United Rentals Reviews | Glassdoor

United Rentals Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 627 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
United Rentals CEO Matthew Flannery
Matthew Flannery
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "Plenty of work and good benefits(in 48 reviews)

  • "Good Pay compared to other industries(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management not very aware of work done at the branches by employees(in 31 reviews)

  • "Long hours can drag on and not many holidays(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Organization and Great CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Senior Leadership is engaged, caring and responsive to everyone. Opportunity for growth is tremendous. Training is available for everyone. Strong safety culture. Strong community outreach. Organization is there for everyone in time of need both professional and personal.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons- The organization always looking for innovate and smart ways to grow and improve.

    United Rentals2019-05-22
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Geismar, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a company who cares about their employees.

    Cons

    We are growing bigger and need more employees.

    United Rentals2019-06-05
  3. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Associate in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This has a high pace work environment very easy to get to know the processes.

    Cons

    The overhead can be a major detractor.

    United Rentals2019-06-24
  4. "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Branch Manager 

      I worked at United Rentals full-time

      Pros

      Good pay and benefits. All the resources of the largest equipment rental company in the world.

      Cons

      It’s large size also can lead to inefficiency. Recent acquisitions not always well planned for at a local level, leading to confusion on strategy once integrated.

      United Rentals2019-06-24
    • "Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Odessa, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I've never worked for a company that cared about their employees as much as they do their customers. All management works well with the employees that are going through life changing events and I love the customers I get to work with on a daily bases.

      Cons

      Downside would be the lack of communication between employees concerning every day situations

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great work.

      United Rentals2019-06-10
    • "Great place to build a career with good people!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great support from peers and mgmt. Career development - career maps, internal talent profiles, and development training programs. Not only do we have external customer service we have great internal customer service with "1UR" Employee Resource Groups - Women United, Veteran United, Together United. These are are great relationship building internal and giving back to a variety of communities/groups Good benefits...

      Show More

      Cons

      None at this time. The positives out way any cons. If I have and any cons they were small and no longer a con.

      United Rentals2019-06-10
    • "Great Co!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Inside Sales in Odessa, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      United Rentals has to be the most caring corporate CO in the world. I have never worked for a CO that does so much for its employees. They have things like marriage counseling to family get together4 and small parties. Not including the companionship that you obtain throughout your tenure. Overall United Rentals is one of the best CO's to work for.

      Cons

      With the vast amount of employees that work here there are tons of steps and small obstacles that need to be passed in order to actually achieve something. Its to be expected while working with a giant like United.

      Advice to Management

      Be stern and diligent

      United Rentals2019-06-10
    • "Work Satisfaction"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Geismar, LA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at United Rentals full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Benefits are great. Hours of operation are respectable. Safety education is mandatory and practiced everyday. UR is an elite club and they don't just hire anyone, so you're surrounded by great employees throughout. Quality, family, and safety are preached and practiced here and that was one of the deciding factors of joining the team.

      Cons

      Learning curve coming from another industry was a little intimidating, but everyone was there to help and still is. Learning everyday.

      Advice to Management

      Bosses are doing great. They are always busy, but still manage to notice your good work and make sure you're taken care of.

      United Rentals2019-06-05
    • "Great company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Geismar, LA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Company looks out for my best interest. Feels like a family more than just a group of workers.

      Cons

      Have not found any cons while working for this company

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you’re doing.

      United Rentals2019-06-05
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sst in Baton Rouge, LA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at United Rentals full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Family oriented, Great room for growth

      Cons

      Can we too corporate at times but family based

      United Rentals2019-06-05
    Found 627 reviews