KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Whataburger

Engaged Employer

Whataburger

Add a Review

Whataburger Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 2,968 of over 3K reviews
3.4
57% Recommend to a Friend
Whataburger President Ed Nelson
68% Approve of CEO

Found 2,967 of over 3K reviews

3.4
57%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Whataburger President Ed Nelson
Ed Nelson
528 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The pay was good for a first time job with no experience as a teen in high school.(in 271 reviews)
  • "Great people to work with and challenging(in 129 reviews)
  • "Flexible hours their willing to work with you and understand that there are things that may happen that can keep u from coming in(in 118 reviews)
  • "They have great benefits and are very very friendly .(in 98 reviews)
  • "Fun coworkers and that's about it(in 78 reviews)
Cons
  • "Bad management and very tiring(in 184 reviews)
  • "I took a position in the real estate segment... my “team” was unwelcoming... my manager was rude & cold.(in 170 reviews)
  • "Little training offered for HQ personnel.(in 34 reviews)
  • "Too much favoritism for certain races and not for all(in 33 reviews)
  • "No breaks and scheduled on days I’m not supposed to be there(in 23 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Whataburger and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    My time

    Jul 21, 2022 - Team Members 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Orders get out fast, always stocked inventory, good mgmt

    Cons

    Better ac system overall, it feels like it's barely working

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great

    Aug 17, 2022 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lord of stuff but not enough

    Cons

    Lots of more stuff probably way to much

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Whataburger review

    Aug 16, 2022 - Food Service Worker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The managing team is amazing, always willing to help answer questions about pay. After asking about help making a monthly budget they helped me.

    Cons

    Personally i wasn't always able to get the amount of hours that I wanted. They spent too much time hiring new people which number one cut our hours, and number two, they would pay the new hires more.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good pay for small town with no options

    Aug 14, 2022 - Crew Member in Mexia, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The management team.is fantastic David cook cares for his team and Ben wow shaina is amazing ken is tough but one of the best bosses if u just give him a chance remarkable Brian my bestie great teacher jodi Austin new and wonderful at what they do Mary my love I don't know what I'd do without her

    Cons

    Hard to pickup shifts when not scheduled out through the week already to space them end up killing yourself working 22 hrs in one day off all week if your old like me.its rough on u

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Soso

    Aug 11, 2022 - Front End Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Schedule management was great for my school

    Cons

    Little training and managers have high expectations

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Theres some issues

    Aug 11, 2022 - Line Cook in Sherman, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Everyday is practically fast paced which makes your hours go by extremely fast.

    Cons

    -The management at almost every store, at least in Texas, has several underlying issues.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    .

    Aug 9, 2022 - Team Member 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a good starting job

    Cons

    Some of the customers are not great

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good place to work

    Aug 7, 2022 - Team Leader 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Family oriented, organized, reliable, honest, good communication,out going,fun

    Cons

    Team work, cleanliness, organization, customer service

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Busy

    Aug 7, 2022 - Team Member 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good people, flexible hours, can move up in the company

    Cons

    busy, customers, some workers are lazy

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    It’s a good job. A lot of growing benefits

    Aug 6, 2022 - Cashier in McAllen, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Scheduling is great when going to college loves it.

    Cons

    Just kept me late hardly ever asked.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,967 Reviews
</>Embed

Whataburger Reviews FAQs

Whataburger has an overall rating of 3.4 out of 5, based on over 3,037 reviews left anonymously by employees. 57% of employees would recommend working at Whataburger to a friend and 43% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Whataburger employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Whataburger. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

57% of Whataburger employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Whataburger 3.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.3 for culture and values and 3.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Whataburger to be benefits, coworkers, compensation and the cons to be workplace, management.

Popular Careers with Whataburger Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Whataburger? Share Your Experiences

or

Whataburger Photos

+ Add Photo
Whataburger photo of: I don
Whataburger photo of: We’re bringing on leaders who can run a multi-million dollar business. Grow your career here.
Whataburger photo of: As a Team Member you'll learn skills that will serve you well no matter where your journey leads you.
Whataburger photo of: Our leaders are coaches, mentors, experts, and a friend.
Whataburger photo of: We take pride in our work, take care of each other and love serving our customers. Join our family!
Whataburger photo of: The people who work in our restaurants are the face of the brand.
Whataburger photo of: Each and every day Our Team Members learn skills that will serve them well no matter where their career journey leads them.
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 3,037 Whataburger reviews submitted anonymously by Whataburger employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Whataburger is right for you.