FireEye Reviews | Glassdoor

FireEye Reviews

Updated Apr 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
51%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
FireEye CEO/Board Member Kevin Mandia
Kevin Mandia
210 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lack of 401k matching is "offset" by stock options(in 39 reviews)

  • "No 401k matching currently available, but offset through other benefits(in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 

    I worked at FireEye full-time

    Pros

    Mostly great people and good culture

    Cons

    unsure future and always working through a transition

    Continue reading
    FireEye2020-03-05
  2. "Mixed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FireEye full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people, especially leadership, are very nice and approachable.

    Cons

    A lot of politics between the business. Region leaders have their own politics that affect everyone below. Some leaders heavily play favorites.

    FireEye2020-03-27
  3. "Solid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FireEye full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great technology, some amazing people

    Cons

    Do not have a growth mindset

    FireEye2020-03-05
  4. "Joining FireEye - A big mistake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Milpitas, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FireEye full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I don't find pros, I regret that I joined the company.

    Cons

    People in management has too much power and they take advantage of your visa status. Manager in the company talks rudely and tell you openly that he will get you fired if you don't whatever he says.

    FireEye2020-04-02
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Keep off this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Milpitas, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FireEye full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment, work life balance

    Cons

    No vision, no direction, no brain storming

    Continue reading
    FireEye2020-03-09
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Good benefits don't offset terrible trajectory and environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FireEye full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive salaries, good health plans, unlimited PTO, cool products, good industry to be in, nice office perks, WFH options

    Cons

    Layoffs every 6-9 months that butcher morale and conveniently eliminate good employees, overlooking people who are terrible. Guess leadership expects the good ones left behind to pick up the slack for everyone. People leave left and right to escape the sinking ship. Leadership and organizational changes seemingly every quarter, combined with always-changing business strategies (attempts to remain relevant as FEYE falls behind competitors). If our leaders don't even want to stick around, why should average employees? R&D priorities are constantly being changed, months-long efforts and investments are killed at the drop of a hat. Revenue-generating products are gutted, hiring all goes to India. Lack of 401k matching is "offset" by stock options... Go look up FEYE stock price. Lots of internal politics and all that comes with it.... Can't count how many times I've heard newer employees ask "Is this normal here?"

    Continue reading
    FireEye2020-03-04
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Hire layoff cycle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff DevOps Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FireEye full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They pay pretty well and the non upper managers are very knowledgeable and great coworkers.

    Cons

    Upper management is out of touch with what is going on where the work is being done.

    Continue reading
    FireEye2020-02-08
  8. "Might be great when good enough would do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FireEye full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Industry leading intelligence and services. Gold standard in breach response

    Cons

    Marketplace can’t appreciate the excellence. Good enough, is, well, good enough.

    FireEye2020-02-06
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milpitas, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FireEye full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits, Health Plan, Dental Plan

    Cons

    Management takes rash decisions many times No 401K match

    FireEye2020-02-24
  10. Helpful (6)

    "FireEye id dying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FireEye full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexibility, free snacks, food , PTO

    Cons

    Completely hopeless strategy. Just trying to keep up the revenue and the company up float. Even if they try hard, they are not going anywhere.. the products are dying, no execution capability, And they don't lay off the people that had destroyed the product instead they lay off good people that would actually make a difference.

    FireEye2020-02-07
Found 531 reviews