Zillow Reviews | Glassdoor

Zillow Reviews

Updated May 19, 2018
630 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

630 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Promotes a healthy work /life balance (in 76 reviews)

  • Free food catered in at least once a week (in 53 reviews)

Cons
  • Very little work/life balance in sales positions (in 19 reviews)

  • Zillow has been working hard to be more diverse and it is apparent in most of the department's, except for inside sales (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    This company is great to work for. As a seasoned sales professional I can tell you this is where you want to be. Yes, there are all the perks associated with a “start up” tech company, i.e free drinks/food. However, that should not determine anyone’s evaluation of a great place to work, although those things are certainly a plus. This is a highly innovative company that is staying ahead of the times. The CEO is probably one of the most down to earth executives you will ever meet. The NYC office has really great managers, Dave and Doug, who will go through great lengths to help you succeed. The expectations may be perceived as high, but they are truly realistic and not out of the norm, especially considering the return from the company. This is an amazing place to work with a very generous compensation plan, unheard of benefits, and many extra perks. It is a two way street, expectations are high, and the rewards are unlimited. For those who push to be successful, this company is the place.

    Cons

    No real cons. If there was one negative it would be lack of communication in some areas when it comes to change. However, this is being addressed and the company is very honest about its need to improve on this.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Better Than I Imagined"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The people are wonderful and make sure you have what you need to be successful. The products themselves are great, and the entire company is focused on continuing to improve them. Leadership is very transparent. There is a lot of room for growth and/or internal mobility. The building in Seattle is beautiful with great views and location. Overall, the people here love what they do and genuinely care.

    Cons

    I'm going to gain weight from all of the free food that can be found around the office. However, there is a building gym and monthly reimbursement for gym memberships, among other great perks.

    Advice to Management

    Keep us focused on the core values, and keep dreaming up innovative ideas!

    Zillow Response

    May 7, 2018 – CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you for the great review! Totally hear you on the free food. The candy wall is evil.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    Working on exciting products that help both real estate professionals home buyers connect. Its a collaborative atmosphere that's always moving fast and a great culture.

    Cons

    Hard to keep up with the changes that are happening, but they are working on changing that.


  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Challenging and fun
    Management cares and team members are supportive
    Interview process was fast and feedback was also prompt
    Respect the company

    Cons

    Too much free food jk
    It's hard to think of cons it's a great place to work
    I wish parking was better but what can you expect from downtown?
    Flexible work options such as working from home would be great

    Zillow Response

    May 16, 2018 – CTO

    Thank you for your comments and I am glad you are enjoying your experience as part of the Zillow Group team. We care so much about creating and growing an engaging, challenging and fun environment... More


  5. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Culture, benefits, cool projects and approchability of executive staff.

    Cons

    Hard to make as much money as a new hire if you have been here for a while in a non sales role. While the 360 annual review is amazing, for people who have moved up fast the financial opportunity is limiting over a long period of time.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your non sales folks market value so you don't loose them as the pay gap increases over the years.

    Keep up the amazing work. Innovate, diversify, go global, think 5th horseman (referencing the book the Four).


  6. Helpful (1)

    "The next level of living; professional and personal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    It’s beyond inspiring to see senior leadership in the trenches with front-line sales on a regular basis!
    After nearly a decade at a “slow, dumb” corporation, my role at Zillow has allowed me to realize the joy of exceeding the high expectations that I’ve always held for myself as a sales professional.
    Along with the numerous career milestones achieved, my wife and I welcomed our second son to this beautiful world last year. The accommodation and peace of mind we had through the life changing experience was more than we could ever ask for, and has allowed us to set a strong foundation for our family’s future.

    I look forward to many, many more “ZAnniversaries” with this brilliant organization, as we challenge each other to grow and evolve as professionals and contributing members of society.

    Cons

    Not a single negative experience in my first year of employment!

    Advice to Management

    Continue putting the greater vision of the organization at the forefront of the company's endeavors. It has obviously worked!

    With a people first policy outlined with full transparency and a "team sport" mindset, I believe we at Zillow are just beginning to realize the potential of such a beautiful organization.

    Zillow Response

    Apr 23, 2018 – CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you for the great review. It is great to see that you are having such a positive experience here.


  7. "Dialing is key"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Sales in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great office, snacks, benefits and salary

    Cons

    Upper management and processes can be improved.

    Advice to Management

    More 1on1 coaching should be exercised more often

    Zillow Response

    May 8, 2018 – Senior Director - Inside Sales, Seattle

    Thank you for taking the time to send over a review. I'm glad you like so many things about Zillow Group including the office, benefits and salary. If you would like to talk in more detail on how... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    - leadership
    - career development

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Zillow Response

    May 2, 2018 – CPO

    Thanks for the feedback - especially that you see career development at Zillow Group. We are focused on helping put people in the best position to grow their careers everyday. If you ever have... More


  9. "New Construction sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    Great group of people to work with
    Company is transparent
    Travel monthly
    Great work life balance

    Cons

    Training is almost non-existent
    Territories are not equal
    Expectations are not clear

    Advice to Management

    I would make sure that training is thorough and expectations are clear. Touching base on market trends would be helpful so that we continue transparency and solutions for specific territories.

    Zillow Response

    May 7, 2018 – VP, Strategy & Operations

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We love to hear that we can provide a great work life balance, but as you pointed out, there are areas where we would love to be able to improve. I’d love to... More


  10. Helpful (3)

    "I loved the job until I was 8 months pregnant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Great office. Fairly good benefits.

    Cons

    I had a bad experience leading to me to decide to be resign. When I got pregnant, I worked with HR and got permission to take an additional 3 months unpaid in addition to the 4 months they give you paid. When I got to 8 months pregnant I was told there was a re-org. They decided to pull me off my job, but they would find something for me when I got back from maternity. In addition to this, when I was less than 2 weeks from my due date I was told by HR that they would not be allowing me to take the additional unpaid time. This is despite having it in written in email that I was given permission to have the time unpaid. Not knowing what I would be doing when I returned and being suddenly told that I could not take the unpaid time I was counting on lead me to resign. I loved this company. I am still a little heartbroken about how I was treated.

    Advice to Management

    Do what you promise.

    Zillow Response

    May 2, 2018 – CPO

    I am so sorry that you felt unfairly treated. We have worked hard to put a generous parental leave policy in place and manage it clearly and consistently. When it comes to unpaid leaves we work with... More


Showing 630 of 659 reviews
Reset Filters