Netflix Reviews

Updated May 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
77%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Netflix Founder, Chairman and CEO Reed Hastings
Reed Hastings
739 Ratings
Pros
  • "The freedom and responsibility culture in practice allows you the space to do your best work(in 68 reviews)

  • "Remote working, good pay, friendly staff(in 47 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "People are let go constantly if they're not performing(in 58 reviews)

  • "I struggled with work/life balance(in 37 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Netflix and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Awesome place to work!

      May 8, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unique culture with freedom and responsibility

      Cons

      High paced high performance environment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      How much does a functioning human cost?

      Sep 20, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Paycheck - So many good people - Such a great service - Hope

      Cons

      I have been working for a year at Netflix. I've seen what was supposed to be very mature people, sharing absolutely almost no contact that anyone would qualify as "human". Sure, that sounds hyperbolic, let me develop (and maybe cherry-pick a little). Have you heard about our culture? The one about giving candid feedback? - I have seen people complaining of behavior they literally demonstrated themselves in the following days. But I have also seen these feedbacks resulting in tears both in the eyes of HR persons or fellow engineers. How human does that sound? Have you heard about our culture? The one about not tolerating brilliant jerks? I have nonetheless seen angriness and frustration, expressed in private, public and meeting. People rejecting new ideas by default, like, any ideas they wouldn't have worked themselves on for days wouldn't count. Even if those ideas are from the best examples in the industry or academics. How many publications/contributions have you seen from Netflix to computer science in general? How does it compare against any other company of that size in the Bay Area? Can you imagine either the real insecurity (x)or the lack of innovation that could lead to this situation? Except for a few managers, directors or VPs feeling free enough to behave at work in the same way than how they live, almost every engineer I have been interacting with, have shared as little as possible about their private life. The rare exceptions of interpersonal exchange ends up around some sort of competitive behavior: Who is the most geeky, sportive, owns the fastest car/biggest house/visited the strangest place. I've heard workaholic people complaining about ambitious peers who were over-managing, over-working to get even more work to do after. I feel like we're past workaholism at this point. Maybe there are a lot of shy people! Maybe there is a culture of fear, not only of being fired, but also a fear of interacting with people going to be fired. Maybe it's all in my head, maybe people giving 5 stars to their experience here don't care the human aspect of a company. And maybe they're right. What about your crush, your fears, your desires for the future, your appetite for life? I've been blessed to work in enough large companies to know that the behavior that I'm seeing in Netflix is not a healthy one. I've also been lucky enough to work in other industries more socializing than tech and I can tell that Netflix has a lot to do on that side, and off-sites or team meeting won't solve that problem. I am afraid about the tragic, but inevitable consequences of the ways people operate in this company: I guess that the day the worst will happen, it will be addressed in an impersonal memo by Reed; followed-up by 1 or 2 reminders during offsites. Possibly commented by HR in a Q&A document. And move on. This company seems as reactive in its management of people as it is proactive in its business operations. I still work at Netflix though, not only for the paycheck, but because I hope. I hope it will change. The needed change can't happen from a candid feedback, a Q&A, or only from inside. Change has to come from everyone, including people who take time to read comments like this one. Netflix has so many good people and offers such a great service. As a curious Netflix employee reading this review: think about your past, isn't there a big human thing that you would love to feel again in your current company that you've felt in the past? As a candidate: think about what would be a good question to ask to that HR partner once your package is almost here to be offered to you, think about that comment you make at the end of an interview when you're being asked by an engineer: "Do you have any question for me?" What Netflix needs is an inception, something that anyone and everyone would think about after leaving the call or the room they were sharing with you. Ask yourself, and then the others, the question you should ask if you think you want to spend a good amount of your life and energy in the place you're applying for. - Will I learn and contribute to the knowledge of other's? Even outside the company? - Will I see emotional responses from my peers? Will that be for other reasons than being fired or bluntly criticized? - Will I find a friendly environment that will nurture my appetite for life? - What is the amount of emotional interaction (celebrating, sharing, playing) to expect from a company whose service is the best to "entertain"? - Do androids dream of electric sheep?

      Continue reading
      562 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Netflix is not for everybody

      May 22, 2019 - Senior Software Engineer in Los Gatos, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The best part about Netflix is that they try to pay 20% more than everybody else, so the compensation is good. They are not shy about spending money, so travel is business class, you'll get a new MacBook Pro every year, etc. The people there tend to be very nice, the catered lunch is delicious, and so forth. While there is still a lot of action in Los Gatos building the technology (although arguably it is becoming mature, as streaming is a commodity), the real drama is in Los Angeles, relating to content.

      Cons

      Netflix has very strange politics, because people's jobs are at the whim of their manager. In other words, if a manager decides that a particular report is no longer a "star," he or she will get a package. So, given that employees are not stupid, there is a lot of kissing up, resulting in a lot of comedy. Netflix believes in "360 feedback," but everybody I know only does that to their peers, and they become very political with their management chain.

      Continue reading
      226 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Environment

      Apr 30, 2021 - Storyboard Artist in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I felt very supported during the pandemic. Normally they feed employees sadly we didn't get that cuz of the lockdown but we did get $120 a month for internet expenses for WFH. Also, they provided all our equipment

      Cons

      Honestly, most of the downsides I experienced were because of the pandemic and not the fault of the studio. I do think they could do better with Diversity and inclusion efforts. I know they are trying but it's still something they need to work on.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Netflix is truly the best company I have ever worked for

      Mar 7, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture Values are held to a high standard. There has been a very large emphasis on inclusion & diversity, specifically in the past couple of years. I would say 90% of the people that work there are absolute rock stars. What the company focuses on as a whole is bringing joy to our members and encouraging creativity in storytelling.

