Sam's Club Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Sam's Club President and CEO Kathryn McLay (no image)
Kathryn McLay
350 Ratings
Pros
  • "It has good pay and fun environment(in 386 reviews)

  • "Flexible work schedule, decent pay(in 196 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Can have Inconsistent schedules for part time(in 201 reviews)

  • "Work life balance for management does not fair well(in 135 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Sam's Club and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Sams Club

      May 7, 2021 - Order Picker in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Pay and keeping busy

      Cons

      On your feet all day

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Fun Job, Terrible Scheduling.

      May 4, 2021 - Sam's Club Cafe Associate in Laredo, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fair pay. Free premium membership card. Guaranteed 15 and 30 min break, depending on the length of your shift. First dibs on very in-demand products such as Lysol, toilet paper, and eggs. They gave us free stuff every once in a while such as: Pizza and hotdogs in the breakroom sometimes. Thanksgiving meal in the breakroom around Thanksgiving. A turkey and a pie for Thanksgiving. A goody basket of candies for Christmas. Disposable masks and hand sanitizer during pandemic. Apparel with the company logo such as face masks and windbreaker jackets. Free unsellable products/merchandise sometimes.

      Cons

      Not very accommodating in terms of schedule making. They will almost never say yes to your requests and will give you whatever hours are most convenient for them, not for you. Most of their insurance and retirement benefits are only available to fulltime employees with at least 1 year of experience. They have lockers for employees in the breakroom, but not enough for everyone. Be prepared to do work that wasn't in the job description as well. Management didn't inform me of a lot of the free stuff; usually found out through coworkers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Wish I had some training before being put on the floor, to prevent unnecessary conflict.

      May 4, 2021 - Member Frontline Cashier in Shreveport, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is good, job isn't difficult.

      Cons

      Wasn't trained, was yelled at several times a day because I should've been doing something or shouldn't have been doing something. I finally said I hadn't been trained, then was asked why not like I chose not to be. Some supervisors follow the do what I say not what I do. Would be a better work environment if they actually took time to train and give you the basics.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Pay is good, entitled customers not so much.

      Apr 19, 2021 - Front End Associate in Waco, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay is amazing, went from $11 an hr to $15 an hr (COVID-19 boosted the pay to a lot of grocery stores)

      Cons

      The customers will definitely let you know they pay to shop there. Since it is a membership based grocery store, the customers will do everything in their power to break you if they don’t get their way. The membership desk will chew you up and spit you out if you don’t have thick skin. Some members are cool, but theres always the rotten few that live to berate others.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      great place

      May 7, 2021 - Maintenance in Bentonville, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great benefits , culture and career opportunities

      Cons

      new hires make more off he street

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Stocking

      May 6, 2021 - Stocking 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love to work at sams club I’ll be happy to be there and help out very well.

      Cons

      Nothing I understand it’s a busy company and I can handle it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      not bad job

      Apr 10, 2021 - Stock Associate in Butler, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      pay with 2% raises every year i think

      Cons

      lifting heavy boxes, pulled several places to do things, not enough equipment to do job, people acknowledge you but don't bother answering them as they aren't listening, need help...to bad.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place for a long term career if you like the area

      May 5, 2021 - ECommerce Specialist in Bentonville, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, decent work life balance, plenty of growth opportunities

      Cons

      Constantly changing and improving so some adaptability needed. The culture is a bit oldschool.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      50/50 half good and half bad

      Mar 9, 2021 - Cashier & Bakery Associate in Tucker, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The co workers are great, the work is great and self explanatory. You gain many different skills because you work everywhere.

      Cons

      Management is terrible and treat you like you're replaceable which you are. I've seen people who work there well over 40 years get treated like trash and then fired without a word. They never tell you what you're doing wrong until its too late and they either fire you or give you a write up. They never gave me pto when I used it and never explained the difference when using pto and ppto or if they pay you pto. I'm still confused. Everyone is petty and it feels like you can get fired at anytime. Lastly they force you to do other things, for example if I work in the meat department or in recieving they will pull me away from my regular duties to be on the register or outside pushing carts...and then expect you to be done with your regular work.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company

      May 6, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay and benefits. Good company

      Cons

      Scheduling and hours. Requires evening and weekends.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 6,702 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Sam's Club Job Seekers

    Merchandise and Stocking Associate
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Freezer/Cooler/Deli Associate
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Sam's Club? Share Your Experiences

    or