PetSmart Reviews | Glassdoor

PetSmart Reviews

Updated October 21, 2018
3,884 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
64 Ratings

3,884 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Working with animals abd follow employees" (in 326 reviews)

  • "The company really supports the interns in their programs and allows them to learn a lot about what it would be like to work there after graduation" (in 46 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hard to get full-time, very hard to get fired which means a few workers who don't do their work" (in 196 reviews)

  • "not that many hours as part time" (in 150 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (20)

    "Phoenix Corporate Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Office Empoyee in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Corporate Office Empoyee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The culture of the organization is what attracted me to the company and why I continue to stay. The purchase of Chewy.com in May 2017 was a very strategic addition combining the largest brick and mortar and online pet specialty in one company (yes, Chewy.com is bigger than Amazon in this space!) I have worked here for two years and the change in the Senior leadership from August 2017 to March 2018 has made a significant and positive impact. The new CEO that started in June 2018 has a great background and seems to be very personable. Very excited about the future of PetSmart along with Chewy under the new CEO. The campus has day care, gym, on-site café, Starbucks, shipping center, dry cleaning drop off/pick up - great amenities!

    Cons

    Just like any other organization, it is not perfect. However, the best place I have worked.

    Advice to Management

    Continue working together to create the strategy and aligning organizational goals to all levels. Morale has continued to improve over the past year and the transparency to employees is good - keep it going.

    PetSmart Response

    Jul 5, 2018 – Employer Branding

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We think PetSmart is a pretty special place, as well, and really appreciate hearing about your experience.

    Like you, we are confident in... More


  2. "Amazing environment at a break-neck speed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great people to work with a cause to support. "Love of Pets!"

    Cons

    Collaboration is a good thing, but this organization can sometimes take it to the extreme.

  3. "Great Company to Work For!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    Great Pay, Great Coworkers, and Overall Just a Great Place to Work

    Cons

    NONE!!!!!! Great company to
    Work for !!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing!!


  4. "Petsmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Lead
    Current Employee - Associate Lead
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Working with Pets is a bunch of fun.
    There is always something to do so you can stay busy

    Cons

    High employee turnover
    it can involve dealing with difficult customers on a daily basis


  5. "Bather"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good company employees are all helpful and nice.

    Cons

    Customers are not always pleasant


  6. "Good part time job if you love animals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    Interesting work, working with animals, learning.

    Cons

    Low pay, you get really dirty and ugly uniforms,


  7. "Nice Pet Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time

    Pros

    you can work with lot of cute pets

    Cons

    unable to make more money

  8. "Constantly changing policies that gets old."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Leader in Bossier City, LA
    Current Employee - Salon Leader in Bossier City, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Wonderful benefits for full time associates and leaders including insurance, 401k, and paid vacation.

    Cons

    Policies constantly change and sometimes contradict each other.

    Advice to Management

    Really, look at what you're asking for.

    PetSmart Response

    Oct 12, 2018 – Employer Branding

    Thank you for the feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time. I'm happy to hear you enjoy the benefits! Thank you, also, for the feedback, as we're always looking at ways to improve... More


  9. Helpful (200)

    "Good Job if You Have the Passion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Cincinnati, OH
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -So many animals!!
    -Company is doing some pretty good things
    -Many options within the company--move up or change position
    -15% discount for employees
    -Lots of opportunities to learn more about animals

    Cons

    -Base pay is pretty low for all the sh*t you deal with (literally)
    -Work environment completely dependent on management and coworkers
    -Customers can be RUDE.
    -Have to see a lot of mistreated animals
    -Company focuses on many different goals and it gets very overwhelming and makes it difficult to be genuine

    Advice to Management

    The focus on email capture AND conversion is a bit much. It's getting pretty difficult to care about customers when I'm in fear of getting written up for not capturing enough emails. I'd rather see more focus on customer care because that seems to get more returning customers than coupons.


  10. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    They had great management and I felt as if I was given the opportunity to work my way up.

    Cons

    Its a part time job in retail...sometimes customers can be a pain

    PetSmart Response

    Oct 9, 2018 – Employer Branding

    Thanks for the feedback! I'm thrilled you felt you had growth and development opportunities! That is hugely important to us. Thank you for sharing!


Showing 3,884 of 3,920 reviews
Reset Filters