Pythian Reviews | Glassdoor

Pythian Reviews

Updated Nov 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
60%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Pythian CEO Keith Millar
Keith Millar
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home option makes work life balance easier(in 24 reviews)

  • "Remote work and travel opportunities offer flexibility for me as my siblings and I continue to care for our sick parents(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hard to get 8 hours work each day out of small pool of clients(in 6 reviews)

  • "Work with the top 5% is not a reality(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Powerful Pythian!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Transformation Sales in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Pythian is by far the best technology services company I have ever worked with, and I have worked with everyone from most of the big Tier 1 and Tier 2 global technology name brands you would definitely know, to supporting 3rd party vendors, and to a hot new start up in Silicon Valley. * Client satisfaction and the client's desired business + technical outcomes are of the highest priority. From what I have... personally witnessed so far, Pythian is consistently doing this better and faster than our competitors. * Pythian technical resources are truly top tier globally. Their level of accumulated knowledge and ability to recall fine details during client calls continues to impress. * The culture internally is positive, transparent, and people are genuinely invested in helping each other with their respective individual career growth goals. I see a future for myself here with our growth trajectory over the next 5+ years. * The employee compensation package is generous and competitive in the market. * Remote work and travel opportunities offer flexibility for me as my siblings and I continue to care for our sick parents. * Learning, questions, and action are all encouraged and rewarded. * Feedback from employees is actually heard and acknowledged by leadership teams, who strive to make logical adjustments to adapt if/where necessary. * The current leadership team is strong, humble, intelligent, and accountable; these are rare traits to find together in today's industry. * All departments across the board deserve a shoutout for executing their jobs at the highest level, and for forming a cohesive company through excellent verbal and written communications.

    Show More

    Cons

    * Although no company is "perfect" and I would challenge anyone to find a company today that truly is, Pythian objectively does not have many Cons to mention. * Brand awareness and presence could be increased in a certain high-potential geography of the United States. Leadership seems to be actively working on this. * This rarely happens: remote workers can face a double-edged sword sometimes, as it can be more... efficient to find the correct person in their office for a quick face-to-face chat about a critical client need than it is to email, text, or call. * Training could be more personalized and/or standardized, as people tend to learn best leveraging the individual methods that are best for them to learn.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    * Keep adapting and moving forward. The future looks very bright! * If deemed appropriate, consider installing a Quality Assurance team member to listen in on sales and technical calls. There are untapped insights here waiting to be discovered and best practices shared.

    Pythian2019-10-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Micro management and no freedom at work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Database Administrator in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pythian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a Global team Options to Work remotely Flexible hours are provided

    Cons

    The company do the micromanagement, monitor every single minutes and every single work/post , do not focus on customer. Company is losing business due to Cloud and Database as service Use 10-20 years old technology for database monitoring and ticketing No-one has any voice for improvement and any suggestions. Work as head down and put tape on mouse, work as a slave.

    Advice to Management

    Traditional Database administration is slowly dying due to cloud, automation and database as service from AWS, Google and Microsoft. Develop some product and provide better working environment. The company is doing business in Read sea. The process and NonNon-techicalTechnical Management people are too much overhead for the company.

    Pythian2019-10-13
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Its been ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Big Data Architect in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pythian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    401k match, travel allowance, training

    Cons

    It's been back to back and stressful. Leadership with no clarity

    Pythian2019-03-04
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Work life balance is tough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Database Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pythian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you could survive the tough non stop 30 hours on call. You can deal any issues in your following career.

    Cons

    No work balance at all. Give you a real on call experience on 2015: I was scheduled to take on call at Friday 1100pm. And was supposed to pass to another on call DBA who is in South America at Saturday 1100pm. However, this guy didn't pickup. After called him many times I escalate to my manager. The manager first response was: you need continue on call until I would find your backup. Here's the important... culture of this company, they really care less about the remote DBA. They charge client $250 per hour. So it's critical you were able to delivery the hours billable hours. This is the most selfish company culture I've ever experienced. My neck was hurt during those two years on call life.

    Show More
    Pythian2019-01-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Pythian - A company with a purpose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I feel very fortunate to have found this company. I work with a very smart and talented group of individuals whose focus is on the best outcome for our customers. The teams I have engaged with are extremely helpful and supportive and will always make time to help you. Visionary President/CEO and strong executive management team; leader in their field; investing in their employees; key partner with many of the... leading cloud technology companies; great managers and co workers. Exciting time to join.

    Show More

    Cons

    At this time I haven't run into any but I feel comfortable knowing I could discuss the situation internally with my manager.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in and hire the best people; stay the course.

    Pythian2018-03-28
  6. "Best Job, Hands Down!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Director US East in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I am now part of that small but lucky group of folks who can wake up and say..."I truly love what I do for a living." If you want... **to work with some of the smartest people in the world **to work remotely **to live anywhere in the world you want **to have the best work/life balance you have ever experienced **to be challenged daily to constantly be on your A game **to be careful what you ask for because... the answer is always YES **to be able to seriously influence the direction of a company daily through your own actions Then Pythian is for you.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you don't want..... **to work really hard and be held accountable **to work on different cool projects daily **to have to wear multiple hats at times **to overcome challenges just like every other company in the world has.... Then Pythian is not for you. And thats ok too.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you.

    Pythian2018-03-06
  7. "I had a great experience (Big Data / Transformation Team)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Big Data Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pythian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Huge learning experience Impressive client roster Amazing group of experts Company is great at continuing education/training opportunities. Encouraged/expected to be domain experts Tons of exposure to cutting edge technologies Overall, the company is striving to be at the forefront of Innovation / Technology

    Cons

    Engineering work is great, but hard to move up in org without being onsite (though being onsite is encouraged). Normal challenges that come with remote work.

    Advice to Management

    Despite a long and enjoyable career, encountered HR static upon departure that sullied my great experience there a bit (sudden, impersonal cutoff of access to emails etc earlier than expected). Overall no big deal and appreciate the experience!

    Pythian2018-01-31
  8. Helpful (3)

    "CSM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    --Healthy work environment/culture --plenty of opportunities to grow ---latest on technology ---your voice is heard --I feel empowered

    Cons

    ---submitting work details for 8 hours a day

    Advice to Management

    To be easy on hour management

    Pythian2017-04-04
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pythian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong leadership. The most transparent company that I have ever worked with. Client focused Everyone has an attitude of accountability. A real feeling of caring for the employees.

    Cons

    Fast growth causing organizational stress. Top technical staff getting over worked.

    Advice to Management

    Revamp structure of org to reflect a larger company. Some folks are in roles becasue they have been there a long time; not because they are the best fit for the role.

    Pythian2015-11-19
  10. "QA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Analyst in Ott Town, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pythian for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company , innovative thinking, freedom of speech and ideas to bring to table

    Cons

    Nothing best company -- try to hire more people in automation

    Advice to Management

    Should expand more .geographically

    Pythian2015-11-08
Found 11 reviews