Extra Space Storage Reviews | Glassdoor

Extra Space Storage Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 933 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Extra Space Storage CEO Joe Margolis
Joe Margolis
366 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pay is slightly below the same position in other companies at District Manager level, but you typically work less hours(in 27 reviews)

  • "Sitting down all day other than that no cons(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "So much growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've had a lot of opportunities to grow my career at Extra Space, and I recommend the company to anyone who wants the same. I am proud to work at a high-tech innovator within the storage industry. Also I have been impressed with how connected the executive team stays to the larger workforce. They do town hall meetings with all employees several times per year.

    Cons

    Things move fast at Extra Space, and change management is not always perfect. Benefits are a bit more expensive than other companies I've worked for.

    Extra Space Storage2019-04-16
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leave of Absence Coordinator in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have enjoyed working at Extra Space Storage. The work environment is wonderful. The company treats the employees great. The company is always striving to help employees grow. I love that we have opportunities to work from home.

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of the cons

    Extra Space Storage2019-04-18
  3. "Great Place, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Division Learning Manager in Marlton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company core values are truly embodied by all employees at every level. I started as a SM in the field and worked my way up to the Senior Division Learning Manager position. This company believes in hiring and promoting the best talent. We are focused on PEOPLE to drive performance. The company spends the right time on developing people with numerous tools Advanced programs, Launch training, LDP/EDP, team trek, WorkDay...

    Show More

    Cons

    I can't think of anything to be honest.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focusing on People!!

    Extra Space Storage2019-04-16
  4. "Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Atlanta, GA

      I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      This company has a great company culture and allows its employees enough freedom to really do their jobs.

      Cons

      There a few products that I wish we didn’t have but that’s more of an opinionated matter.

      Extra Space Storage2019-04-16

      Extra Space Storage Response

      April 17, 2019Director Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for the review and for everything you do to make Extra Space Storage a great place to work!

    • "A great place to work with the best in the industry"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Regional Training Manager in Burbank, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Extra Space has a fantastic and special culture. All employees are driven to give 100% everyday they come to work. This means great teamwork, innovation, and service for our customers. Extra Space encourages forward thinking and growth from within. How can you beat that?

      Cons

      Extra Space asks a lot from team members at all levels. This is only a con if you don't like hard-work and dedication!

      Extra Space Storage2019-04-15
    • "Great company to work for!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Corporate Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 19 years

      Pros

      Great culture. Co-workers are the best I've ever worked with. Stable company. Forward looking. Constant growth. Work/life balance.

      Cons

      I can't think of any at the moment.

      Extra Space Storage2019-04-15
    • "Great culture. Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Company has a great culture from top to bottom. Good level of senior management transparency. Great work life balance. Willingness to change and adopt. Not afraid to explore new ideas. They do not over work employees.

      Cons

      It may feel a little slow for some of you.

      Extra Space Storage2019-04-14
    • "Dedicated Employee Base"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - HRM in Marlton, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      You couldn't work with a more dedicated group of employees than here at Extra Space. Employees really take pride in there job responsibilities.

      Cons

      Every organization has it's challenges.

      Extra Space Storage2019-04-16
    • "I expect more"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      - Friendly people - Open environment with a lot of natural light - Rooms for when you need privacy - Clean

      Cons

      - Lack of follow-up from managers to subordinates - Lack of trust in individual work

      Advice to Management

      - Having managers and directors work on follow-up with their teams regarding projects they've presented or questions they've asked. Even if it's not with the answer, let us know where you're at so we don't think you've completely forgotten or don't care. - Your biggest selling point is employee appreciation/engagement. There needs to be more action behind that sales pitch. I've noticed a lot of talk and not a lot of...

      Show More
      Extra Space Storage2019-04-16
    • "Not a bad place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Manager 

      I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good work environment for the most part. Management seems to care and tries to be fair.

      Cons

      Having to run entire store virtually alone. Company does not properly staff and they expect you to do things beyond your pay grade. Have to pick up after nasty customers and pay is kind of low for what they ask.

      Advice to Management

      You make enough money, staff your stores better. And don't expect employees to do every little thing like maintenance unless you want to pay more.

      Extra Space Storage2019-04-05
    Found 933 reviews