KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Bread Financial

Engaged Employer

Bread Financial

Add a Review

Bread Financial Reviews

Updated May 17, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 987 of over 1,030 reviews

3.7
64%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Bread Financial President and CEO Ralph Andretta
Ralph Andretta
168 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great Benefits and fellow employees(in 117 reviews)
  • "The pay is good the bs is consistant.Just be on your p's & q's .(in 72 reviews)
  • "Work life balance was good(in 62 reviews)
  • "Great people and very clean place.(in 58 reviews)
  • "The culture is great as we help our community and the company helps those across the nation when tragedy strikes.(in 47 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Bread Financial and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year
    Featured Review

    Amazing Culture that Keeps Impressing

    Mar 24, 2022 - Individual Contributor in Columbus, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been in a professional working environment for 10 years and this is the first employer who really "sees me." The company helps me achieve what's important to me, counts on me to provide my expertise, both listens and makes me feel heard, includes me in company strategy, and cares enough to recognize successes (big and small) along the way. This sound a little weird... but I'm often shocked at how kind and approachable my colleagues are here, across all teams. Time and distance don't seem to matter -- everyone here is ready to hop on an MS Teams call to talk, explain, or show you how to do something. I'm very grateful to find a place where I feel I can be the professional I've been preparing to be for 10 years. I have arrived!!

    Cons

    My only con to share would be that there are some opportunities in the delivery of IT Hardware and equipment. I needed some extra support in setting everything up and the Help Desk came through... a little extra directions could have been helpful. The Help Desk team has been great about getting me everything I need -- from a conference call "puck", a fancy webcam, dual monitors, etc.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Bread Financial Response

    Aww we're blushing - thanks for the candid review of your experience since joining Bread Financial! Our people are our greatest asset so we are thrilled you're feeling like it is a mutual fit here!

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Grow your career and be yourself!

    May 17, 2022 - Associate Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - A lot of growth opportunity and programs designed to help associates figure out their next steps - Inviting culture that encourages associates to be themselves, and to speak up when they see something that should be created, eliminated or changed - Transparent leadership

    Cons

    - Working in any customer facing position can be difficult. Depending on your role within the company, there is always the potential for less than pleasant customer interactions on a semi-frequent basis - May not be an ideal environment for those that dislike frequent feedback. Regardless of if you are doing well, or falling behind expectations, there is always a lot of feedback on strengths, opportunities and new ways of doing things. People who want to be "left alone", may get frustrated over time.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Breath of fresh air!

    May 9, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was at a previous company for 8 years before deciding to make the switch to join Bread Financial and I'm so glad I did. If you want to work for a company that promotes great work/life balance then this company is for you. From day 1, you don't feel like a number, everyone is very welcoming and you can tell the CEO cares about all associates. This company has a great culture and strives to make sure everyone feels included. It's been a breath of fresh air joining an organization that cares so much for their associates and really listens to their people. I couldn't imagine every leaving this great organization.

    Cons

    Some candidates are looking to work 4 days a week and they aren't there yet.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Grateful to learn and grow!

    May 6, 2022 - Recruiter in Akron, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've worked in a corporate environment for over 20 years and this is the first time that growing with the company has had true meaning to me. Everyday has new challenges and opportunities, they can even Be Boundless at times! At Bread Financial I've had the freedom to create my own career growth plan and choose where I want to contribute within the company. I've seen the results in my own skills and the positive influence my growth has had with my team and the company.

    Cons

    Too many resources, it is a good problem to have though! There are so many learning tools and resources at your fingertips everyday.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    This bread is stale

    Apr 30, 2022 - Account Protection Specialist in Westerville, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -fully remote -nice enough people -it's a decent enough place to work -decent benefits package, comparable to bigger banks -some genuinely good people in leadership. emphasis on the SOME

    Cons

    -some of the worst supervisors of all time work here -supervisors were lazier and bigger babies than their direct reports -this place is super cheap and finds scuzzy ways to justify their meh wages -Salary is not competitive at all compared to bigger banks while forcing you to wear 3-4 as many hats -Very cheap and cuts corner on tools and technology, which leads to associates getting overburdened -Very few legitimate opportunities for growth and development -Very little diversity from floor supervisors up -No coherent diversity and inclusion strategy -I dealt with some delusional micromanagers -gaslights you about the low pay and instead lies about being competitive

