Lower Reviews | Glassdoor

Lower Reviews

Updated Feb 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
96%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great work environment and a friendly atmosphere(in 10 reviews)

  • "I could go on forever but this is a great company to look at when considering a career move(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great atmosphere to do great work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lower provides a great atmosphere and company culture that allows me to reach my income goals and help people while doing so. I am excited to be a part of the future vision and growth of this company.

    Cons

    Nothing that comes to mind as of now

    Lower2020-02-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing First Year!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Lower

    Pros

    Company is super fast growing which is a fun experience. It forces you to move outside of your comfort zone and learn, adapt, and evolve quickly. There is a ton of opportunity to advance your career as a result. Leadership opportunity is abundant. There is an opportunity to make well above the average income here if you are focused and driven. Culture is fun, exciting, lots of energy. It’s what you would expect a Dotcom startup to be like. The people here are a lot of fun to work with. Great place to make friends.

    Cons

    Stressful. The same aspects that make this a great place to work also make it a stressful place to work. Lots of change happening frequently and at a fast pace.

    Continue reading
    Lower2020-01-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "401k match"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company Culture. Competitive opportunities. Young company. Good work life/social balance.

    Cons

    Our 401k match is almost nothing. If I mention our 401k match to any body I know that is in HR, they are in disbelief. It can't be real. Lower presses that it is the industry average but it most certainly is not. It is drastically less than any industry out there. I came from a different lender because of the pros and opportunity this company has to offer, while the 401k match is certainly not one of them. One of the only things I miss at the previous firm I was employed by.

    Continue reading
    Lower2020-02-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Chill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time

    Pros

    This place is super cool

    Cons

    None really, it's great tbh

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-12-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company Headed in a Great Direction!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I will start by saying that I thoroughly enjoy coming to work every day! You can definitely see that management cares about your career growth and success. The company holds a monthly leadership development series where they bring in an influential speaker to talk on a variety of leadership topics to promote self-development. To me, this speaks volumes! In addition, the overall environment and culture of the company is very positive and uplifting. Everyone truly enjoys being with their colleagues and it shows! I could go on forever but this is a great company to look at when considering a career move.

    Cons

    I have been with the company for about a year and have not found any true cons to working with Lower.com. The company gives you the tools to succeed, it is all up to you how you use them!

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-11-06

    Lower Response

    November 8, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thanks for leaving your feedback and taking advantage of our leadership development series! We enjoy seeing our employees develop their leadership skill set.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A Great Place to Start and Build your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I started with Lower right after college and 6 years later I'm still learning new things and advancing my career. If you're a hard worker, optimistic, and eager to learn, new opportunities will continue to come your way. The culture here is second to none and it's not just because of the happy hours, ping-pong tables, leaving early on a Friday’s, etc. It's because management and your co-workers actually care about you and want you to be happy and successful.

    Cons

    The industry is fast pace and to stay on top of it companies need to constantly evolve. This leads to frequent changes. Depending on how you look at it, this can be positive or negative. I've seen many co-workers embrace the changes and it's led to new roles and responsibilities for them.

    Lower2019-11-06

    Lower Response

    November 8, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    We value the development of our team because we care! Once a month, we have an influential speaker come to the office to present on a topic relating to self-development. These topics include emotional intelligence, leading a healthy life, and having a high level of communication skills. Thanks for your feedback!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Culture of innovation with unlimited potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Any new career or job will become your 'home away from home.' It's a simple and honest fact that in our working years, we will spend a significant amount of our lives at work. This company recognizes, appreciates, and embraces that by cultivating a winning culture in the workplace that exceeds expectations in workplace satisfaction. From the design of the work space itself, to the tone of messaging from top leadership down, Lower exudes an environment conducive to innovation. Thought leadership is welcomed and encouraged from all voices within the company's walls - no matter the title or tenure of the employee. We value and appreciate what makes our employees unique and successful, and aim to amplify and celebrate those characteristics as part of our culture. You will be hard-pressed to find another team environment as fun or exciting than the one being built at this fin-tech. Leadership is never complacent with the status quo, and expects the same of their employees in providing life-changing customer experiences.

