Zillow Reviews | Glassdoor

Zillow Reviews

Updated Feb 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
72%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
52 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (17)

    "Life-changing career move! I never want to leave."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Consultant in Parker, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This list is long: benefits, office perks, work hours, travel, uncapped income potential, forward-thinking and evolving company, incredible culture, open-door leadership culture, etc.. Working for Zillow has, in no small way, changed my life. My contributions are recognized financially and through corporate recognition, and I take great pride in my work and career trajectory. I have requested multiple 1:1 meetings with executive-level leadership and always land on their calendars. You absolutely have to be proactive and eager here, but the rewards are the best in the business!

    Cons

    If you do not have a thick skin and don’t like hard, hard work, this is not for you. I do feel there is room for significant improvement with our sales leaders. I don’t have faith that many sales executive or BC managers have any idea what their teams face on a daily basis, their follow-up and through is lacking, overall support and individual empowerment could use a lot of work, etc.. Fortunately, this has not affected me too severely, as I perform without needing much supervision, but I do see many of my colleagues struggle, unaided by management.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-07-27

    Zillow Response

    July 29, 2019Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Thank you for your very thoughtful review! Thank you for recognizing the opportunities you’ve had with access to executives and how Zillow Group has enhanced your life! I appreciate your feedback and ideas on work needed and how we can improve, ensuring all of our managers have relevant understanding, in the day to day of all of our sales professionals. Thanks again, Ann Sobil, Senior Director

    Continue reading
  2. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Test Lead in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Has tons of benefits and decent pay and employee centric

    Cons

    Can have additional benefit towards parking

    Zillow2020-02-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Partner success manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Zillow

    Pros

    First of all I would say that if you are able to get into the rentals organization you will love it. Since I have transitioned from premier agent to rentals I have been enjoying work again. They rental organization is looking to split off and create its own revenue stream separate from premier agent and the vibe down there is completely different! Best move I have made in my Zillow career is moving down to the rentals organization!

    Cons

    Premier agent side of the business is where I started at Zillow. It was fun for a time but now has just grown to more of a grind. Up there you are a number and how your day goes really depends on your manager. If you have a good manager who doesn’t micro manager you will be great. The worst part of my experience at Zillow is there is never a straight answer given in premier agent. It varies wildly from manager to manger and how much they like you. Plus there is pettiness that goes on in within the teams and it can lead to toxic environments. Since I have been working at Zillow the quotas have almost doubled and the payout has remained the same which just breeds resentment from the workforce.

    Zillow2020-02-10

    Zillow Response

    February 15, 2020CPO

    Thank you for your honest review. While I am encouraged that your experience in your new role is going well it is disappointing to hear your previous experience. We should not be inconsistent from manager to manager and are constantly looking for ways to better support our managers so they can better support our employees. If you would like to share your thoughts with me directly please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, inclusivity, benefits, everything is pretty on point

    Cons

    Pay, nothing else To be honest

    Continue reading
    Zillow2020-02-08

    Zillow Response

    February 10, 2020Senior Director of Sales

    Thank you for your review. Really glad to hear that you felt a sense of belonging and connection during your time here at Zillow Group. As you experienced firsthand, equity and belonging is something we are continuously focusing on, and is always top of mind. If you have thoughts or feedback on how we can continue to evolve please email me at brandoni@zillowgroup.com. Thanks again for sharing your experience and best of luck in your next opportunity. Brandon Inouye - Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Continue reading
  5. "Front Desk Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Coordinator in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits and great pay

    Cons

    I haven't found any yet

    Zillow2020-02-06

    Zillow Response

    February 15, 2020CPO

    Thanks for your review - I am pleased you are having a great experience. Please never hesitate to reach out with any feedback to me at dans@zillowgroup.com.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Great Company But Be Wary Of Your Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are plenty of amazing teammates that support each other, take care of each other and help each other succeed- very much that family feel. There are office perks that help you make it through your day. Work is quite steady and there are some managers who exemplify the meaning of managers and are there to help when issues arise and do what they can to help you succeed in your role. The affinity groups are AMAZING to help you feel like you belong, no matter where you are in your life.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the cons started at the interview stage, but only later felt. In making a drastic career move as all advisors did, most (including myself) were very specific, vocal and very concerned about certain questions regarding our licenses as real estate agents. The questions were asked and answered and put to ease so that we could move forward in accepting the positions as advisors. A few short months later after vesting our time and our knowledge into Zillow Offers, we found that the questions we had answered were flipped and contradicted to what we were told. As months went by, many of the important items that brought us into the role (such as pay, performance and movement in the company) were changed. As Zillow Offers grew, we were proud to tell customers that Zillow is not a “Bait and Switch” company- which amazingly, they uphold that high standard, but unfortunately, I feel it did not apply to the treatment of advisors themselves. The growing of the company with constant changes made me feel like we were being set up for failure. When going through your interview process for this position, be wary of the answers given. If there is something that is a deal breaker for you taking the position, know that there is a chance what was told will be changed under the question asked: “Are you able to work in a fast moving, ever changing company.”

    Continue reading
    Zillow2020-02-10
  7. "Great work place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Buyer Success Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are great, employees are great, no micromanaging.

    Cons

    The culture is very involving. If you don’t like your role there are other places you would fit within the company.

    Zillow2020-02-04

    Zillow Response

    February 11, 2020

    Thank you for your review. We're thrilled to hear that you are enjoying working at Zillow and enjoy our benefits. If you would like to discuss anything further, please reach out at scottbo@zillowgroup.com Thanks! Scott Bond, Senior Director, Zillow Offers

    Continue reading
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at Zillow part-time

    Pros

    This company has good environment

    Cons

    The cons is, sometimes the requirement is too high.

    Zillow2020-02-03
  9. "Not a bad place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    Growth mode, good leadership, game changing model

    Cons

    Too much influx of Amazon culture

    Continue reading
    Zillow2020-01-25

    Zillow Response

    February 6, 2020SVP, Technolgy

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review, as you know we are moving fast in our transition to Zillow 2.0, and I agree we are in an exciting growth mode. I appreciate your feedback and I am interested in hearing more about your perspective on the culture at Zillow to ensure that we remain strongly aligned to our Core Values. If you would be willing to discuss further, please feel free to reach out to me directly. -Toby tobyro@zillowgroup.com

    Continue reading
  10. "Great culture and over fun vibe, but lacks transparency for job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Configuration Analyst in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work parties, benefits, casual dress and free food

    Cons

    Depending on the office that you are in there is either a lot of room for growth or none. Seattle has a lot...Dallas very little to none at this point.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2020-01-23

    Zillow Response

    February 4, 2020

    Thank you for your review! I'm happy to hear you enjoy the culture of our company and specifically our Dallas office. We appreciate your feedback to lean more into our core value of "Turn on the Lights." We will use this as an opportunity to improve our employee communications by department in your office. If you have any further feedback I would be happy to chat directly at scottbo@zillowgroup.com. Thanks! Scott Bond, Senior Director, Zillow Offers

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 793 reviews