Secureworks Reviews | Glassdoor

Secureworks Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 259 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Secureworks CEO Mike Cote
Mike Cote
90 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Many changes in upper management and premature go to market in sales before new service lines are ready(in 9 reviews)

  • "In the SOC there's very little trust due to the junior nature of the staff(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Growth & Advancement Opportunities; Solid Benefits & Work-Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Secureworks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Growth - During my time at Secureworks I have had many opportunities to collaborate with more experienced team members on various projects, and through this have gained a great deal of valuable experience myself. -Recognition - My leader(s) have gone out of their way to recognize my accomplishments and hard work. When I express my goals and career interests, I've been given opportunities to grow and learn in... those areas. -Benefits - The benefits are through Dell Technologies and are great; the time-off policy is very generous. -Flexible work environment - This likely varies by team, but I've had several different managers during my time at Secureworks and all have been very understanding of the need for flex hours, work from home, time away, etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    -Tools & Processes - Sometimes we slow ourselves down. There is recognition of this from leadership and work is being done to improve. I can't wait to see how things change over the next year! -Cross-team collaboration - Sometimes communication between teams can be lacking. You have to go out of your way to get to know people that aren't on your team that you may not work with regularly.

    Secureworks2018-11-19
  2. "Great place to woek"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Secureworks full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance Remote working Flexibility with technology used.

    Cons

    Slower adoption of cutting edge technology but not non-existent

    Secureworks2019-09-18
  3. "Good Career Step"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Malware Researcher in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Secureworks full-time

    Pros

    Great place to temporally step it up in your career and fun environment

    Cons

    Not really a good for long term growth. Watch for layoffs.

    Advice to Management

    Offer more to keep talent and control layoffs.

    Secureworks2019-09-16
  4. "Lost Focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Secureworks full-time

    Pros

    Really smart people with a solid understanding of the threat landscape. Great ideas, but shaky sometimes on execution. A good portfolio of solutions across a good range of clients.

    Cons

    As a Sales Engineer it became more and more difficult to do my job because leadership really put SEs in a catch-22. We were challenged to "think outside the box" to develop creative solutions for prospects, but then chastised by the delivery people for selling non-standard solutions. If you reached out for advice to those who would be delivering the services they would often say they didn't have time and that... your should refer to some solution book or process that didn't cover the custom solution you were trying to build. It was a perfect arrangement to kick the can down the road and leave the SE to blame.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Figure out in clear terms what you want to do and what you don't want to do and communicate that to the sales org. If you want to get creative make sure the SEs have access to the back end product and operations staff who will be delivering and stop pretending that a magic document can cover everything.

    Secureworks2019-09-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "poor strategy and inept leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Secureworks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    amazing people up to and including directors

    Cons

    higher level management, C-level execs completely unable to create strategy and maintain high achieving staff.

    Secureworks2019-09-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "At Fork in the Road, and Freaking Out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Demand Generation in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Secureworks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay depending on the Comp Plan currently in place (There were 4 different comp plans in my 1-1/2). Great Office Location, with some upgrades that make it look more 'modern'. Good Technology SPIFF with being part of the Dell Family.

    Cons

    Continuous Change. High Pressure, and always more stress regardless of your number. Unreachable Quotas. Currently there is a BUNCH of turnover at the Senior Leadership Level. No Roadmap from DGR to another internal role that isn't sales. Don't pay for Certifications Low man on the totem pole, and constantly reminded of so.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be too quick to release new technologies because of Wall Street, if you aren't ready for it. Be upfront with your Comp Plans. The main reason I departed is that we were threatened with a Comp Plan that was going to double, and be put forth retroactively, meaning we were all going to be out of pocket money (again). You keep messing up people's pay, and no one will want to work with you. I had numerous pay roll... issues despite never changing banks or anything on mind end, instead it was you having to do 'True Ups' and double paying us and thus taking out money from our checks for 6 months to make up the Total. It's really a bad look at after 3 similar instances, I have no reason to think it'll change.

    Show More
    Secureworks2019-09-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Secureworks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team work, collaboration, supportive management

    Cons

    No cons at this moment

    Secureworks2019-08-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Leadership Deficit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Secureworks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you genuinely like an environment with limited People and Leadership development focus, lack of an articulated strategy within business units (micro not macro) and a culture that afraid to challenge the CEO and other execs because these virtues are viewed as overhead and insubordinate, then you are at the right place. Dell’s benefits plan is better than what Secureworks would be able to provide on their own but... wouldn’t characterize as sensational by tech company standards = neutral on benefits versus tier II / mid-market companies.

    Show More

    Cons

    Years of poor decisions and investment by leadership have led to continuous short term reactionary decisions that are impacting long term viability and success. People are tired of incompetence and lack of accountability at the top. Inferior products and services with better leaders, marketing, sales and support are winning in the marketplace versus Secureworks. 1/2 of executive team “leading” their silos on... borrowed time Diversity and Inclusion programs are absent and not in company vocabulary. Local community involvement where hq and points of presence exist are limited to non-existent. Closed source model of security research and intel. Seriously, great work and capabilities here, Secureworks should be a household name.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advice to shareholders, accelerate change for tomorrow with new leadership today. Advice to prospective employees, if you are used to an organized, articulate, aligned and proud culture I would not downgrade and consider working for Secureworks. If you are early in your career, consider a stint and take the knowledge and experience gained to an employer who will invest in you and incentivize you to want to stay.... Advice to clients, stick with them if you have patience, change is coming, some delivered by current initiatives and others through inevitable change in leadership. Advice to leadership, find proven leaders internally and from the outside and let them run with the most important initiatives. Purge those of marginal or under par value. Do your best to reallocate talent where you can.

    Show More
    Secureworks2019-08-22

    Secureworks Response

    August 27, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your thoughts with us. I am sorry to hear that your experience as a team member at Secureworks has been less than positive. We take a lot of pride in our company culture and in creating an environment that is enjoyable and rewarding ...

    Show More
  9. "Flexibility and work life balance are outstanding. Career growth is a challenge."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSM in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Secureworks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One of best companies out there for Work-Life balance. We’re expected to get our job done and then go spend time with our families. They also have a very flexible WFH policy which makes that balance even better. I’m also paid very well for doing a good job. This makes it easier to work hard.

    Cons

    Career Growth is difficult. This was one of the reasons I came to Secureworks but instead I’ve found it difficult to advance despite having many contacts in many parts of the organization. It seems that if a person doesn’t want/can’t be in sales then career growth is difficult to come by.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the clients. Preventing churn is simple. Listen to the clients. Listen to understand (not just listen to respond)and then ensure that the issues are resolved.

    Secureworks2019-07-24

    Secureworks Response

    August 27, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us! We love to hear when our team members are pleased by the work-life balance we offer. We are always looking for ways to provide a great work atmosphere for all of our team members. If you have ideas for how we can continue ...

    Show More
  10. "Best team I have ever worked with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor, IT Security in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Secureworks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management open door policy actively encouraged and well received. Everyone is a team player with commitment to providing support for one another. Great work-life culture, they shut down every year for the Christmas holidays.

    Cons

    Well, the only con I got is that they lost the contact i was working under, but not due to the service provided because most of the team migrated with it.

    Secureworks2019-06-25
Found 259 reviews