KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Benefitfocus

Engaged Employer

Benefitfocus

Add a Review

Benefitfocus Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 802 of over 874 reviews

3.0
42%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Benefitfocus President and CEO Steve Swad
Steve Swad
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, colleagues to work with(in 51 reviews)

  • "Casual collaborative work environment(in 47 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Disorganized, poor leadership, no work life balance(in 53 reviews)

  • "There are long hours, fire drills, and you're going to be asked to work harder(in 48 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Benefitfocus and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Behind the scenes

      Apr 8, 2020 - Engineer in Charleston, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mason, Ray and EVERY leader and manager are busting their butts to take care of us and our business. Every single associate. Every single customer. And every single shareholder. I have worked for many employers in my time and have never experienced this level of drive, commitment and openness. We are a small company. We work hard. We care deeply for each other. We try to do the right thing. We screw things up sometimes - like all companies.

      Cons

      We have a handful (perhaps several handfuls) of associates who need to move on from Benefitfocus. Their actions are selfish and disruptive to associates and to customers. It appears they have lost sight of the realities of running a business and taking care of each other. Most everyone here is a high performer AND a team player. It is obvious when you don’t pull your weight.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Proud of inclusion efforts

      Jun 11, 2021 - Delivery Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mission-based work to improve lives with benefits, I think that’s never been more important Benefitfocus is doing an outstanding job with Diversity, Inclusion, and Belonging (DIB) initiatives. It is inspiring to see the work that has been done. The work of the DIB group and company to promote inclusion has been incredible Additionally, Benefitfocus had a very successful drive to support recovery due to the COVID-19 crisis in India

      Cons

      Like almost every company, COVID-19 was very challenging but we are hiring and building strong

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Beware rough seas

      Jun 1, 2021 - CSO 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team, while you are able to work with the same people (resignations, lay offs, and changes are constant)

      Cons

      This place is awful. Everyone here knows it, and the ones who try to fix it burn out and leave. No identity, and environment is lackluster. Don’t push back or suggest an alternative way of thinking; your soul will die slowly to see the lack of return in your efforts. And there are no boundaries, so expect to need to be available anytime asked to put out whatever new fire is spreading. People leave, and there are no replacements, so the survivors take on more and more work with no return; meanwhile a new exec is hired every month. Some execs are great hires, and others are sinking the boat. I usually talk to HR, but I have no clue where they went- most of the HR people who were trusted have left. Probably a bad omen, but no one cares.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Decent place to work with growth potential

      Jun 15, 2021 - Data Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is a lot of opportunity to do new things.

      Cons

      Hard to finish things and get enough people on board.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Getting Worse

      Jun 8, 2021 - CSO Manager in Charleston, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food. No one cares what you do. You can do nothing if you choose.

      Cons

      Overall leadership is lacking. CFOs leave in 6 months. 4 CEOs since I joined. The best sales people left. Overall the people left are those that no one else will take. There are unethical things happening here but the management that we could trust have all left. HR used to listen. Now they cover up. The good HR people left and the dishonest ones remain. They cover up complaints to serve their own personal agendas.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Be flexible to change at the management level.

      Mar 9, 2021 - Customer Success Manager in Charleston, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company culture and a great environment for self-starters.

      Cons

      Reorganization occurs often or suddenly making it tough to maintain relationships with long time customers. Many of the customers have expressed their frustration with having to work with a new CSM who they feel didn't take time to learn or understand or support their needs. They need a better way to be able to manage customer retention and to keep CSMs from leaving. There's a very high attrition rate for CSMs because they are not supported enough by leadership.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      Jun 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They treat their employees very well.

      Cons

      No downsides that I experienced.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Work is work

      Mar 9, 2021 - Customer Success Support 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I can say I have a good team and manager. The managers and directors of my department is open for feedback and suggestions. The job isn't hard. As long as you ask questions and try to learn, people will help out even if they're from another department. We are all remote right now so hours are flexible as long as you maintain your work commitment of working 40 hours as well as attending the meetings. Be frank, if you need help then let your manager know you need help. No one is psychic.

      Cons

      Only con is if you have your expectations not met. I have no con since I knew what I was getting into with my position and got the training I need for it. Don't fantasize that work is like what you see on TV. You have obligations to be met and expectations too. Expect change to happen. Thats how businesses are.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Great People, But Compensation Below Industry Standards

      May 13, 2021 - Customer Success Specialist II in Charleston, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people Opportunities to upskill Good benefits

      Cons

      Upskilling but not increasing compensation Opportunities to "grow professionally" but no real direction/end game New CEO every 18 months

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Work

      Jun 11, 2021 - Platfom Solutions Specialist in Charleston, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Flexible Schedule 2. Decent hours

      Cons

      No room for growth Leadership does not value employees Under pay No proper processes or procedures

      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 802 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Benefitfocus Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Benefitfocus? Share Your Experiences

    or