Hot Topic Reviews | Glassdoor

Hot Topic Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 964 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Hot Topic CEO Steve Vranes
Steve Vranes
120 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lack of upper management support(in 51 reviews)

  • "The only cons for sales associates is the hours depending on the sales volume of the store(in 44 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time

    Pros

    Great company culture and work life balance. I feel very engaged in my role and love working with all the teams at HQ.

    Cons

    Sometimes its cold in the office.

    Hot Topic2019-05-22
  2. "I loved it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty lax dress code, Great atmosphere, Understanding management, very nice employee discount! ZERO tolerance for bigotry, it felt like a very safe space for people from all walks of life.

    Cons

    Part time hours can be seriously lacking, consider full time if you need the money.

    Advice to Management

    Breathe, the back room is never going to be finished and that's ok.

    Hot Topic2019-06-04
  3. "I miss it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Keyholder in El Paso, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great co workers. Awesome training by my managers, I pretty much owe how well I've done in all other fields to this job because my district manager knew how to encourage our goals.

    Cons

    Super low pay, the part time manager was only getting paid .25 more than me. I was part time but often id be put to work 39 hours because everyone kept quitting. It was too hard to manage that with my college schedule so I had to leave.

    Advice to Management

    Don't micro manage, create loyalty because with such low pay that's what's going to keep people there.

    Hot Topic2019-06-12
  4. "Fun Job During College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Kennesaw, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved working at Hot Topic for the merchandise discounts, the pop culture, and the atmosphere. It was nice working in a store where the customers and I could talk about our favorite bands, anime and clothing styles.

    Cons

    There's a lot of pressure on making your sales goals. They would take away hours based off of your KPIs and give them to the employee with the most sales. This is a terrible system because the associated behind the cashier ultimately gets to determine who gets the sale based off of who helped the customer. Sometimes employees would take the sale for themselves regardless.

    Hot Topic2019-06-10
  5. "Collaboration and Engagement meets Pop Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in City of Industry, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tons of room for internal growth! We have an executive team that not only listens to the employees, but the customers as well. The company is always looking for new and innovative ways for us to grow as a brand.

    Cons

    More opportunities for us to volunteer as a company or department.

    Hot Topic2019-05-29
  6. "Great job with caveats"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fashion freedom, listen to music all day, pop culture surroundings.

    Cons

    Overstocking stores. Corporate(the ones above the DMs) are clueless.

    Hot Topic2019-06-07
  7. "Extreme Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Rogers, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get heath insurance and paid vacation.

    Cons

    The expectations of the company are ridiculously high. As far as the floor set changes and the amount of hrs they give you to complete it, the mini floor set changes mid week, the promos constantly changing, the dated computer systems, the horrible online-to-store ordering system. Also, it's mostly high school kids who want to work here so there is a very high turn over in regards to employees.

    Advice to Management

    You would have to be a superhero to thrive and truly enjoy working at a place like this.

    Hot Topic2019-06-05
  8. "Pick and packer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I used a scanner gun

    Cons

    How to pick and pack

    Hot Topic2019-05-20
  9. "Good Mall Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Relaxed "dress code," get-what-you-give kind of environment, relatively fun considering it's a mall job. You can go far with this job compared to other retail. If you find yourself in the situation where retail will give you what you need, HT is the best place to work in the mall.

    Cons

    High turnover rate, lack of actual benefits if you are looking to invest in yourself and future (like wanting to get away from apartment life by buying a house, invest in your retirement, etc). Favoritism is shown in some stores, but thankfully not all of them. I had a pretty good time working for this company for the multiple consecutive years I worked there. Not great hours, but it is to be expected working in retail....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More support from higher-up managers. If more benefits (and higher pay) was offered, the turnover rate would not be as high.

    Hot Topic2019-05-29
  10. "Amazing Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time

    Pros

    You get to work with awesome people and employees are truly valued here. The benefits are great, in addition to some really cool perks like yoga and massages. We also give back and donate our time to our foundations, including Feeding America.

    Cons

    Too much good food around here = bad for your diet!

    Hot Topic2019-05-08
Found 964 reviews