Kaplan Test Prep Reviews | Glassdoor

Kaplan Test Prep Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 577 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Kaplan Test Prep CEO John Polstein
John Polstein
150 Ratings
Pros
  • "flexible environment, can work from home(in 36 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, light workload, support from supervisors, team relationships, decent pay(in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not enough classes available to teach to ever become full time(in 24 reviews)

  • "Poor management and general lack of direction; Low salaries with very little room for growth(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Among the best places I've worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in New Haven, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kaplan Test Prep part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    High morale; pride in working for a reputable education company; wonderful environment & colleagues

    Cons

    There are none from my experience.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Kaplan Test Prep2019-03-31
  2. "Mcat test prep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - MCAT Instructor 

      I worked at Kaplan Test Prep part-time

      Pros

      Very flexible company with opportunities to advance

      Cons

      Forefront of most of students concern whether they put in effort or not

      Kaplan Test Prep2019-07-20
    • "Excellent, Flexible Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Instructor in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Kaplan Test Prep part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Flexible workload where you can determine the amount of responsibility that you want

      Cons

      Finding times to teach may be tricky if you have a full-time job that may require you to work late on occasion

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you're doing. I had a great experience working here

      Kaplan Test Prep2019-07-15
    • "Very formulaic -- needs creative teachers"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - LSAT Prep Test Instructor in Madison, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Kaplan Test Prep part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - All of the curriculum is clearly laid out and not much individual thinking is required

      Cons

      - Hard to adapt to individuals when every minute of time is utilized

      Kaplan Test Prep2019-07-01
    • "flexible schedule and good management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - ACT Tutor 

      I worked at Kaplan Test Prep part-time

      Pros

      flexible schedule. good pay. good co-workers. good management

      Cons

      limited hours takes a while to become full-time

      Kaplan Test Prep2019-06-24
    • "Flexible work for people who love to teach"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - MCAT Course Instructor 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Kaplan Test Prep part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Flexible (take as few or as many classes as you want), comprehensive paid training, most work done remotely, opportunity for extra hours through individual tutoring

      Cons

      Few interactions with other employees (remote), have to follow Kaplan proprietary instructional material, relatively few benefits as instructor

      Advice to Management

      Provide more opportunities for working alongside other instructors, such as retreats or conferences

      Kaplan Test Prep2019-05-31
    • "average sales job good experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Kaplan Student Advisor 

      I worked at Kaplan Test Prep full-time

      Pros

      good environment, managers and coworkers

      Cons

      not much room for significant growth

      Kaplan Test Prep2019-05-29
    • "Great Place to Work and Grow"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Communications Manager in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Kaplan Test Prep full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Support of colleagues, good location, generous benefits, great leadership I’ve been at this company for over 10 years and I am really happy there. It’s truly a unique place to be.

      Cons

      None that I can think of. I would say that if you cannot adapt to change, you may be at a disadvantage. But that is really at any company.

      Advice to Management

      We are lucky to have a leadership team that is smart, as well as kind to employees.

      Kaplan Test Prep2019-05-25
    • "Great Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Kaplan Test Prep full-time

      Pros

      Smart people, caring and engaged workforce, hard working.

      Cons

      There are none to report

      Kaplan Test Prep2019-05-22
    • "Cutting back on the small things that ad up"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Registered Nurse in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Kaplan Test Prep part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      They have improved the product for RN prep. New slides improved. Book always has errors and students always. Find then. Which makes us look bad. Get it right The first time. people paid good money for creating them.

      Cons

      Don’t pay mileage. Tiers are low. Prep basically not reimbursed. Infrequently assigned. Lots of last minute. Coverage due to teachers cancelling.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to you workers in the field. They are the application of your product.

      Kaplan Test Prep2019-05-19
    Found 577 reviews