Secureworks Reviews

Updated May 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Secureworks President and CEO Mike Cote
Mike Cote
160 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work life balance has been fantastic and the people I work with have been great(in 24 reviews)

  • "Flexibility to work from home or work off hours(in 21 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "All deals had to go through upper management for approval(in 11 reviews)

  • "In the SOC there's very little trust due to the junior nature of the staff(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Secureworks and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Excellent place to grow

      Jun 9, 2020 - Senior Advisor in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Advanced technology. Strong systems and data management within the company. Family driven Executive leadership team, coworkers interact as a team and bureaucracy-free. Strong potential with current go to market strategy.

      Cons

      Work life balance is promoted, however sometimes overtime is needed.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Secureworks Response

      Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us! We take a lot of pride in our company culture and strive to create an environment that is enjoyable for all of our team members. We love to hear when our team members are pleased by the value we place on work life balance and family oriented leadership. We are always looking for ways to provide a great work atmosphere for all of our team members. If you have ideas for how we can continue to grow and improve, we encourage you to bring those ideas to your managers or our culture team. You can also send feedback directly to me at anytime by writing to feedback@secureworks.com. Thanks again! Tom

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Secureworks has been a great place to work

      Apr 15, 2021 - Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, work life balance, challenging

      Cons

      Time lines to finish projects can be too short

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Sales

      May 9, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great brand, awesome recognition within market.

      Cons

      Going through reorg phase, little disorganized.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great services, authority in cybersecurity; Leadership could use a refresh

      Apr 7, 2021 - Director in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wonderful services, expertise in cybersecurity, great people who believe in the mission, overall good culture

      Cons

      Some senior leaders have been in their roles a long time; may need some new folks to spark innovation and spur growth; company is still not profitable after 2016 IPO

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Meh

      May 13, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay, WFH, nice people

      Cons

      Disorganized, bizarre management, old tech

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Strong strategy, dynamic environment, great leadership.

      Apr 10, 2021 - Senior Security Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong strategy, dynamic environment, great leadership.

      Cons

      Nothing really. Maybe the marketing of vision isn't strong or public enough, but that's actively being worked on, so really nitpicking here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company!

      Apr 10, 2021 - Product Marketing Senior Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company mission and vision, clear strategy and the people are great. Benefits are awesome!

      Cons

      Nothing comes to mind in terms of cons right now.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      Apr 7, 2021 - Senior Security Engineer in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary and work life balance

      Cons

      Products evolution has fallen behind

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Collaborative and flexible environment to work in

      Feb 26, 2021 - Senior QA Automation Engineer in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pro independent work environment, Collaborative teams, Diverse technology stack, Respectful and helpful team members, Great managers, Good process documentation, Pay is good, Great work life balance

      Cons

      Sometimes a bit too nimble in direction of work, lots going on all the time, can be overwhelming, learning curve of different tech can be steep, not a good fit if you need to be managed very closely and told what to do always

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Benefits are great, get to learn a lot working here, but Secureworks overall is a sinking ship

      Mar 21, 2021 - Analyst in Providence, RI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great 401k (6% match), health/dental/vision insurance, disability, and other benefits provided by Dell. In the role I was in, I was able to learn about all the different firewall/IDS platforms that we manage for many of our clients, so after working here about a year, you are able to get a sufficient knowledge in all of the platforms. Pre-covid, when we worked in the office, we used to have perks such as bagels/muffins every Wednesday, as well at 75 cent sodas from the vending machine. Those perks have since changed prior to us mandatorily working from home as a result of the pandemic. Some of the colleagues I have also enjoyed working with.

      Cons

      Being in the Security Operations Center, you are treated as junior and don't get some of the respect or freedoms with the expertise that you are hired with. You also have to work one weekend day a week, which affects work-life balance (i.e. not being able to see friends or family cause you have to work), especially if you are on an off-shift such as second or third shift. Once you are given a schedule, especially one that is pretty unfavorable, you are stuck on it unless you either get some sort of promotion (which takes a lot of time at Secureworks), or switch to a different team within the SOC (which lateral moves are not the easiest at a company like Secureworks). The company also seems to be very disorganized in many different ways, reorganizations are very frequent within this company (the SOC has been under three different vice presidents within the past two years of the company), internal documentation and internal tools are either dated or a mess, and we are in the midst of a shift from being a service-oriented organization to a software-based company. The low-level to senior management is pretty sub-par here, with most of the junior management being hired internally as former analysts/advisors within the SOC with little to no experience in properly managing employees. Senior management, especially the ELT seem to be very out of touch with what is going on within the SOC. Lastly, the pay at Secureworks is way below industry standard, and can take many years to get a salary that you are worth, where if you were to get hired somewhere else, you get get a much higher pay increase (upwards of 20%-30%). With all of this in mind, the morale within this organization is at a very low point. There had been a time where the Secureworks culture had been great (probably way before I started here), but those days are over for this company, unfortunately.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Secureworks Response

      Sr. Manager - TA & Executive Recruiter

      Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your thoughts with us. I am sorry to hear that your experience here was not as positive as we'd like for it to have been. We are always looking for opportunities to make positive changes to our workplace environment for our employees worldwide. If you have comments about how your experience could have been improved, I welcome you to reach out to me at feedback@secureworks.com. Thank you, Chris

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 365 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Secureworks Job Seekers

    SOC Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Information Security Advisor
    Learn About the Job
    Network Security Senior Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    Information Security Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    Enterprise Account Executive
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Secureworks? Share Your Experiences

    or