Systems Evolution Reviews | Glassdoor

Systems Evolution Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 218 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Bill Gallagher
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is not often you find a company that understands how to grow, innovates and understands work-life balance(in 41 reviews)

  • "The atmosphere of collaboration created by the employee-ownership model provides an excellent example of how a consulting company should operate(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "The interview process may seem long (and SEI is working on bringing in efficiencies here)(in 11 reviews)

  • "This includes business development, recruiting and delivery(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing, Employee Owned Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Systems Evolution full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People, Culture, Salary, Opportunity, Challenging Work, Family

    Cons

    Lack of a 401K match

    Systems Evolution2019-05-20
  2. "2.5 Stars: A good job not a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Systems Evolution full-time

    Pros

    Nice consultants, decent set of clients Pretty good pay for the work once you get promoted Very social

    Cons

    Not a career... no where to go. With only one Managing Director per office there just isn't an opportunity, period. 90% of the work is staff augmentation not strategic project management. They talk about employee ownership which is great, but the upside is so small for newer folks is financially meaningless Haven't seen the leadership lead. That includes the CEO and local leadership

    Advice to Management

    What's the value proposition for new hires or established Principles without chunks of equity?

    Systems Evolution2019-05-09
  3. "Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Systems Evolution full-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with Lots of opportunities to grow and develop given the chance Interesting culture

    Cons

    Interesting culture almost cult-like Not a lot of diversity

    Systems Evolution2019-05-07
  4. "Best place I've ever worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior, Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Systems Evolution full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Every consultant has access to leadership, is supported by the entire company (anyone can reach out for help and have it, usually within the hour), is treated equally with a very compensation structure, has a seat at the decision table on day 1, and has the opportunity to share one's unique talents and passions to grow the business. The culture is one of family, the interview process is slow to allow relationships...

    Show More

    Cons

    I can't call the expectation to perform at client as well as support growing the organization to everyone's benefit a con, but it could be a consideration.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Systems Evolution2019-03-31
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Joining SEI was the best decision I could have made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Technology Consultant in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Systems Evolution full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    SEI's onboarding and orientation was fantastic and fun. The people through are amazing. To have the ability to collaborate with wonderfully smart and nice people across all locations to improve the outcomes for our stakeholders is exciting. SEI offers competitive salaries, good benefits, and interesting work. I'm so glad I joined the organization.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to report.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in your consultants and protect the culture - you have a winning combination right now with everything you are doing.

    Systems Evolution2019-03-08
  6. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Consultant in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Systems Evolution full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Extremely valued culture that has been kept undiluted since the founder. -Everyone is very open and ready to answer questions and concerns. -SEI embodies true collaboration and rewards it. Feels like everyone is there for you. -Involvement in how the business runs and everyone is encouraged to be involved. -Ability to buy stock in the company. - You are compensated for time worked, not boxed into a salary that doesn't...

    Show More

    Cons

    -Not being a good fit for the culture would likely be stressful, since you may feel like the odd person out. The hiring process usually filters this issue out. -There is an expectation that you are involved beyond just delivering your project. That may not be for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, the company has been built out well.

    Systems Evolution2019-02-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "The best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Systems Evolution full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The company and each office are transparent. You are involved in every aspect of the business. It's refreshing to be valued as a person of the company and not a number. Collaboration throughout all offices is encouraged and you quickly get to know the majority of the company in your first few months.

    Cons

    No cons for me but this isn't a fit for everyone. You have to be a team player, be willing to put in hard work and have an entrepreneurial mindset.

    Systems Evolution2019-02-07
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Still continues to meet my expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Systems Evolution full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Get to be a consultant that delivers but can also be advisory, get to control my definition of work/life balance and get to be part of a collaborative & fun team trying to grow our business together!

    Cons

    There are no direct Cons from my perspective but there are differences in our model versus other consulting organizations that can take some time to understand (and appreciate).

    Advice to Management

    While it's great to try new things that we may not have attempted before, we must stay true to who we are as an organization and understand that the steady, sustained growth will serve us best (as it has for the last 26 years).

    Systems Evolution2018-12-31
  9. "Enjoy working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Business and Technology Consultant 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Systems Evolution full-time

      Pros

      It’s only been a few months since I joined SEI, but it has been a great experience so far. SEI is a flat organization where employees are treated like family, are all equally accountable and are empowered to be owners. This when combined with a warm, welcoming and fun culture makes SEI a delight and motivates you to put your best foot forward always. SEIers are talented, humble and approachable. Though spread across...

      Show More

      Cons

      The interview process may seem long (and SEI is working on bringing in efficiencies here). Having said that, the process is structured to give candidates an equal opportunity to interview SEI as well. From my experience, I got a good sense of the people I’ll be working with, which made my transition into SEI quite seamless.

      Advice to Management

      SEI’s strategic anchors have served it well and should therefore be protected

      Systems Evolution2018-11-07
    • Helpful (2)

      "Business and Technology Consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Business and Technology Consultant in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Systems Evolution full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Employee owned. Not “up or out”. Not cutthroat. Not political. Flat structure -no practitioner is more than 2 removed from the CEO. CEO is happy to conduct 1:1 meetings when visiting offices with whomever requests one. Expectations are high. A truly collaborative team, even across offices.

      Cons

      Smaller firm so not well known across industries.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to listen to the people engaging where the rubber meets the road and fostering this amazing culture!

      Systems Evolution2018-09-16
    Found 218 reviews