Acuity Insurance Reviews

Updated Apr 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
97%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Acuity Insurance President, CEO, and Director Ben Salzmann
Ben Salzmann
122 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I think the insurance industry nationwide are offering more work from home options and ACUITY has been rather slow of implementing this option(in 8 reviews)

  • "There are no cons of working at Acuity(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (6)

    "The best company I have worked for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Field Claims Adjuster in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There are the usual things, good pay, flexible work hours and the autonomy to do my job but there is a culture at Acuity that sure we have a job to do but we can make it fun; Acuity wants me to succeed at my job but also at life. Many companies will tell you that there number one asset is their people, here, it comes from the very top and they mean it. With retirement a couple of years away, it will be hard to leave. I equate it to leaving a team that wins the Super Bowl or World Series every year, something I think will be difficult. It is fun to be on a winning team.

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of any.

    Continue reading
    Acuity Insurance2019-08-22

    Acuity Insurance Response

    August 23, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Wonderful to hear!

  2. "Work Life Balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Lines Underwriter in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Acuity truly offers Work Life balance. Other companies may advertise this balance, but the benefits of working from home, flex time, health, vision, and dental insurance, 401k contributions, our in house gym including Trainers that offer free classes to all employees, and a strong family culture, are just a few reasons Acuity creates work life balance. By offering these benefits among many many more, it creates a small company feel in a large corporation. Which results in creating the ability to manage a family and a career with minimal stress.

    Cons

    I can't say that I have any at this time, only that I hope we continue to maintain over the next decades.

    Continue reading
    Acuity Insurance2020-03-27

    Acuity Insurance Response

    March 30, 2020Social Media Community Specialist

    Thank you for the review!

  3. "Slow to make decisions"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Great culture. Very thoughtful with employees. Provide great benefits and perks.

    Cons

    Very slow to make any decisions especially with new software. Can take up to a year to conduct the review and then more time to implement. If you like a company that makes timely decisions I would recommend not coming to Acuity.

    Continue reading
    Acuity Insurance2020-04-13
  4. "Stable Company Focused on Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time

    Pros

    The passion of the management and the strong culture makes you feel valued and empowered to innovate and grow. People usually don't believe me when I describe this place until I actually show them. Acuity always looks to the future without sacrificing stability for their employees, including a major focus on promoting from within and providing frequent fun events to attend.

    Cons

    Some people say the location isn't flashy or exciting enough for them. Personally I like it but that's all I could think of.

    Acuity Insurance2020-03-13

    Acuity Insurance Response

    March 16, 2020Social Media Community Specialist

    Thank you for the feedback!

  5. "Such a great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Acuity is an enjoyable place to work with excellent work/life balance. The leaders (at the top, at least) genuinely work to offer a fun office environment with great perks, like a free gym, flex time, reimbursement for continuing ed, and more free chocolate than any human could be reasonably expected to consume. The benefits package is also truly top-notch and pay is competitive, especially for the area. There's been an effort to be more innovative with agile teams, more automation and slowly expanding work from home. Exciting to see the focus on becoming a national carrier and the opportunities that come from that. Not having sales goals is helpful and good for morale.

    Cons

    Very very very few. Bottlenecks as a result of some understaffing in certain departments. A level of complacency and entitlement resulting from working for a generous employer, but I'd rather have that than constant stress or crummy pay or zero perks.

    Continue reading
    Acuity Insurance2020-03-08

    Acuity Insurance Response

    March 10, 2020Social Media Community Specialist

    Thank you for the feedback!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Training and growth opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Underwriter in Naperville, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Formal Training Program Growth Opportunities Great Benefits

    Cons

    You will not want to leave

    Acuity Insurance2019-12-18

    Acuity Insurance Response

    December 19, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thank you!

  7. Helpful (2)

    "One of the Best"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    24/7 Fitness Center (27,000 sq ft), with multiple fitness classes throughout the day. Top notch benefits (Full deductible contribution to HSA, 8% 401k contribution w/o matching) Social/Happy Hours on Thursdays Standing desks Genuine sense of care from management and executives Family oriented company

    Cons

    Paternity leave on the lower side (5 paid days), but other than that....nothing! (I shouldn't be complaining about receiving too much free chocolate...haha)

    Acuity Insurance2019-12-11

    Acuity Insurance Response

    December 17, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thanks!

  8. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexible work schedule, work from home options, family events, great facility.

    Cons

    Easy to become spoiled because so many gifts and events are given. Employees coming straight from school, who have never worked anywhere else have no idea that this isn't typical. Review process is outdated, creates undue stress on management over the holidays and isn't helpful for employees.

    Continue reading
    Acuity Insurance2019-12-09

    Acuity Insurance Response

    December 10, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thank you for the feedback!

  9. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This is an awesome company to work for! I truly feel valued in so many ways. They give us so many gifts and put on many events to show their appreciation for us. Honestly just an awesome place to work and I love my job and the team I work with!

    Cons

    I have two complaints. First, they are slow on the work from home movement. Second, and this is so easily fixable, there is not enough value placed on education, especially in the Underwriting department. In fact, they are continuously reducing the education benefits they give. Comparable companies are paying for CPCU materials up front, and Acuity is not. Comparable companies give raises and days off for tests passed, and Acuity does not. Comparable companies are paying for a guest to go on the CPCU trip, and Acuity recently took that away. And finally comparable companies pay for a master's program without too many burdens, and that is just not the case here. We love the parties that are thrown, but don't forget about the employees going above and beyond on their own time to better themselves and increase the value they bring to the table. Again, this is an easy fix, but we need to celebrate education in the ways we celebrate everything else.

    Acuity Insurance2019-12-11

    Acuity Insurance Response

    December 17, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thank you for your comments!

  10. "Truly cares about their employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The company culture is unlike any other company I have worked for. The benefits are outstanding!

    Cons

    I do not have any cons at this time.

    Acuity Insurance2019-10-01

    Acuity Insurance Response

    October 1, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thanks for saying so!

Found 130 reviews