Gallagher Reviews

Updated May 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Gallagher Chairman, President, and CEO J. Patrick Gallagher Jr.
J. Patrick Gallagher Jr.
778 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fun competitive work environment with hands-on experience(in 77 reviews)

  • "Work-Life Balance & employee Centric Company(in 69 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance could be stabilized(in 50 reviews)

  • "Low pay with no apparent opportunity for progression(in 33 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Gallagher and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Review

      Apr 9, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company to work for.

      Cons

      None at this time to say.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Inclusive Innovation Culture

      Mar 23, 2021 - Technical Training Manager in Downers Grove, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Our shared values of Guide. Guard. Go Beyond. are lived each day. Everyone is willing to help everyone else. It is very rare to work for an organization where you can pick up the phone and ask someone for help, they will drop what they are doing just to help you solve a problem. Leaders care about followers from the very top of the organization on down. Scott Hudson our Global CEO, Mike Hessling our North American CEO, Chenoa Daley our Global HR Director, Ajay Sinha our EVP of Claims and more all truly care about staff. They ask how people are doing constantly and implement changes when needed to improve our culture. We participate with Give Kids the World, Kids Chance, the Insurance Industry Charitable Foundation, and more. We promote and advance from within our organization. We work towards better inclusion through Include@GB. We have many opportunities to innovate through programs and services from analytics to product offerings. We are supported no matter where we are in the world.

      Cons

      It is a large organization and as such change does not happen immediately.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Fantastic Company

      May 11, 2021 - Senior Vice President in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Gallagher is an extraordinary company to work for. It values its people, provides wonderful benefits, and prides itself on being an ethical company. It wins awards every year for being one of the best work places for women, LGBTQ and diverse workers.

      Cons

      Gallagher is a large international company, so along with the benefits that brings, there are some negatives as well.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Nice company but low pay

      May 12, 2021 - Client Services Manager in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for

      Cons

      Pay is below market value.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      culture

      May 3, 2021 - Area Vice President in Glendale, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Culture; everyone is ready to jump in and help; great place to start out of school and grow.

      Cons

      I dont really have any cons

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Some areas are good other need work

      Apr 16, 2021 - Senior Resolution Manager in Mechanicsville, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Claim volume reasonable Work life balance is pretty with good flexibility

      Cons

      Cost of insurance is high is and lack of paid parental leave other than STD is huge

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Be prepared to work more for less

      May 9, 2021 - Account Manager in Visalia, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent time off. Pay is average

      Cons

      No increases in pay and producers are everything support staff will take brunt of the workload and get disciplined even if the producers are at fault.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good culture, poor management

      May 8, 2021 - Vice President in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company pursues "ethics" awards, so management is careful to treat minorities and women carefully.

      Cons

      Management is fairly inept. Remember the old insurance salesman with a briefcase? Those guys are running the company. Old school, not the brightest crayon. Most executives are way over their skis. Expect to go years with no raise unless you threaten to quit. They don't treat people right.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Field Case Management

      May 12, 2021 - Workers Comp Field Case Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent work life balance. Lower managers really care about their staff.

      Cons

      No growth potential, can become overwhelming with heavy case load due lack of nurses in area.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Good benefit operation

      May 3, 2021 - Account Director in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home, salary decent, autonomous job

      Cons

      Benefits are below average and corporate feel

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,803 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Gallagher Job Seekers

    Account Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Senior Client Service Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Gallagher? Share Your Experiences

    or