KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

United Rentals

Engaged Employer

United Rentals

Add a Review

United Rentals Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,063 of over 1,113 reviews

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Good benefits with lots of great savings i(in 62 reviews)

  • "Good pay with many ops to make high monthly commissions,(in 61 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, co-workers like to gossip about each other(in 40 reviews)

  • "upper management always says we need to make more money to hire more staff yet they are always looking for more salesreps(in 36 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of United Rentals and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great company with an amazing culture

      Mar 8, 2021 - OSR Outside Sales Representative in Long Beach, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been with United Rentals now for over a year and I have to say that I couldn't be happier with this company. This company understands the work-life balance and truly understands and respects it. My superiors are in constant communication with me. They listen to me and encourage growth personally and professionally. I truly feel that this is place I can call home. I see why there are so many employees that have been with with this company for 20 plus years. I don't ever see myself moving to another company.

      Cons

      As of now I honestly have nothing negative to say about United Rentals. They have shown nothing but support in my position and provide positive direction day after day towards my growth.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Sales

      Aug 25, 2021 - Outside Sales Representative in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Paid gas for truck that is also paid for

      Cons

      Corporate structure and politics that comes with it

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Team 1-UR all the way!!!!

      Aug 13, 2021 - RPDM-Tool Soltions in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I started almost 30 years ago from Prime Equipment, RSC, and now United Rentals. Sometimes it can be a bit uneasy when your company is acquired however they way UR does this is in a true professional and comforting way. Unites has provided myself and my family a great life for a long time and all of our coworkers are top notch and for this I am so very honored to work with this great company. 1UR all the way!!!! Thank you UR.

      Cons

      I honestly cant think of any with much substance. The only one thing I can think of is when we actually get back to the in person annual meetings we have some service managers attend like maybe one or two from each district so they really feel they are part of something that that they can take back home with them and facilitate meetings with the other service managers to teach them the 1-UR vision. I feel is very important because without these folks we would be at a standstill.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Sep 18, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Plenary of upside for those wanting promotions and willing to move

      Cons

      Can become a little political at times.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great company!

      Sep 14, 2021 - Diesel Technician in Charleston, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Large variety of manufactures and models -Great benefits -Above average product support from manufactures

      Cons

      -Majority of techs only perform rental inspections -Limited growth potential within the service dep't. -Shop space and tooling limited

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Sep 14, 2021 - Mechanic 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Room for growth, great benefits people actually care you work for them.

      Cons

      Management at times can sometimes be micromanaging but that is everywhere.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Very political

      Sep 10, 2021 - Service Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You meet a bunch of great people.

      Cons

      Upper management is very political, there is no hiring within or promoting with in. very micromanage, its there way or no way. very short staff and runs lean. management expects the world with the little people they have working.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Employer

      Aug 13, 2021 - Branch Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employer is hugely supportive of employees and career growth while also offering great pay and benefits. Continuous training to grow employee knowledge and capabilities. Goes out of the way to make sure employees are taken care of during times of hardship and recognizes employee accomplishment on a regular basis. Great room for growth and no proverbial "glass ceiling" like many other large companies.

      Cons

      Same as any public company, but far better than most.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Shipped jobs overseas

      Aug 18, 2021 - Accountant in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Benefits. That’s really all I can say for now as it goes down hill after that. I didn’t like how they bought the company I worked for and then very little communication until I got notice my job was not done by them and I was given a last day notice

      Cons

      They bought the company I worked for and loved working at and did not communicate anything to any of us for over 3 months and I then find out my job is farmed out to people in India and the Philippines. So frustrating to say the least.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      Sep 6, 2021 - Operations Manager in Milpitas, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I like the hours and people I work with benefits are great.

      Cons

      Not much that I can think of at the moment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,063 Reviews

    Popular Careers with United Rentals Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at United Rentals? Share Your Experiences

    or