MongoDB Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
90%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
MongoDB CEO Dev Ittycheria
Dev Ittycheria
453 Ratings
Pros
  • "Highly recommend working at MongoDB(in 102 reviews)

  • "Work/Life Balance: MongoDB treats its employees better than any other company I have worked for in the past(in 47 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The are no downsides to working at MongoDB(in 35 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is hard to guarantee(in 25 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      Great product, great culture and opportunities to grow

      Nov 20, 2020 - Manager, Technical Services 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great product/s, continued growth and expanding to different areas in line with customer demads. - Focused on people. - Collaborative approach in continuous improvement. - Parental leave. - Impressive offices and facilities.

      Cons

      With growth, sometimes the responsibility and impact can get a bit overwhelming.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      highly recommend !

      Jun 14, 2021 - Sales EAE in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      amazing learning experience, great leadership

      Cons

      can be a long sales cycle

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Grow

      May 28, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In sales, it's uncommon that you're treated and viewed as a person rather than a number - that is certainly the case here. Inspirational leadership team, starting with the CEO and COO but running down through mid-level management. Growth culture, surrounded by incredibly driven and intelligent peers. Promote from within culture has really been developed over the past few years, highlighted by the CRO with the BDR to CRO initiative. One of the largest total addressable markets with a ton of room to grow market share. Taking time off is encouraged - mental health is prioritized (ex: Headspace membership included) Continued investment in development, from onboarding to several years later. Feedback from employees is taken into account and actually influences change. Can be incredibly financially rewarding.

      Cons

      More is asked of you at Mongo than in similar roles elsewhere - this creates an opportunity to grow, but also can feed impostor syndrome. Very technical product that can be challenging to wrap your head around at first. A company in hypergrowth mode means that change is a constant, so not for the faint of heart. Still an opportunity to increase diversity across the org - it's a focus, but still a challenge.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Phenomenal company, even better culture

      Jun 7, 2021 - Senior Solution Architect in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      MongoDB has been an incredible company to work for, and I couldn't be more pleased with my experience. Mongo attracts top tier talent, and getting to learn daily from your peers is incredible. I have been really impressed with the level of communication throughout the company; and I honestly feel very in the loop with how decisions are made and why they are made. They take internal feedback very seriously, and the company has been excellent with how they have handled covid, work from home, etc. Pay is very competitive, and work-life balance is great.

      Cons

      Being a top tech company means expectations are high, for everyone; no exceptions. If you are looking for a company to just coast and not be challenged, then this is probably not the place for you. High performers are rewarded, and low performers are coached up or coached out quickly. As others have stated, lots of growth means constant change; but I personally see this as a benefit, as the company is extremely willing to explore and try new ideas.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      8 Awesome Years at a Spectacular Company

      May 21, 2021 - IT Support Lead/Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pro#1 I work on one of the most diverse teams in the company. This all came about naturally. There was no need for a parity pledge, no need for special hiring considerations. We hired the best people for the job, and the end result was a completely diverse team, with people of color and women in leadership roles. That's pretty awesome. In addition, I have full confidence in my managers. They have the company's best interest for obvious reasons, but professionally they have my best interest at hand as well. As a person of color, tech can be a difficult field to find success. MongoDB has offered me tremendous opportunities for growth, and continues to do so. I feel my opinion counts...my work counts...I count.

      Cons

      I wish there was more diversity in recruiting and in senior leadership. However, I have seen efforts to change this issue, and we are getting there...but it's a slow road.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      What they say, is NOT what they do

      May 10, 2021 - Senior Solutions Architect in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Competitive, cut-throat environment 2. Epitome of the "Peter Principle" 3. Management knows "ABOUT" what you do, not "HOW" and what is required to perform your tasks. 4. If you excel early in your MongoDB career, your accounts will be assumed by a more senior (Principle or Master) SA as you do not know what you doing (it must have been luck you landed this big account) leaving you bewildered and questioning yourself. 5. They leave you alone -- there is a lot of cronyism, you will be ignored until it is time to get thrown under the bus

