your Experiences

    or