    Cons

    I have been at this company for only a few short months and have yet to identify situations or issues that I'd personally consider a con. I understand there are steep learning curves in this industry that often give young job-seekers hesitation in getting started. Our company has put in place excellent hands-on training programs taught in-house by Lower management teams to give our future sales leaders the best opportunity to create the future they desire. The personal willingness to self-motivate your career in this way is not for everyone. The company is growing rapidly with no plans to slow down. In fact, we continue to innovate and put in place new best practices and services that change the way we do work now, and will change the way we do work in the near future. Incoming employees must be change agile and able and willing to adapt and embrace the vision of the future that defines this company. Again, not so much a con as it is a recognition that this may not be the best cultural fit for everyone.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-11-05

    Lower Response

    November 6, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for leaving your feedback! As a growing company, we value internal promotion and training our existing employees to further advance their career. We are rapidly growing and as you mentioned, not plans to slow down any time soon.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Very fun place to work with clear direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lending Coordinator in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time

    Pros

    they set a clear expectation and there are plenty of people here to help with whatever questions you may have

    Cons

    I dont think 10 days paid time off is enough

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-10-31

    Lower Response

    November 11, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for leaving a review! We aim to have a positive and supportive work environment. As you mentioned, we do provide 10 days of PTO in your 1st year of employment. However, once you reach your 2nd and 3rd years of employment, you will have 15 days of PTO. Further, in your 4th year of employment and on, you will receive 20 days of PTO. With that said, it does accrue quickly when you stay with the company!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, full of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - V P Branch Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lower.com offers employees an opportunity to not just start their career but to take charge of it and take it to the next level. There is a clear path for advancement in both the sales and operations departments, with clearly established milestones and objectives to reach the next level. Until you reach some of the highest levels there is no need to wait for someone above you to leave in order to advance, its all in your hands. Another great thing is the culture. When most people talk about culture they talk about having fun at work- yes Lower.com has that piece, but what I think is truly special is the way everyone is encouraged to share in the mission of making Lower.com the best mortgage company and the best place to work. Whether you have been here for 1 day or 3 years, regardless of what your position is, your voice will be heard and you will have the opportunity to help shape what Lower.com becomes. This is what I find truly special and exciting. No team, company, or school is ever perfect, but i believe that at Lower.com you have a stronger ability to impact and change things than anywhere else.

    Cons

    Lower.com is a dynamic company and often implements improvements that can change how things are done. While in my experience those changes are always resulting in forward progress, if you don't like change this isn't the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-10-31

    Lower Response

    November 8, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    One of our core values, "Independent Thinkers, Tightly Aligned," proves that we value all ideas and opinions for the greater good of the company. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "An amazing stepping stone and character-building experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Advisor in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at Lower for then past year and a half has been a life-changing experience. The company as a whole: - If you're between the ages of 22-30, this company has an incredible culture. I feel like I have made as many friends as Lower as I did back in college, and it has made my move to Columbus an incredibly fun experience. I know some people who fell into the post-college depression for a few years, but going to work every day with some of your best friends completely eliminates that possibility. - PTO is great. I'm in year two at the company and have 3 weeks of PTO. Next year I'll have a whole month. The Job: - The Loan Advisor role has truly been a character-building experience. Not many other entry-level type jobs give you the immense amount of responsibility and challenge that comes with being a loan advisor - but I think that's a good thing. There are so many experiences that I've had as a loan advisor that I know will blow away job recruiters whenever I decide to change careers. You feel like you serve a very important purpose, because you are helping people make one of the biggest financial decisions of their life. - If you are good at the job (which might take you a while), you can make a lot of money.

    Cons

    The company as a whole: - The 401k match isn't good The job: - It can be extremely stressful. You get to know your clients very well over the phone over the month-long origination process, and a lot of times something will come up that disqualifies them from the loan, so you have to learn how to give very bad news to people on a somewhat regular basis. It sucks, but it has thickened my skin and has really force-taught me how to communicate with people in negative situations.

    Continue reading
    Lower2019-11-01

    Lower Response

    November 6, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thanks for the review! We understand that working can be stressful. To help our team be more knowledgeable about their overall health, we provide quarterly lunch-and-learns around the topic of health. Our upcoming lunch-and-learn specifically will go over how to effectively manage stress!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 88 reviews