Dynetics Reviews | Glassdoor

Dynetics Reviews

Updated May 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 101 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Dynetics CEO David King
David King
36 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Dynetics' pay does not match other companies in Huntsville, but the benefits and quality of treatment have kept it above(in 8 reviews)

  • "Since crossing the large business threshold, there is no real plan on how to evolve and succeed as a large defense contractor(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dynetics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company with challenging problems. The amount of work can be overwhelming at times due to growth, but the technical challenges is something I have been unable to find elsewhere. Management has been great and very understanding when life happens. Management encourages time off with family and friends! Plenty of paid time off and the ability to bank comp time is a great benefit!

    Cons

    The company is growing at a rapid pace. With that said they are still only hiring the best employees to get the job done.

    Dynetics2019-01-31
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Company culture is stuck in 1974, but the work is interesting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dynetics full-time

    Pros

    Interesting work for interesting customers. Great ability to flex your schedule, depending on which group you work with.

    Cons

    Unnecessary emphasis on getting post grad degrees just to say you have it. No diversity or inclusion, and no signs management sees this as an area to improve. Manangement is stale and stagnant.

    Dynetics2019-05-09
  3. "Casual, but lack of transparency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Dynetics full-time

      Pros

      Somewhat laid back environment and helpful coworkers

      Cons

      Not very transparent; I was told things in my interview that were actually not true. I didn't find out until I started.

      Dynetics2019-05-08
    • "Passive Aggressive"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Computer Engineer 

        I worked at Dynetics full-time

        Pros

        Nice campus, interesting work, coworkers were friendly, benefits were reasonably good

        Cons

        Management was passive aggressive, and it felt like I was joining a cult. I kept getting called in to get warned that I should "be careful" about doing this or that. I'd ask if I had done any such thing, or if there had been any complaints, and I'd be told no. When I asked around to my project lead or other coworkers they'd have no idea either.

        Advice to Management

        Be more direct. And have your employee orientation before they've been there 3 months already. And nix the bit where you polish the TBP bent of the founder with a Dynetics towel...it's super creepy.

        Dynetics2019-04-23
      • "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Aerospace Engineer 

          I have been working at Dynetics full-time

          Pros

          Great culture, great benefits, growing company

          Cons

          Growing too fast which has the potential to erode culture

          Dynetics2019-04-14
        • "good place to work"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Senior Electrical Engineer in Huntsville, AL
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Dynetics full-time for more than 10 years

          Pros

          interesting work and assignments, good people

          Cons

          starting to get the too big of a company feel

          Advice to Management

          not everyone that wants to be, makes a good leader

          Dynetics2019-03-31
        • Helpful (1)

          "Best Defense Contractor"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Senior Principal Engineer 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Dynetics full-time for more than 10 years

          Pros

          Excellent company. Focused on taking care of employees. Ethics are a top priority. A lot of smart people. I would not work for another defense contractor.

          Cons

          Growing too fast. Not sure the overhead functions are keeping up with the growth.

          Advice to Management

          Keep up the good work. Continue to take care of your people.

          Dynetics2018-10-25

          Dynetics Response

          October 31, 2018Corporate Recruiter

          Thank you for your comments!

        • "Senior Engineer"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Huntsville, AL
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Dynetics full-time for more than 8 years

          Pros

          Very Exciting Work, Started out with really Good Benefits, Medical Clinic and Nurse Practitioner on Campus is awesome

          Cons

          Focus on growing the company over the employee, Upper management seems to only care about the stock prices even at the expense of employee happiness, when questioned about cutting benefits was told that the company was trying to match the industry standard, Far too many chiefs and not enough Indians, Employee treated like he/she is replaceable unlike years before, Too much micro-managing.

          Advice to Management

          Good companies are made up of happy employees. Go back to the things that used to make Dynetics far better than the industry standard. Dynetics USE to give 15% toward an employees retirement without matching. Dynetics USE to have unparalleled Personal Time Off (PTO) from a holding standpoint and from an earning standpoint. Dynetics USE to be an environment where an ambitious Engineer could help shape the job/work and...

          Show More
          Dynetics2018-11-21
        • "Electrical Engineer"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Huntsville, AL
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Dynetics full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          People are good. Lots of different work.

          Cons

          cant think of any cons

          Dynetics2018-09-05
        • "Great Company"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Dynetics full-time

          Pros

          Great work environment, facilities, benefits, compensation, & people.

          Cons

          None that I have seen.

          Dynetics2018-08-12
        Found 101 reviews