DataStax Reviews

Updated May 27, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 399 of over 415 reviews

4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
DataStax CEO Chet Kapoor
Chet Kapoor
141 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

388

57 Comments

Tech

211.5K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=DataStax~524413
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great culture and priorities!(in 33 reviews)
  • "Some great people to work with and decent lunch.(in 29 reviews)
  • "I love my team and and its great to be surrounded by people who want DataStax to succeed.(in 24 reviews)
  • "Awesome company with great leadership and vision.(in 19 reviews)
  • "Great benefits like Health and wellness!(in 18 reviews)
Cons
  • "The management in marketing was awful, there was a lot of fear(in 14 reviews)
  • "New CEO can be a bit harsh, but hearing the truth hurts.(in 10 reviews)
  • "100+ people laid off in the past 6 months including a layoff the week prior to the end of December (Holidays)... never a good sign.(in 7 reviews)
  • "very fast, and long hours (though, to be fair, long hours are also a result of covid)(in 6 reviews)
  • "Younger managers don’t make time for employees; not focused on employee growth, lack of communication/direction, lack of professionalism, emphasis on favoritism.(in 4 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of DataStax and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee
    Featured Review

    Pros and Cons to work at Datastax

    Feb 20, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a very collaborative environment. The team mates really help each other. The company provides generous benefits on top of the compensations in the contract. Fantastic opportunities to grow the skills.

    Cons

    Not necessarily cons but it might be for some people - you need to learn vigorously to keep up with the innovation.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    An Opportunity to Make a Difference

    May 26, 2022 - Vice President in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Our products are best of breed and deeply relevant to companies and industries re-wiring around smart, real time customer experiences and business processes. The company values thoughtfully taking initiative to make our customers or other DataStaxers more successful.

    Cons

    It is a fast-paced environment, and you absolutely must take ownership of helping yourself, your peers, and your coach (i.e., manager) stay focused on what matters most: if are a passive "order taker," you risk being overwhelmed or burnt out.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    DS has accelerated my career post-grad

    May 26, 2022 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a recent college graduate, I joined DataStax as an intern, “attempting to fake it until I make it”. However, throughout my time here I have found countless mentors and now friends who have guided me through the thicks and thins of my position, going far beyond their own job titles. As a team, they continuously push me to new potentials and I could not be more grateful to be in an environment of strong, resilient individuals who are ready to make a difference within our community. DataStax also offers fantastic benefits including Mental Health Benefits that have allowed me to purchase a gym membership. The gym has now become my safe haven allowing me to break away from the day-to-day, re-group, and truly hit the ground running once the next day begins.

    Cons

    There is constant movement and a lack of consistency. However, that often comes with companies of this maturity.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Progressed from BDR to Account Executive

    May 26, 2022 - Account Executive in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Super thankful to be mentored by incredible leaders. The team at DataStax has really nurtured my professional journey as I moved from intern, BDR, and to now as an AE. Immensely thankful to be inspired by driven leaders with a common vision. As a woman, I am greatly honored to represent the company.

    Cons

    Updating the sales enablement resources for new AES (especially Astra, CDC, streaming). Lastly, marketing brings in more quality MQLS.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Something Special

    May 25, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've had the chance to work for a few tech companies and this one is just different. I've been here for a year now and it still feels like something special. We are constantly driving to innovate and find new ways to leverage data in all parts of our work.

    Cons

    The pace of this place is not for everyone. We move fast.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Outstanding company

    May 26, 2022 - Coach in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leadership Company prospects Camaraderie / culture Perks

    Cons

    No notable cons observed yet

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Love the leadership and culture

    May 26, 2022 - Business Development Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leadership - CEO and coaches Culture Continuous education on products/services Benefits Incentives Remote work

    Cons

    There is a lot of change, but I personally don't think change is bad.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    I love it here!

    Apr 7, 2022 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The team here is invested in my success. I have all the technology, expertise and training I need to win ever deal. Great BDR and Marketing organization too. Love the $1,000 wellness benefit I can spend on things like gym membership, massages, running shoes, golf clubs, ski lift passes, and more. Love the quarterly refresh that provides 2 days off, 1 week off in August and 1 week off last week of the year, amoung other standard planned holidays. Pay is exceptional too!

    Cons

    Team is experiencing a lot of growth, so keeping up with the new faces is something that I have to make the time to keep up with. Not really a big issue. Just something I have to give extra attention too.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    One team, one mission and one goal

    May 1, 2022 - Pre-Sales Data Architect in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leadership at DataStax is something I have never seen and experienced in my 20+ years in IT. Chet Kapoor's passion to believe and making us believe in our mission as one team is simply amazing, motivating and quite encouraging. I feel really blessed to be working under Chet's leadership and with every colleague who makes my job fun.

    Cons

    None that I know and speak of.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Grain of Salt, but...

    May 5, 2022 - Senior Sales Enablement Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I always tell people to approach reviews for anything with a grain of salt. With that being said, I do want to share my thoughts/experiences/opinions: - Fast moving company doing some good things with/for the Apache Cassandra community - Hiring like crazy to get their word out - Pretty good pay for the role that I was in - Some talented, smart, great people that want to help you be successful. There can be a strong sense of team...depends on what group you are a part of. - Benefits are really good...cover 100% of the cost. There are no out of pocket expenses. Offer a great annual health stipend to apply towards something that will help you stay mentally and physically in shape (got a Garmin watch to help me track my activities).

    Cons

    With the good, comes the not so good: - Was not my choice to leave and it came as a surprise (small team was cut for restructure) - Was in my role for about 10 months and reported to 8 different leaders in my time there! Our small team never really had input/feedback on how we were doing (good or bad) until the last 2 months, which were all very positive about completed work. Overall, there wasn't an opportunity to make adjustments to what the business really needed. - Was hired for specific role but never really felt my experience was leveraged - Constantly shifting directions, which make it hard to learn / consume for our team and sellers. - Sales enablement seemed to be more of a checkbox to say they have it vs really looking at how that function can really help sales improve. Learned after I started there was already a sales enablement team in place prior to us that were also moved out of their function. - Tools for success were never really implemented so we were left with a lot of manual lifting / tasks - Many silos...many people working on the same initiatives but not a lot of hand shaking taking place (left hand doing without the right hand knowing) - Exec leadership seemed like a click - Work life balance was not great…worked all the time and at the end, was rewarded with them cutting me on employee appreciation week (and they still sent me a gift…got it after I was gone). Indicates to me that it was a very last minute decision. - Company values look great on paper but not really lived/executed

    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 399 Reviews

DataStax Reviews FAQs

DataStax has an overall rating of 4.0 out of 5, based on over 415 reviews left anonymously by employees. 78% of employees would recommend working at DataStax to a friend and 76% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, DataStax employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at DataStax. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

78% of DataStax employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated DataStax 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.1 for culture and values and 3.9 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at DataStax to be career development, benefits, senior leadership and the cons to be workplace, management.

Popular Careers with DataStax Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at DataStax? Share Your Experiences

or