Almac Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Almac Group Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 350 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Almac Group CEO Alan Armstrong
Alan Armstrong
179 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours and quite pressured but enjoyable(in 14 reviews)

  • "Underresourced at the moment, no senior management visability with staff(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Outstanding company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Supervisor in Souderton, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Almac Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good salary, benefits. Ability to move up pretty quickly.

    Cons

    Some bad apples, but don’t let them spoil the bunch

    Advice to Management

    Listen more

    Almac Group2019-07-27
  2. "Not the worst first step into tech, but certainly not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Specialist in Souderton, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Almac Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PTO package is decent due to European roots Office in Souderton is modern and well-kept Decent way to get your feet wet before quickly moving to a better job Cafeteria is decent Abundant opportunities to volunteer and contribute to various communities

    Cons

    Pay is not to market standards for this industry Work culture is immensely toxic Parking situation is fixable but still ridiculous If you question the "way it's always been done", you hamstring your chances of moving up. They are set in their ways and not open to material improvement of business process.

    Advice to Management

    Open your mind to what's in your power to do to support your employees so your turnover isn't so bad and everyone's so unhappy. Life isn't all work and the cliques at Souderton are crazy b***y. When I was there, the PS crew was overworked and underpaid. Word on the street is that in 2019 you have PSs taking ACS calls. Maybe hire more TSRs. Some PSs get promoted from TSR to stop being shackled to the phones.

    Almac Group2019-08-22
  3. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Operator 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Almac Group

    Pros

    Easy and overtime available if you want it

    Cons

    Very boring job and sometimes nothing to do

    Almac Group2019-07-15
  4. Helpful (4)

    "They promise a lot but its really just a low paying company with zero room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Lansdale, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Almac Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great PTO plan. Flexible hours.

    Cons

    Most of the development is based on your knowledge of the hacked together codebase. People are being threatened with being fired for even suggestions better solutions. Not the type of place a true developer would enjoy working for. They expect long hours because they hire incompetent design managers that will be paid higher than you. They'll often ask you to work overtime because of last minute design changes that you...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Middle management is terrible. They take credit for everything but don't do anything. They don't respond to emails but will be the first one to blame or fire employees. The internal emails that go out that "spotlight" top developers is often full of middle management that don't even do their job. That takes credibility away from management. Pay developers. Stop complaining that you can't hire developers when you're not...

    Show More
    Almac Group2019-06-25
  5. "Great place to get your feet wet."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Souderton, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Almac Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Bonus', Good people to work with

    Cons

    No room for advancement, departmental communication is lacking

    Advice to Management

    Get Ireland and the U.S. offices on the same page.

    Almac Group2019-05-03
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I have been working at Almac Group full-time

    Pros

    great boss -good company no complaints

    Cons

    no cons - good company

    Advice to Management

    no advice

    Almac Group2019-04-30
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Nonexistent work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Almac Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Generous PTO - Work from home opportunity (1-2 days a week) - Great colleagues - what I miss the most - Some flexibility with schedule - Management recognizes employees hard work and dedication (but I’ve heard the opposite from others and I can see there is some favoritism going on here)

    Cons

    - Internal process is hideous - makes PM life very complex and challenging - A lot of meeting, short and long- many days are spent in meetings which means overtime to get actual work done - Flooded work, one client/project after another - Have to work with 2 different platform with 2 different processes plus different standards based on the client - we are basically set up for failure

    Advice to Management

    Hire more PMs (experienced) and assign projects logically. Internal process has to improve like NOW. Re evaluate training methods and approach- also the mentor match is more of a burden to all of the overworked and exhausted PMs. Group Leaders need to step up and take on that role more.

    Almac Group2019-04-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Growth and continued development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Manager in Lansdale, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Almac Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been with company for 7 years and have held 3 different positions. The managers strongly support development allowing employees many opportunities for advancement. Salary and benefits are on par with industry. Glass door has been a great resource for me when looking at employers so I wanted to be able to provide good feedback for others using this site.

    Cons

    While nobody is perfect I haven't had any bad experiences with this employer. My biggest challenge is parking

    Advice to Management

    Keep bringing in the talent

    Almac Group2019-03-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Okay place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Almac Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Benefits and paid time off.

    Cons

    Low pay and lots of hours.

    Almac Group2019-04-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resource Management Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Almac Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    In general, the staff at Almac are hardworking and look to make a difference with that work.

    Cons

    Pay rates are on the low side of the market. High stress; performers can get overworked and burned out and leave.

    Almac Group2019-03-17
Found 350 reviews