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Bread Financial Response

    Thanks for your review! We're glad there are so many positive attributes about working at Bread Financial that have stayed with us for so long! We are sorry to hear your opinion about some of the supervisors you've encountered. Please know, if you have a specific issue you'd like to address offline, please consider reaching out to People Center or your HR Business Partner. If you're interested in growing into a new role, we suggest starting off by having a conversation with your leader or by exploring some options for learning and development independently on Inview. Be sure to check out the Development Directory (to learn about programs and opportunities), our Career Destination page (to explore our catalog of development courses), or check out LinkedIn Learning which, as an associate, gives you have free access to 8,000+ digital courses taught by industry experts in business, creative, and technology. Hopefully you can find some opportunities for growth and development!! We are committed to creating an inclusive culture that attracts and values diversity of thought, experience, background, skills and ideas. We promote a workplace that fosters diversity, equity and inclusion and recognize that it is essential to Bread Financial’s long-term growth and sustainability. Thanks again for your feedback -- We do listen and we do take your feedback seriously.

  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    They "talk the talk" but do not "walk the walk"

    May 10, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are some great people that work there and they have some cool products

    Cons

    They say they want to be a more forward-thinking fintech company, but they are not invested in building out the engineering function or innovating with new technology. Feels very old school and inauthentic. A lot of outdated technology. Very poor leadership overall - they do not take accountability or responsibility for their actions but rather lots of finger pointing and blaming, even in very public settings like a company townhall. Not a lot of transparency and overall poor communication. Lack of empathy for their people.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Alliance Data Review

    Mar 9, 2022 - Trainer in Columbus, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Everyone's openness and willingness to help -Everything is pretty organized and most times it's clear knowing what to do or who to talk to. -You're very likely to appreciate and build a meaningful relationship with your manager. There's a lot of great leadership who want to listen to you and genuinely care about anything you're thinking from your job to personal life. \

    Cons

    While it's not uncommon to see promotions, many leadership promotions may take longer than individuals are willing to wait for those roles to open up. Also, let's say you're a great fit for an open leadership role, even then an applicant from a different part of the company may very well be given the position.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Culture

    May 13, 2022 - Customer Care Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    BREAD acquisition a more positive direction (Alliance Data System/ Comenity - Comenity Capital Bank)

    Cons

    Trust employees and background process

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Bread Financial Response

    Hey there, Thanks for the feedback!! We're glad to hear you think we're doing "good work" and that we have a "great culture"!! We think we're really going places!

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Best Place To Work

    May 6, 2022 - Associate Recruiter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The morale at the company is amazing. The leaders and supervisors take pride in their work and in their team. There is room for growth and opportunity as long as you have the drive.

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say about the company.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    great job

    May 11, 2022 - Senior Payment Solutions Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    flexible schedule great benefits monthly incentives PTO and PSL paid parental leave

    Cons

    weird attendance policy. easy to accumulate points.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 987 Reviews

Bread Financial Reviews FAQs

Bread Financial has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 1,030 reviews left anonymously by employees. 64% of employees would recommend working at Bread Financial to a friend and 49% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 7% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Bread Financial employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Bread Financial. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

64% of Bread Financial employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Bread Financial 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.7 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Bread Financial to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with Bread Financial Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Bread Financial? Share Your Experiences

or

Bread Financial Careers

Cover image for Bread Financial

We invite different perspectives and backgrounds to build our culture. As a tech-forward financial services company, we strive to create...More

  • Flexibility & balance
  • Be the best you
  • Purpose driven
  • The process
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Bread Financial Photos

+ Add Photo
Bread Financial photo of: Roundtable with our CEO, Ralph Andretta
Bread Financial photo of: Columbus, OH office
Bread Financial photo of: Associates in Bangalore
Bread Financial photo of: Starbucks station in Columbus, OH office
Bread Financial photo of: LivingWell Yoga Class
Bread Financial photo of: Team at Women in Analytics
Bread Financial photo of: Company leaders at an industry conference
See All Photos