Teradata Reviews

Updated May 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Teradata Executive Chairman, Interim President and Chief Executive Officer Victor Lund
Victor Lund
63 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes there is no work life balance(in 43 reviews)

  • "Many employees believe in abandoning a cloud strategy as on prem is our bread and butter, while executives push "(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Teradata is a great place to build your career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Managing Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teradata full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Transitioning from Retail Management to Consulting was a good career choice. Internal mentors and formal training make for a smooth transition. I recommend Teradata as a great place to work. In working on-site with Teradata clients, I have had the opportunity to work with some of the top minds in multiple industries and delivered world class technology and business analytics.

    Cons

    there can be extensive travel from time to time.

    Continue reading
    Teradata2019-11-13

    Teradata Response

    November 14, 2019Recruitment Marketing and Talent Community Manager

    Congratulations on your 10+ years! Happy to hear you've enjoyed working at Teradata and have found it a great place to grow your career.

  2. "Nice company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Teradata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/life balance and friendly coworkers

    Cons

    The company has switched directions quite a few times in the last few years

    Teradata2020-05-25
  3. "Not agile, nor Agile"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Teradata full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great technology, some of the best people I've worked with

    Cons

    Top-down, hierarchical, don't really care about the employees

    Continue reading
    Teradata2020-05-24
  4. "Reorgs all the time"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Software Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Teradata full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people you work with are usually good

    Cons

    Too many shifts in infrastructure

    Continue reading
    Teradata2020-05-21
  5. "Major Culture Issues and Rotating Leadership"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Teradata full-time

    Pros

    - global talent strong - good place to skill build as coder then move on - strong Customer Service side of business making improvements - campus updated and has new fresh feel; exception parking a major problem

    Cons

    -- lack of success with strategy over last 5 yrs; get momentun then fail on follow through to be successful - too many cuts in sales and marketing - still governed by white old white male environment/culture at LT level - product quality inconsistency over last 3 yrs; edge once had is over - constant new programs pushed down to manager level; admin overwhelming - funding of programs been cut globally so support infrastructure for sales bad - PS organization being rebuilt again and again and again

    Continue reading
    Teradata2020-05-21
  6. "Not a Good Place to Work"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Dayton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Teradata full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Used to be a good place to work but degraded dramatically.

    Cons

    Poor leadership, internal vs. external focus

    Teradata2020-05-18
  7. Helpful (2)

    "hope new management makes positive impact"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Teradata full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    work / life balance good from some

    Cons

    Too much turnover at all levels, losing top talent

    Teradata2020-05-13
  8. "Been terrific during pandemic, but still struggling"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Teradata full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Still have a lot of good, high-character people in a good corporate culture. Company is doing a great job during the pandemic. Transition to work-at-home has been largely trouble-free. Very supportive of employees trying to balance the demands of work with the demands of being locked down at home. The company has done a great job here.

    Cons

    Failed and frequent leadership changes since Mike Koehler left 4 years ago. Have had 4 CEO changes alone. Constant churn in the leadership of sales and engineering show up in lack of sustained direction and uneven product quality. Transition to subscription model has yet to bear fruit in financials and stock price, although 2020 is supposed to be the key year. We shall see. In the meantime, employees are getting weary and patience is thin.

    Continue reading
    Teradata2020-05-12
  9. "Staff cloud engineer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Cloud Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Teradata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good opportunity to work on various technologies

    Cons

    more time could be spent on each project.

    Teradata2020-04-20

    Teradata Response

    April 21, 2020Recruitment Marketing and Talent Community Manager

    Thank you and best of luck on your next adventure.

  10. "XXX"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Teradata full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I am able to work from home on most projects

    Cons

    Upward mobility is not available as there are limited positions

    Teradata2020-05-03
Found 1607 reviews