      Cons

      It seems your ability to get promoted depends on your manager or director, and not necessarily if someone has proven themselves capable. There are many teams that promote when someone has shown themselves to be invaluable members of the team at Netflix. However, other teams seem to make promotions a bit political. I have really only seen this with my specific team, which leads me to believe it is involved with our specific leaders and their management styles, not the company as a whole as many other cross-functional teams do not do this.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Excellent Place to Work

      Apr 27, 2021 - Title Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Stunning, selfless colleagues who are a joy to work with. Almost everyone is incredibly bright and a true team player.

      Cons

      Sometimes certain industry folks are brought in by leadership because of their expertise and track record, even if they are not in line with the company culture. They can be extremely damaging as they embody values that Netflix is supposed to condone: abuse of hierarchy, taking credit for other people's work, lack of transparency, etc.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Tread Carefully

      Apr 26, 2021 - Director in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Pay. Unequivocally the best in town. Full stop. - Travel & Expense Policy. Nowhere else will you be allowed to effectively do whatever you want, with limited oversight and an occasional audit. Need to fly business? Book business. Need to stay in a swanky hotel. Stay in said swanky hotel. Just don't abuse it. - Uber/Shuttles. Pre-Pandemic, of course, the company Uber account to/from work is a nice touch, though it's not great they add it to your taxable income without telling you about it. They also have shuttles all over LA to pick you up and drive you to and fro. - Family Planning allowance. Real big high five for the $75k contribution to family planning, fertility, what have you.

      Cons

      - So. Many. Feelings. Good lord, be adults and do some actual work. - Meeting-heavy culture. Every 30min chunk of your day will be full and you will get nothing done. Prepare to turn on and work late once you've eaten dinner or your kids go to bed. They know it and do nothing about it. - Work life balance. You have no life anymore, there is only Netflix. - Reorganizations are constant. If you want a comfortable existence in your role this is not the place for you. - Leadership changes are constant. Since senior leadership does very little in the day to day work of building campaigns or managing talent, they make their hay moving people around the chess board like little pawns to justify their existence and politicking to get Ted's ear. It's gross, and the string of senior marketing departures validates its grossness. - Content is king. The Content Org that is. They can spend 20billion to make content, while Marketing panhandles on the side of the 101 for loose change to cut trailers, execute photo shoots, or do anything innovative. - Campaigns are teeny tiny. Unless you're a Ryan Reynolds movie, Stranger Things, or Bridgerton, you aren't getting a campaign; more a loose collection of assets geared toward keeping your talent happy. So if you're looking to build big, integrated, global campaigns, this likely isn't the place for you. Which is hard because... - Ted promises talent a lot! So the Content and Marketing teams are between a rock and a hard place, as no one wants to tell them they aren't getting real campaigns, only token media spends and creative budgets. - God help you if you work on a Season 2 or Sequel+. You're working with pocket lint and thoughts and prayers for resources. - The Culture. For a company famous for its Culture Deck, they've really let it fall by the wayside in most departments. Gone is critical, real time feedback. Gone is the pro sports team mentality. Gone is any real sense of Risk Taking or Innovation. It also is whatever anyone in Senior Leadership or HR says that it is to achieve whatever reorg or budget shortfall that's coming. - There's no upward mobility and very little that goes into training/development. Raises are non-existent unless you go get an offer from elsewhere, in which case you're playing Russian Roulette with the "Keeper Test." - Redundancy. There are 6, maybe 7 departments that output creative? It's inefficient and it causes a ton of duplicative work.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great culture

      May 9, 2021 - Business Development in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome experience and great working culture

      Cons

      No any and everything is positive experience

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Prepare to be a machine

      Apr 7, 2021 - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some friendly colleagues that sympathize with you since we’re all in the same hell hole. Free food.

      Cons

      Not even sure where to start. This is a place for cold hearted managers with little experience in leadership. The policy of “unlimited time off” equates to “no time off” as any form of vacation comes down to the whim of your manager. Best of luck trying to convince any manager here to let you take time off. You’ll be working 24/7, with no work-life balance. I wasn’t even able to take long term maternity leave, as my boss explicitly said that if I took that much time off, I’d be lucky if my job was still here when I came back. Tried to speak to HR, and they said it was my boss’s right, and remember that all employees are at-will! Stay away from Netflix at all costs. You’ll be selling your soul to the devil!

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good perks in a harsh environment

      Feb 15, 2021 - Editorial Analyst in Hollywood, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pros: Interesting work, plenty of training, loaner laptop, comfy creative seating, catered meals and snacks every day.

      Cons

      It's a very competitive environment. It's hard to trust or rely on even your own manager or co-workers because they could pull the rug right out from under you when something goes wrong, to save their own skin. If you are considered not to be a cultural fit (in accordance with their culture deck), you will be out of there. If you are having a personal issue that is interfering with your ability to do your work, they are not very understanding or patient.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,156 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Netflix Job Seekers

    Senior Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Netflix? Share Your Experiences

    or