KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Capital Group

Engaged Employer

Capital Group

Add a Review

Capital Group Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,376 of over 2K reviews

4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great benefits & wonderful employees(in 179 reviews)

  • "Great company culture, great benefit and work life balance(in 146 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Senior management may not have associate interests as a top priority(in 59 reviews)

  • "Not that nimble, need quicker and more decisive decision making(in 33 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Capital Group and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Culture and Values Matter

      Feb 8, 2021 - Senior Business Analyst in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had heard about CG's great culture years before I joined. Now that I've been here a year, I find that what makes it a great culture include a focus on associates, learning and development, focus on values, and thoughtful decisions for the long term. I really appreciate the attention to continuous improvement and efforts around doing things the right way.

      Cons

      The culture and environment here is not for everybody. If someone were accustomed to a "command-and-control" environment, they may be frustrated here. More seems to be accomplished through relationship and influence.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Capital Group Response

      Human Resources

      It's great to hear that CG's communication over the past year has helped your transition - we've really been focused on providing timely updates and checking in with associates regularly. Thank you for highlighting some of the pros and cons from your perspective.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great culture and generous compensation

      Jun 19, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Generous compensation - Friendly environment - Do it right culture rather than get it done

      Cons

      - More restrictions about data compared to other IT companies - More restrictions about trading stocks and ETF

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Cannot beat the culture, growth potential for decades

      May 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      ive worked at multiple other large asset managers. Capital is BY FAR the best in terms of culture, work-life balance and overall happiness. A few other highlights - cares more about about employee, and treats you like adults - genuinely nice people. I can honestly say I've become a better person outside of work after being here - massive growth potential in multiple parts of the business set the organization up well for decades to come - seems to be more open to flexible schedules now

      Cons

      as many others mentioned, slower pace of decision making. lots of meetings (not a con for me since i enjoy meetings). Overall the Pros massively outweigh the cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Capital Group Response

      Human Resources

      What a great review! Thanks for sharing your perspective.

    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      Jun 14, 2021 - Client Service Representative in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed my time at Capital Group. The training was extremely through and helpful.

      Cons

      Forced overtime during busy season

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Great benefits, unclear career path

      Jun 15, 2021 - Research Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits package, work / life balance and PTO. Some autonomy to choose who you work with, can learn from some great investors

      Cons

      Turnover within the group consistently high, will mean you have to backfill consistently on staffing. Largely dead end career path if you want to be an investor long term.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Capital Group Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for leaving a balanced review. We will pass this feedback along.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Awesome culture

      May 4, 2021 - Manager, Technology in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture - everyone is willing to help, offer ideas, not keep good ideas to themselves. People - says a lot about a company when you meet so many that have been here 20, 30 plus years. Communication - leadership is relatively proactive with keeping informed of business updates, encouraging community involvement

      Cons

      Very little that I would say is a con. Few years ago, seemed there was less flexibility with working from home if needed. Just before to the pandemic, that began to loosen up and now we all work from home currently.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Capital Group Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for the great review! We really appreciate seeing the call-out to work flexibility and open communication.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Solid First Job

      Jun 20, 2021 - Investments Operations Associate in Norfolk, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Collaborative and friendly environment. Truly cared about employees.

      Cons

      Wasn’t extremely challenging. Hit a growth plateau early on.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Mission, values, vision and more.....

      Feb 1, 2021 - Human Resources Business Partner 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I joined Capital Group less than two years ago and kick myself daily for not having found this company earlier in my career! This place provides the environment for every voice to be heard, every theory to be tested, every opportunity to better yourself and your work. You can lead from every seat and you are rewarded for your commitment to not just your job, but to your cause! We have ~40 communities where our associates can find opportunities to belong and support their interests, values and mission. Your ideas can become realities, you are given the opportunity to be heard and understood, regardless of the starting point of your journey. Simple principles of decency, humility, empathy and hard work guide our thinking and investment philosophy. Additionally, Capital has the competitive edge in how they reward their employees - compensation, benefits and the opportunity for growth are best in class. I am truly grateful to work with an engaged group of peers and to be on a journey with an impactful group of leaders. I still wish that I had found Capital Group 20 years ago (which is the typical tenure at CG) – but still super glad to be here!

      Cons

      Literally can't think of any!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      excellent company

      Jun 7, 2021 - Senior Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      family friendly ambience and good D&EI

      Cons

      too many long tenured employees who are underqualified.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Company

      Jun 16, 2021 - Senior Associate in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome Employer. Takes care of their employees . Great benefits and pay.

      Cons

      Limited to taking personal days off around tax season.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,376 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Capital Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Capital Group? Share Your Experiences

    or