Model N Reviews

Updated Jun 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Model N CEO Jason Blessing
Jason Blessing
11 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-Life-Balance/some managers can be ehhh(in 15 reviews)

  • "I understand that projects are staffed however they need, but in terms of career growth, this felt very stunting(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Current employee who continues to D.A.R.E!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Model N full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    During these uncertain times leaders can exemplify their true behaviors. Candor, Visibility and Openness... Our Executive team has managed these uncertainties with grace as we continue to drive our scale and transformation of Model N.

    Cons

    Zoom is our new Friend...

    Continue reading

    Model N Response

    April 21, 2020Director, Employee Experience

    Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback, and for your supportive words about Model N's leaders. It's really nice to hear that you're having a great experience here!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture, great people, major growth potential!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Model N full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Looking forward to working with the people. After several interviews and screening steps to ensure the best fit, I’m excited to join the team and build a success story of growth and industry impact.

    Cons

    None for now. Leadership is hiring the best talent to take the company to the next level.

    Continue reading

    Model N Response

    May 29, 2020Director, Employee Experience

    Thanks for taking the time to provide this review. Really glad to hear your experience with us is off to such a positive beginning! Welcome to the Model N family!

  3. "Great place to work and great people to work with"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President of Product Management in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Model N full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    New and focused exec leadership team has brought a refreshing start and new (back to the old core vertical) approach. This refocusing is helping to set hopefully a successful direction for the future of the company. Many of the upper and mid-level management people are great people to work with. Warm and welcoming as well as very knowledgeable in their area. They rather do the right thing than just telling a good story because it sounds better. A very honest and warm place to work.

    Cons

    The new direction is not really new. It is refocusing on the core vertical, which is the pharma industry and it worked so far, but what is next? Difficult questions will come along the way soon. For example about the outdated platform of all money-making solutions. What will happen to the other verticals like MedTech and HighTech? Where is that going? Revenue growth is relatively moderate compared to real hot companies but it is steady. A big question is also about vertical experts leaving the company. New people coming in have a long ramp-up time because of the complexity of the business. And the biggest question looming, is there enough appetite for change in this company.

    Continue reading

    Model N Response

    July 1, 2020Director, Employee Experience

    We appreciate the feedback, thanks for sharing! Your description of our culture as a “very honest and warm place to work” is a great way to put it and we’re happy to hear that was your experience during your long tenure here. Thank you also for sharing your perspective on our business direction. We are excited about the growth we continue to achieve and the direction we are headed in and are looking forward to continuing to innovate mission critical solutions for our customers in High Tech, Med-Tech and Pharma. Thanks once again for sharing your feedback!

  4. "Good Company with growth opportunities"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Advocate in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Model N full-time

    Pros

    Decent Salaries and benefits, good locations

    Cons

    Too much micromanagement, and very more friendly to millennials than experienced personnel

    Model N Response

    June 4, 2020Director, Employee Experience

    Thank you so much for the feedback. We value all of our employees equally from those who are early in their career to those who are more experienced. We appreciate you taking the time to share your perspective and wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work now and only getting better"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Model N full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This is an exciting time to be a part of Model N. The focus that Jason Blessing has brought to our company and the leaders he has surrounded himself with have been the key ingredients driving our run of success. While we continue to have the innovative spirit that the company was founded upon, some much needed scale and infrastructure is also being put in place. In addition, working with the people here has always been second to none. The company is also investing a lot more in people programs which is great to see.

    Cons

    While we are continuing to scale and infrastructure is improving, it's by no means perfect yet and there is more to be done. Some may find such a transition to be challenging to work in, but at the same time, there is enormous opportunity to make an impact no matter what role you are in.

    Continue reading

    Model N Response

    March 27, 2020Director, Employee Experience

    Great comments, thank you for taking the time to share them with us. It's great to hear that you're seeing our focus and new investments pay off. We think our people are second to none too and will continue to invest in them!

