Extra Space Storage Reviews | Glassdoor

Extra Space Storage Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1025 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Work- life balance: family is important(in 115 reviews)

  • "We are closed on Sundays which makes a perfect family day(in 45 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no cons this job is the best(in 27 reviews)

  • "It’s cult minded everyone steps on each other to get ahead dms and upper management suck no help(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Sports Spectators Come work for Extra Space Storage. Closed on Sundays!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Customer Eccentric, minimal supervision, great opportunity to help others, family oriented company who really value their employees. I could go on forever but these are the things that I value the most about my job !

    Cons

    This is not an office job alone, you have to clean units, sweep and mop floors, pick up trash and other minor repairs that arise.

    Advice to Management

    Keep Up the Good Work! Although we constantly go through changes to keep up with the times your appreciation for your employees has never changed. You continue to care about us and work really well to keep us feeling like family!

    Extra Space Storage2019-08-26
  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Benefits Good pay Full time

    Cons

    No hvac in facilities Work on Saturday

    Extra Space Storage2019-09-09
  3. "Good work/life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Manager/District Team Lead in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work life pay is pretty good

    Cons

    Unless you know the right people advancement opportunities begin to diminish

    Advice to Management

    Make sure that all managers have equal opportunity for advancement opportunities

    Extra Space Storage2019-09-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Management. Does not care about the store employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Hours. Good home life, if you aren't expected to go to constant after hours calls

    Cons

    Favoritism and nepotism is how things are run. The corporate level does not care about the employees at the store level and keep cutting and cutting. How about cut at the corporate level, instead of making up positions. DM's don't manage and let DTL's run the show. This is not how it should be. Very sad to what this company has turned into. No way to advice, unless your male.

    Advice to Management

    Take a closer look into the District level rolls and stop showing favoritism. Each area acts like they are correct and there is never a united front.

    Extra Space Storage2019-09-16
  5. "Do Not Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sundays Off Insurance Benefits Paid Holidays and PTO

    Cons

    Favoritism No Recognition for hard working employees DM and DTLs are not professional Employees get away with not doing their job or calling in 5 times in one month Secret shoppers who know nothing Lots of drama Micro Management

    Advice to Management

    My advice is to treat your experienced and tenured employees better. Also, be more specific on the DMs and DTLs you hire because they are super unprofessional and disrespectful. And hold the employees who can’t even do their daily job accountable. I could go on about all the advice I have for management.

    Extra Space Storage2019-09-14
  6. "Great starting point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Quincy, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture, no micro-managing, decent bonus structure, make your own schedule

    Cons

    not a lot of room for growth unless you're willing to relocate.

    Extra Space Storage2019-09-11
  7. "Not a place to promote"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits, Well known brand, meet lots of good people "customers"

    Cons

    Lots of back stabbing, gossiping, lying, favoritism, jealousy, not a good work environment due to fellow employees.

    Advice to Management

    Take notice of your good employees, stop the gossip and do not help spread it. If you take notice of the good employees you would not have a problem promoting them to DM. Put systems in place to ensure that the culture and values that you speak of is truly how the company is being ran on all levels.

    Extra Space Storage2019-09-12
  8. "Culture, Work Life Balance, and Values!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Team Leader in Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company values are second to none. Amazing work life balance so I get to be there for my children. The quality of our products are the best in the business so it makes it easy to do our jobs. All around an amazing company to be a part of!

    Cons

    Absolutely no cons with this company!

    Extra Space Storage2019-08-26
  9. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance is a reality. Leadership is transparent with the entire organization and the internal growth potential is real.

    Cons

    Do not really have any.

    Extra Space Storage2019-08-26
  10. "Extra Space Storage Work Culture Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Team Lead in Brandon, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They allow you to have a good work/life balance. Competitive benefits.

    Cons

    A little better compensation for managers.

    Extra Space Storage2019-08-26
Found 1025 reviews