IBM Java Developer Reviews | Glassdoor

IBM Java Developer Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 84 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
34 Ratings
  1. "Great palace to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Java Developer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    Work Culture, Flexibility in working hours.

    Cons

    I was woking as a contractor. Chances of converting full-time is low.

    Continue reading
    IBM2019-07-25
  2. "Works well if you want job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Java Developer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Job Security, Good culture, Good work Life balance

    Cons

    Slow Growth, Non-competetive salary, Lots of legacy projects

    Continue reading
    IBM2019-06-27
  3. "Solid pay, but not a great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Java Developer in Durham, NC

    I have been working at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    Some managers will work to implement good agile and/or xp work flows Pay is decent (for a contractor without benefits) Not super stressful depending on your manager

    Cons

    Corporate level puts pressure on managers to stifle agile flow and make XP nearly impossible to implement Contract to hire employees who have not left or been let go have not been hired on as full time employees after years of contract work Virtually no developer communication with end users of products High level management decisions lead to months of work on products that will never be sold. These kinds of decisions have resulted in mass layoffs without regard to employee performance Lack of onboarding process leads to months of wheel-spinning before figuring out what's going on

    Continue reading
    IBM2019-05-01
  4. "Java developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Java Developer in Armonk, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work culture, flexible timings, WFH

    Cons

    salary hike is less. less appraisal, no transport

    Continue reading
    IBM2018-04-06
  5. Helpful (12)

    "IBM GBS Baton Rouge is a very sad place to be..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Java Applications Developer in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training and only if you like video lectures.

    Cons

    - HR will tell you whatever you want to hear just to sign you in. - Pay range is a way below industry average for new and experienced hires. So if you have some skills go elsewhere. - Benefits are weak, just like the salary. - If you are a tech person or if you have coding skills this place is not for you. Majority of resources have Liberal Arts Degree and have nothing to do with tech. They are the reason why center is capable of keeping compensation to its employees so low. I have an App Developer in my team who has no dev skills and has a History Major and you will be expected to help him to do his job. Expect your work-life balance to struggle. - Favorite topic of 80% of people in the center is :"I can't wait to get out." which is sad, because it is IBM. - People don't stay too long, especially if it is a skilled individual. - You will be running around the center in search of the project. And yes, you have to find your own projects and this is not easy. It is like you have a job and your job is to find a job. Not easy because of the damaged reputation of the center among other IBM practices. -Traveling is expected to be 50% , in reality you will travel 100% and it is exhausting. - Ethics of the upper management is a very questionable subject. - Managers are not aware who they hired and what skills their people have, which is sad.

    Continue reading
    IBM2017-09-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Another big company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Java Developer in Austin, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are mostly nice.

    Cons

    Poor planning. They laid off ALL the contractors and then had to rehire a lot of them. How many good people moved on in the process?

    Continue reading
    IBM2017-01-21
  7. "Java programming is jobs in IBM companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Java/J2EE Developer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I want change my life in good company in new York

    Cons

    I have challenge to work in IBM companies for Java programming

    Continue reading
    IBM2016-11-28
  8. "Job title"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Java/J2EE Developer in Armonk, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Environment.to work for .

    Cons

    Nothing to say everything is good

    Continue reading
    IBM2016-06-30
  9. "IBM Blue Consultancy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Java Developer in Columbus, OH
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at IBM for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits The bosses don't care much so you can do what ever you want

    Cons

    Long waiting time not career oriented

    Continue reading
    IBM2016-04-15
  10. "Senior Java Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Java Developer in Seattle, WA
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You can work virtual and there are a lot of different things you can do.

    Cons

    They don't pay as well as some and I got laid off after 17 years and only got 1 month severance.

    Continue reading
    IBM2016-03-15
Found 84 reviews