Groupon Reviews

Updated May 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Groupon CEO Rich Williams
Rich Williams
765 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Communication from Upper Management can be missing in certain situations regarding changes or organization updates(in 79 reviews)

  • "Does not pay in comparison to other sales jobs and it seems as the company doesn’t always have the merchants best interests in mind(in 67 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "A Great Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Operations Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Groupon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and the ability to work from home when needed Unlimited time off policy Free shuttle to office from many train lines, both Metra and CTA Great people who share Groupon's values Positive work environment and culture Tons of opportunities for internal advancement Focus on training opportunities Good perks and benefits overall

    Cons

    Employees moved from one business unit to another may not be in the correct salary bracket and may need to work with new managers/HR to ensure fair compensation on new team

    Groupon2020-01-20

    Groupon Response

    January 21, 2020Human Resources Representative

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're so happy to hear that you're loving our perks! We're really proud of our flexible environment and how we've cultivated a culture that promotes a positive work-life balance. We agree— our internal mobility program is a great resource to discover new advancement and development opportunities. You're right, a critical part of internal mobility (and our process at Groupon) is ensuring compensation is appropriately adjusted. Thank you again for sharing your feedback, and for all that you do here at Groupon!

  2. "Great work life balance"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer-II 

    I have been working at Groupon full-time

    Pros

    great work life balance at Groupon

    Cons

    company direction of Groupon is questionable

    Groupon2019-12-02

    Groupon Response

    February 7, 2020Human Resources Representative

    Thanks for sharing your feedback on our engineering team! We're really proud of our flexible working environment and our mission to become the daily habit in local commerce— we're happy to have you along for the ride. Thank you again for everything you do for us here at Groupon!

  3. "Solid Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groupon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Place to be in

    Cons

    No clarity from the leadership on next big thing.

    Groupon2020-05-30
  4. "Good people, even in tough times"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groupon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    DNA of the organization = good humans who are smart. Engineering resources are top notch. Moved effectively and in a supportive way to work remote as Covid-19 impacted the company. When layoffs happened as a result of economic conditions, company leadership stayed respectful and empathetic in the face of a tough situation. New leadership is closely focused on priorities, staying transparent and leading change.

    Cons

    It's hard work to change; so this is a place for decisive, courageous people who can solve problems in ways they haven't been solved before.

    Continue reading
    Groupon2020-05-28
  5. "Fun company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Groupon full-time

    Pros

    It’s a fun company to work for, they have a lot of volunteer opportunities and great coworkers

    Cons

    They lay off people easily and without a warning

    Groupon2020-05-28
  6. "Collaborative"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Business Analytics Manager 

    I have been working at Groupon full-time

    Pros

    it is a collaborative culture

    Cons

    difficult time right now, uncertain of return to office

    Groupon2020-05-28
  7. "Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Business Development Representative in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Groupon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    culture, teammates, group outings, and culture

    Cons

    its sales and its annoying

    Continue reading
    Groupon2020-05-27
  8. "Some great teams, but company on downward trajectory"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Santa Clara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Groupon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great managers and engineers at the IC level Lot of autonomy

    Cons

    Company is going down quickly Bureaucratic

    Groupon2020-05-20
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Lost its Luster"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineering Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Groupon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ability to influence immediate vicinity (some autonomy); interesting projects to work on.

    Cons

    Too much political maneuvering at senior leadership level; lack of vision at executive level; not enough cohesiveness across leadership

    Groupon2020-05-26
  10. "Things move slowly"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Groupon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Great team. * Amazing opportunities to learn from

    Cons

    * Things move really slowly

    Groupon2020-05-11
Found 2562 reviews