      Cons

      1. "Say one thing, do something else" mode of operations 2. Very few women acts as SA's -- cronyism 3. Very few African Americans -- cronyism, God forbid you marry one and they find out, bi-racial is even worse. 4. No Veterans -- cronyism (Don't have a disability) 5. "Good Ole Boy" Sales Management team" NOBODY is over the age of 40 6. Given MongoDB's place in the industry, low salary and lower commissions

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      MongoDB Response

      Employer Brand Associate

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback; we respect your concerns and take them seriously. We are committed to our company value “Build Together” and creating and supporting a positive, inclusive, and accepting environment. Diversity and inclusion is important to us, and we have multiple D&I strategies with the objective of increasing representation of underrepresented groups, including race, ethnicity, gender, and sexual orientation, at every level and across every team. While we do have high expectations of all of our employees, we also actively encourage a work/life balance and establish a clear operating rhythm that supports both. Our flexible PTO ethos is applied globally to ensure employees take time to refresh, relax, and unwind. In regard to cronyism, our sales culture is focused on merit-based career growth. Many of our managers were previously successful sellers at MongoDB and are excited to teach, coach, and develop others in their footsteps. Continuing to develop our people to be even better managers is a top priority for us. We also remain highly committed to developing and progressing all of our employees' careers and we reward achievement through both commission and equity (as well as competitive base salary). Feedback is a key part of improving our organization. If you would be open to sharing more, please reach out to your People Partner or email Jess Katz, our Senior Employer Brand Manager, at jess.katz@mongodb.com.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellence is expected and rewarded

      Jun 2, 2021 - Enterprise Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The most impressive thing I've found at MongoDB is the empathy of our leadership teams. You can see this from the top down. The best leaders I've ever worked for. With that empathy, the leaders expect and help to get the best out of you. What I love about it is you see success all around you here, with many reps hitting quota and building their career. The rewards for this are many: - Great pay - Stock options are generous - Benefits are very good - Many promotions from within - Heavy investment in your training and tools to help you succeed

      Cons

      It can be stressful because you see many others succeed and sometimes it can take a while to break into new accounts.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great coworkers & WLB, slow career progressions

      May 19, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent WLB - company and managers are serious about it. Unlimited PTO policy works out to 4-5 weeks off per year in addition to one-off days off around long weekends etc which is great! Coworkers - everyone is very cordial and welcoming. Great bunch of folks to work with and it seems like the company indexes heavily on culture-fit in its hiring process. Compensation - for top performers, only FAANG pays more and not by much considering Facebook and Amazon's pathetic WLB. Extremely competitive pay.

      Cons

      Hard to progress - performance management in terms of promotions is completely broken in engineering. Some teams have people who are stuck in the same position for years while other teams are running roughshod promoting left and right which is extremely frustrating. Management has accepted that performance management needs improvement but other than using a different tool for filling out performance reviews this hasn't amounted to much. If titles are important to you and you are relatively early in your career, I'd stay the hell away. There are also many 'company people' who have been around for years and don't plan to leave so there isn't much opportunity for growth beyond a certain point.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great culture and mentors

      May 5, 2021 - Software Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - I work on an awesome team and learn a lot every day. I'm always excited about whichever ticket I'm working on, and that's not an accident -- my manager and director ask me what I'm interested in and try to assign me work in those areas. - Lots of Employee Resource Groups that help you find mentors, and get advice when you need it. - My mentors have helped me deal with constructive feedback, and to grow as an engineer. I really feel like the senior engineers here celebrate my growth and want me to do as well at MongoDB as possible.

      Cons

      - Some teams (and managers) are better than others.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Amazing workplace and environment

      Jun 2, 2021 - Workplace Coordinator in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work great people, I always feel like my voice is heard and in most places my job would go unnoticed and unthanked but working with Mongo that's never the case and I get lots of feed back and appreciation

      Cons

      Very open and willing to adjust not really a bad thing tho

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 611 Reviews

    Popular Careers with MongoDB Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Enterprise Account Executive
    Learn About the Job
    Software Engineer(Internship)
    Learn About the Job
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Software Engineering Internship
    Learn About the Job

    Work at MongoDB? Share Your Experiences

    MongoDB logo
    or