Extra Space Storage Reviews | Glassdoor

Extra Space Storage Reviews

Updated Nov 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Absolutely no cons with this company(in 32 reviews)

  • "It's really all about who upper management likes best is how you move up in this company(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Hard work, dedication, and integrity pay off here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee At Store Support Center in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management at Extra Space is the best I've ever seen. They genuinely care about the staff and want us to feel fulfilled and challenged. My manager always gives me sound, educated advice but allows me to work through issues or come up with ideas for improvement on my own when appropriate. I always feel supported and empowered by my manager. One of the best things about working for Extra Space Storage is that I know... the things I do matter. If I accept challenge and change with a positive attitude, work with integrity, and consistently do my best every day, it is noticed and it matters. If I were to resist challenge or change, have a poor attitude, avoid getting my job done, or act with anything less than impeccable integrity, that would also be noticed and would also matter. Depending on a person's own work ethic, they may or may not like working here for those reasons. You also need to be able to understand and carry out your work and be willing to continue to learn and improve.

    Show More

    Cons

    There really aren't any. Extra Space is a fantastic company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing and thank you for doing it.

    Extra Space Storage2019-11-27
  2. "Great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager (Hawaii) in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training system in place Great Leadership from Managers who thrive on helping Assistant Managers become Store Managers Health Benefits They'll pay for gas when you Travel Sunday's off!

    Cons

    Always understaffed Because it's understand allow over time

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your staff! Do shout outs to your employees. It goes a long way

    Extra Space Storage2019-11-22
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Storage: A hidden jem career that boasts growth and opportunity; based on merit!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Team Leader in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Quality of life, Pay, Benefits, Growth opportunity, Easy access and prompt response from corporate personnel and operations teams/departments, Visual and interactive training and development, Company Values, and the list can really go on and on. I feel valued as an employee of 11 years, so I feel there are many pro's with Extra Space Storage.

    Cons

    The only con I've heard from other employees is not having 2 days off in a row every week. The business needs dictate that we are busy on Friday and Saturdays, so we currently get one weekend off a month. The trade off with this is that you have every Sunday off and a day during the week, which is great for me because you can get personal stuff done during the week and have family time all day on Sunday.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the continued efforts by living the ESS values and to never lose touch of the employees when making decisions/changes that affect those outside of yourselves.

    Extra Space Storage2019-10-22
  4. "Good experience overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Schedule Good a d easy work life balance People Fun Easy

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunities Non dynamic

    Extra Space Storage2019-11-05
  5. "Great company to grow with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Team Leader in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company, benefits, work/life balance and opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    Health insurance can be a bit expensive however the company is always looking for ways to manage cost for the employees.

    Extra Space Storage2019-11-04
  6. "Great for work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good hours, Sundays off, good benefits.

    Cons

    Some traveling is required at times.

    Extra Space Storage2019-10-28
  7. "Great PLace to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with public Lots of Responsibility Room for advancement

    Cons

    Hopefully your at a good location

    Extra Space Storage2019-10-27
  8. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Onsite Manager in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    On my own too much sometimes

    Cons

    Too quiet sometimes and slow

    Extra Space Storage2019-10-22
  9. "It's a job, very little movement upwards. Pay is kind of stagnant."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Store Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage

    Pros

    The job is pretty enjoyable and people you work with are pretty cool.

    Cons

    Auctioning people stuff off kind of sucks

    Advice to Management

    Raise the pay and people will stop quitting.

    Extra Space Storage2019-11-06
  10. "Extra Space Storage Rocks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Payroll Specialist in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extra Space is a company very friendly and welcoming. It is nice to work in a company that is so happy. Benefits are great, especially since they start on Day 1, as are the 401K and HSA programs. The PTO and holidays are very generous. We are paid to help with projects for the community. There is a very nice free on-site gym. There are break rooms with free snacks and a large kitchen with free soda. Underground... parking. Management is awesome!

    Show More

    Cons

    None come to mind.

    Extra Space Storage2019-10-21
Found 1072 reviews