VMware Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
88%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "work life balance is the best in biz(in 663 reviews)

  • "amazing work environment and passionate teammates(in 295 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Middle management kills progressive change to suit the business(in 108 reviews)

  • "Upper management is rarely genuine(in 77 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of VMware and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Best company to work for

      May 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance and Career growth

      Cons

      You get comfortable with the environment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work w/ strong benefits, company culture, career progression, etc.

      Apr 21, 2021 - Digital Marketing Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Recent organizational changes have helped streamline operations, align with other GTM departments, and create clear ownership over roles and responsibilities. Strong benefits across the board (i.e. medical, 401k, health & wellness, ESPP, career growth & learning opportunities, etc.) show upper management's continued commitment to attract and retain top talent.

      Cons

      VMware is currently undergoing a transitional period across the board and alignment b/w teams and BUs will take some time to be seamless. Only cons are standard to large organizations, such as finding tangible ways your work is making an impact, but leadership is focused on making sure each and every person see's their value.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work.

      May 5, 2021 - Sales Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love the work life balance. It is the best part about working here.

      Cons

      Upper management seems to change constantly

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      10/10

      May 4, 2021 - Program Coordinator in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing benefits, culture, flexibility. It's not hard to love.

      Cons

      No cons. It really is amazing. Maybe the fact that it's still corporate? Lots of approval needed to do one thing.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Finance Team in Palo Alto vmware

      May 6, 2021 - Finance Manager in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary is very competitive and benefits are good

      Cons

      Very toxic environment in Finance. Only people who are in cahoots with Sr. management can get ahead. They don't do any work, just schmooze around.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best company I've ever worked for

      May 6, 2021 - Account Manager in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, solid culture and solid pay, for now.

      Cons

      Worsening corporate wokeness, support for CRT and Marxism.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fantastic place to work!

      Apr 23, 2021 - Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic compensation and work life balance, I have always gotten the sense that management respects engineering team (they were all former engineers) and treats their employees as people.

      Cons

      I have heard that it can be hit or miss depending on the business unit - I can only speak for the Boston office but I love it.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company to work for

      Apr 9, 2021 - Senior Cloud Solution Architect in Beaverton, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I spent most of my career trying to get exactly where I am right now which is as a Solution Architect at VMware. I love the people I work with, my boss is great, the pay and benefits are excellent.

      Cons

      It can be confusing at first when you get here because so much is done through tribal knowledge and accessing the right people within the company to get help with things. But everyone is willing to jump in and help with anything so you get over that pretty quickly.

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great place to work that values quality of life and family

      Jun 24, 2019 - Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      VMware is a big company but in many ways had a startup vibe. That was great because the resources and infrastructure of a big company were there, but it gave most people I worked with freedom to work on many projects, influence, move around, and contribute in many ways. Plus, many things moved faster than they might at other companies of the same size. Perks were really great including bonuses, events on the campus, opportunities, etc.

      Cons

      The biggest con is the annual layoff. During most of the years I was there, we were growing like crazy, beating expectations, gaining in stock price, etc. It was always positive and upward. However, every single January, it was known that there would be a round of layoffs, even when all numbers were looking great as they almost always were. Management called it restructuring. But, over the years, some really good people were let go for no apparent reason. Then to add insult to injury, a week or two later, there would be a company quarterly meeting discussing how VMware was doing so well and is still hiring, but they had to make some changes. It always felt dishonest and the sympathy for those let go came across as disingenuous.

      Continue reading
      65 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      A great company to work for

      Apr 29, 2021 - Senior Manager Software Engineering in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of opportunities. Great campus. Lots of technology especially system level.

      Cons

      Nothing specific to highlight. Normal office politics.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 6,133 Reviews

    Popular Careers with VMware Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Senior Member of Technical Staff
    Learn About the Job

    Work at VMware? Share Your Experiences

    or