Capital Group Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Capital Group Chairman and Chief Executive Officer  Tim Armour
Tim Armour
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and pay esp after the first few years(in 170 reviews)

  • "Excellent benefits, work/life balance, room for growth -- all things companies preach but rarely display(in 131 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management may not have associate interests as a top priority(in 59 reviews)

  • "It's a call center so adherence is a must(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Always true to its mission and values"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    In the midst of crisis, organizations show their true character. And Capital Group has been remarkable in the face of the COVID-19 pandemic. Even as nearly all of the associates (employees) have transitioned to working from home in the last several weeks, we've never lost sight of our clients and investors. And you see examples every day of co-workers bending over backwards to help each other and stay well connected. The leadership teams across the firm - starting with the Management Committee - have done an outstanding job of first preparing for this crisis and then leading our teams through it. They are thoughtful, empathetic and generous.

    Cons

    Upward career growth can be challenging and perhaps slower than at other firms, but there's definitely an opportunity to grow outward by broadening experiences and responsibilities.

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2020-04-06
  2. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative 

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are excellent with great hours

    Cons

    It's a call center so adherence is a must.

    Capital Group2019-08-16
  3. "Great place to start"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Analyst in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Capital Group full-time

    Pros

    Great people, incredible benefits, solid work-place culture

    Cons

    Definitely had more of a hierarchy than is obvious at first.

    Capital Group2020-06-02
  4. "Consistently Doing the Right Thing for Shareholders and Associates"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Mission, Culture, Benefits, Opportunities, Bonus Program

    Cons

    Can be slow to make changes (but their track record proves they are doing something right!)

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2020-05-18
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Avoid"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capital Group full-time

    Pros

    15% retirement match, generous vacation and sick time

    Cons

    Golden handcuffs creates complacent and unmotivated coworkers who show up for a paycheck. I never felt surrounded by the best, brightest, or qualified. Many people were promoted on tenure and not skills or qualifications. I was once told in my formal follow-up 6 months after an internal interview a reason I was not selected for the position was because I "job hop" too much. At the time, I had been with the company 3 years and had received 2 promotions. While retirement benefits are nice, it severely affects their cash compensation. The technology used is quite dated, and work from home was not a common practice in any part of the company I had visibility to at multiple sites. I would not recommend this company to anyone outside of end of career individuals looking for a complacent environment to end their working years.

    Capital Group2020-05-20
  6. "Great Benefits, But Not a Lot of Turnover"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Writer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, maternity, flexible hours, work from home, management committee. Pay is well above industry standard.

    Cons

    People tend to stay a long time, making career progression slow and seemingly non-existent at times.

    Capital Group2020-05-11
  7. "Great position"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Share Holder Service Representative 

    I worked at Capital Group full-time

    Pros

    Great opportunity for advancement and growth

    Cons

    I had to leave because of the drive and I chose to stay home with my kids.

    Capital Group2020-05-11
  8. "Absolutely Fantastic Place to Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Senior III in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The culture that is currently lost on most of the employers. The management structure is inspiring. Everyone is treated the same, regardless if you have been there a year or 20 years. Everyone is valued. They make sure to let you know that your voice matters. Everything they do is with the investor's, the brokers, the employees and business needs are on their minds.

    Cons

    You are responsible to contributing to your own annual review (but I don't excel at speaking about myself.)

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2020-05-08
  9. "15 years and counting"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RMAC Associate in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company culture is one that is very receptive to new ideas and they have a fantastic open door policy. If you have any issues or concerns they will hear you out. They continue to work on having flexible schedules for their associates. Their monetary bonuses and vacations are very generous. I hope to continue my employment with CG until the day I am ready to retire.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons.

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2020-05-08
  10. "30 years with the company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Support Associate in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The present pandemic situation shows compassion for the wellbeing of all associates. It moved the operation quickly to do what is best for the company as a whole. The company supports the needs of the associate.

    Cons

    Advertising the company was slow, that we may have missed hiring good people.

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2020-05-08
Found 1159 reviews