  6. Helpful (4)

    "Model N - N means NONSENSE, Leadership is SLIMY"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Model N full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They will pay you slightly about the market (don't be fooled by it), projects are very challenging and everything is left to last minute

    Cons

    Total unresponsive to employee issues Lots of turnover in employees and management that leads to basic trust issues The product quality is terrible, and a very high workload No right marketing personnel to promote the product, they have fired 4 people in marketing in the last 3 years New Leadership (whoever comes) thinks they need to bring their own people and will go after the current employees in place

    Continue reading

    Model N Response

    February 26, 2020Chief Marketing Officer

    Thank you for the feedback, and it’s unfortunate to hear that your work experience did not meet your expectations. While I joined Model N a few months ago, I can share my impressions so far. The company is riding a wave of momentum and, while there’s a lot to do, the focus and clarity on our corporate priorities and objectives has never been stronger. This has created the opportunity to plan and be more thoughtful about project deliverables. Simultaneously, I’ve worked hard to ensure the Marketing team has a clarified vision and we are excited about our future direction. Thanks again for your feedback, and best of luck to you in your future endeavors. -Dave Michaud, Chief Marketing Officer

  7. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible Company to work for - Please avoid this company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Model N full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None I can think of

    Cons

    I have worked for many companies in my career, this one has the most horrible culture and leadership, There culture can be defined in two words: CHAOS and SURPRISES. The sales leadership is not able to hit their numbers or acquire new customers, their product requires complex integration and very hard to sell.. Their market is completely saturated and there is no growth whatsoever. Sales leadership blames the solution engineer for anything to everything, if the customer meeting goes well - they take the credit, if the meeting does not go well - blame the solutions person for a horrible job. There is no job safety or recognition for any work performed. STAY AWAY from this company if at all possible. Also, they will surprise you by not giving any timely feedback, conflicting priorities, and extreme workload. Their AE's last for 3-4 months and are fired. You are better off waiting and find another company as this company will put your career progression to halt.

    Continue reading

    Model N Response

    February 17, 2020VP Global Solutions Consulting

    We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry that you have such a negative perception of your time with Model N. However, regarding some of your statements, we see things quite differently. For example, our company has met or exceeded its financial and growth objectives quarter after quarter and has been rewarded by the market for it. Growth is strong both in revenue and new customers, particularly in our High Tech vertical. Our employees find Model N’s work environment to be a great place to build a career, as evidenced by the strong levels of tenure in sales and solutions, the industry-exceeding promotion rate we achieve within our ranks, and the high number of Sales and Solutions team-members who achieve at a high level and are rewarded with the President’s Club. We recognize that no company is a perfect fit for everyone, but we are confident that Model N is a great place to grow, and to do great things for a blue-chip portfolio of globally prominent companies who entrust their success in part to the value we provide. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors. -Bernard R Gutierrez, VP Global Solutions Consulting -Shaun Glumbik, VP High Tech Sales

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great company where employees are valued and appreciated"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Model N full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Executive team stability and focus - Realistic strategies and product expectations - Positive work environment

    Cons

    - Mid-level and senior management leadership training aligning with executive team.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Energy and Buzz...."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Model N full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sense of energy and momentum that has increased substantially in the year that I've been on the team. New leadership, increased focus on our strategy and commitment to working smarter and more efficiently than in previous days. The sense of optimism and demonstration that positive changes are being made are really great to see. People are awesome, kind and collaborative. Flexible work environment - lots of respect for people to work out schedules that allow for balance.

    Cons

    Still work to do to work through legacy processes that can hold us back from getting to the right decisions but that's changing.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Talented Employees / Limited Career Growth Opportunities"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Model N full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Denver office culture and local leadership is outstanding - warm, friendly, inclusive, sharp and fun to work with. Ability to work from home / remote. New CEO is well respected and very personable when it comes to engaging employees and practicing transparency. Steady and competitive solution offering.

    Cons

    Culture is unfortunately a hit or miss throughout the company and a total miss in Marketing due to its leadership. Expect current role workload to constantly expand without title / compensation growth in parallel. (Not talking a single additional workstream....talking multiple open roles & responsibilities) Generally, past layoffs have created a culture of fear for future lay offs which affects morale.

    Continue reading

    Model N Response

    May 9, 2019Sr. Director - Human Resources

    Thank you for the feedback, and it’s great to hear about your positive experience with the work environment in our Denver office and your positive outlook on Model N’s future. Thank you also for sharing your concerns about your role and “hit or miss” experiences with our culture. The culture at Model N has our constant commitment and focus to ensure a consistent and outstanding employee experience across all geographies and functions. We fully acknowledge and appreciate that during times of transformation, even the most positive change can result in some disruption. To your point, we believe that being transparent and providing regular communication about our company’s vision and strategy is critical to employees feeling aligned and connected to our organizational goals. We agree with you that career development and growth is a key driver to a thriving culture, and we are actively working on career planning tools and opportunities for employees to plan long-term and fulfilling careers at Model N. It’s unfortunate that this wasn’t a part of your experience while here but we value your feedback and wish you the best of luck in the future. Model N's People Team

Found 189 reviews