Selective Insurance Reviews

Updated Apr 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Selective Insurance President and CEO John Marchioni
John Marchioni
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "Respect for employees, great balance, option to work from home(in 15 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and efforts to diversify staff and leadership team(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "work life balance traded for career progression(in 27 reviews)

  • "Upper management is slow to promote(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great

      Mar 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Challenging work, great team environment and a company that works to help you be your best.

      Cons

      I can't think of any.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Selective Insurance Response

      Employer Branding

      A 5-star review is a great way to start our day here! Thanks for the note on considering location options for the future.

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company great people

      Apr 6, 2021 - No Territory Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people you work with are hard working and great people. You really join a family when you work there

      Cons

      Management can be a hassle and the process of things can be slow

      1 person found this review helpful

      Selective Insurance Response

      Employer Branding

      Thanks for the 4 stars! Good luck with your next opportunity!

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Company

      Apr 10, 2021 - IT Architect in Branchville, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Job Safety, Business & Leadership Exposure

      Cons

      Long hours, job pressure, slow career advancement, conservative on strategies

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Selective Insurance Response

      Employer Branding

      We'd love to get you to a 5-star experience, so please make sure to speak with your HR Business Partner about your recommendations for improvement. We'll share your feedback, as well.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Competitive pay and good benefits

      Apr 3, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast paced growing company, energetic and involved management

      Cons

      Problems with prioritization - company tries to do too much at once

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Selective Insurance Response

      Employer Branding

      We appreciate your positive review after 8-10 years with us! If you have any suggestions or details to share about work prioritization, consider speaking with your HR Business Partner to see if there's any action to take.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      Mar 24, 2021 - Safety Management Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Selective is a large company with a small company feel. Management cares about the employees and work life balance is great.

      Cons

      Benefits are a working progress.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Selective Insurance Response

      Employer Branding

      Your 5-star review made my day! I encourage you to speak with your HR Business Partner regarding feedback about benefits so we can consider any ideas you have to share.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company

      Mar 29, 2021 - UWriter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company with excellent opportunities

      Cons

      Good company usually pay less than market

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Selective Insurance Response

      Employer Branding

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your review!

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Company

      Jan 14, 2021 - Commercial Field Underwriter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong management team, excellent financials, Opportunity to express ideas

      Cons

      Work life balance, Some incentive plans are one size fits all w/out taking territory nuances into play, some toxicity in a small few middle managers have led to some longer term we’d looking for new opportunities

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Selective Insurance Response

      Employer Branding

      It's great to see your 5-star review and that your experience is a very positive one! We will share your constructive feedback about incentives and management/supervisor opportunities, but you're strongly encouraged to discuss this with your HR Business Partner or leadership so we can learn more specifics. Thanks for sharing your thoughts here.

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Review of Selective Insurance

      Mar 16, 2021 - Senior Claims Representative in Richmond, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great opportunities to work from home, great pay, great benefits

      Cons

      There was favoritism observed by myself and others.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Selective Insurance Response

      Employer Branding

      We love reading 4-5 star reviews! We'll share your feedback about favoritism.

    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Assisted the UW in helping agents write and issue flood policies

      Mar 8, 2021 - Underwriting Technical Assistant in Branchville, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company is reliable, dedicated to its employees and enjoyable to work at

      Cons

      I can't think of any cons at the moment

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Selective Insurance Response

      Employer Branding

      Thanks for the great review!

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Hard work

      Apr 14, 2021 - AMS in Allentown, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility, good pay, great bonus structure

      Cons

      Management constantly driving production on new business

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Selective Insurance Response

      Employer Branding

      Thanks for the positive notes about flexibility and pay! We'll pass along your feedback regarding new business goals.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 205 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Selective Insurance Job Seekers

    Underwriter
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Claims Management Specialist
    Learn About the Job
    Safety Management Specialist
    Learn About the Job
    Agency Management Specialist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Selective Insurance? Share Your Experiences

    Selective Insurance logo
    or